We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful campground for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds
SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful campground for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took our kids (aged 5 and 2) on a camping weekend here and loved every minute of it. The camp sites are wooded, so much so that when it started to rain we hardly felt a drop. There is a very nice playground in the middle of the campground loop, and wooded walking trails down to the waterfront, where my kids had fun fishing and throwing rocks in the Potomac/Pohick Bay. The restrooms were very clean and bright. We had such a blast that the first words out of my daughter's mouth when we woke up was "When can we do this again?" We will be back!

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a campsite on the outer edge of the loop for a bit more of a secluded f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great campground. Very wooded and plenty of room and trees between neighbors. Very comfortable tent camping. Several sites backed to the large playground/area which I would think would be very nice if you have kids. Even had a washer/dryer (but didn't use it). Perfect location, it is quite but only about 30 min. to the Metro stop. Then another 30-40 min. into DC. Kate in the camp store was very helpful and know's her DC sights.

The water park that is next to the campground didn't look that spectacular. It had a few slides but that is about it. It was large and wet - which is part of the point of a water park.

Room Tip: Sites 32-38(?) or so - the back loop for tent camping. Around the playground for kid camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We love this campground! We have a pop-up camper and love to kayak. Campsites here are spacious and wooded to allow some privacy. We usually get a site with electric and water nearby, but you definitely need to reserve in advance for hookups. Sites have picnic tables and fire rings. Bathrooms/showers are fine, nothing fancy (it is camping after all!) and usually pretty clean. The park is on the Potomac and you can walk trails through the woods to get to the water. There is a public boat launch area with a parking lot with a small fee to launch your boat. The location is an inlet/bay off the main part of the Potomac, with little boat traffic (except for the annoying person who lives nearby and water skis there). There are eagles and other birds and wildlife throughout the bay. The whole park is very natural and quiet - you would never know you are so close to a major metropolitan area. There is a pool/water park within the park that is great for kids - they charge a small day fee. When you get tired of nature, you can take the metro (about a 15-minute drive) into DC or anywhere in the area. It is also very close to Mount Vernon and worth driving there for a day trip. You can also walk the trail or drive to nearby Gunston-Hall Plantation for a tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent 6 days here in early June. There are only a few full hookup sites, more with water and electric, and still more dry camping. Reservation system is rudimentary, so when your call, be sure to keep records. Most staff seemed to be student volunteers. On the plus side, nice shady spots well spaced, among mature trees. Waterpark nearby for the kids. Boat access on the park. The Springfield-Franconia DC Metro system is 15 minutes away, and parking there is $4/day. Be sure to make a reservation if you want hookups.

Room Tip: this is an RV park, we stayed in a class A motorhome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were in town visiting family and spent a great fall weekend at Pohick Bay. We had a full hook up site. The site was level with a picnic table and fire ring. The interior roads were paved. A camp store stocked with the basic evening in November!!

It seems to be a well run park. The mini golf was closed for the year, but asked at the ranger station and they allowed our kids to play.

The park is also close to the Metro.

We stayed here in a motorhome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

After reviewing the trip advisor review and doing some research Pohick Bay seemed exactly what I was looking for. The cabin I rented along with my mother and Aunt wasn't very clean ( the floor looked like it hadn't been mopped in a LONG time, but when we called and asked to have it cleaned they promptly took care of the situation), we had cob webs, evidence of termites, and a lot of bugs (my mother had to kill 4 cockroaches). The men's bathroom was dirty every time that i used it which was in the early morning or late evening ( I spent the day in Washington,D.C.) but the park manager said it was cleaned though.

The property of the park and campground is very beautiful and serene and offers a lot to do especially if you have kids and go in the summer time when the water park is open.

As suggested to travel to DC we took the Franconia/Springfield (?) Metro train but found just easier to park at the train station on the second day instead of in Macy's parking lot..just bring a credit card because you'll need one to leave the parking ramp at the train station.

Overall the experience was ok. The park itself was very nice but the cabin was dirty, and full of bugs, I wouldn't rule out another visit here but I would make sure it's cleaned and bug free before I go.. I did make a complaint about the condition of the cabin and they did refund one of my nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed in a cabin at Pohick Bay Regional Park for 2 nights of our stay in the DC area. It was a great campground...very woodsy, not like some of the parking lot style RV parks you see around. The cabin was nice, seemed quite new. It had a front room with a table and 2 chairs, a futon, microwave and nice sized fridge. The back room had a double bed and a set of bunk beds. (You provide your own bedding) It was air conditioned and also had a front porch with a swing. It was a short walk to the bathroom/showers. Each site had a fire pit, grill and picnic table.

We drove to the Franconia-Springfield Metro station o a Tuesday morning, parked at the overflow lot at Macy's and caught the Metro to Arlington cemetery, then to DC for some touring, then back home. No issues with traffic, though we did get a later start in the morning than we had planned. Maybe that worked out to our advantage. The price was great, we figured 'roughing it' the first couple nights wouldn't kill us.

I'll remember this campground if we ever come back to the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds

Address: SR 242 / Gunston Road, Arlington, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty lodging in Arlington
Also Known As:
Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds Hotel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pohick Bay Regional Park Campgrounds to your Saves list