We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay at the Highlander when I return to DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlander Motel
Save
You added Highlander Motel to your Saves list
3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$81 (USD)
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will stay at the Highlander when I return to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed at the Highlander for a week and were very pleased with our experience there. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    85
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
26
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Can't beat the location or the price, $100 a night with free parking (Sheraton wanted $25 per night). They just upgraded the wireless internet access, I got 4 bars in room 57. Also, had a nice 32" flat screen TV with HD. The HD channels are down below channel 2 on the TV and you can't direct access them from the remote, you need to use the channel down button. Also, they had a mini frig in the room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Highlander Motel is lower-priced motel, 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station in a safe college/residential neighborhood area. One Metro stop from the 4-story Ballston Mall with restaraunts, food court, Cinema and Harris Teeter supermarket. Near motel: pizza, 7-11, Peruvian restaurant; at Virginia Circle metro exit: Starbucks, "quicky mart", etc.

Rooms are clean and simple: large HD-TV, mini-fridge, phone, AC, free WIRELESS INTERNET with decent speed. No other hotel frills. Lobby has morning coffee pots, fruit and muffins; ice. It's a small motel, but if you're having busy days, site-seeing or conferences, it's more than satisfactory to shower and rest.

Highlander is about a half-hour metro ride into DC so wonderful for site-seeing stays. Mixed guests: families, business people, a couple long-term tenants (one lady with a room of stuffed animals, odd but harmless). I am single white female and felt confortable there.

I would stay there again for sure. Reasonable price and convenient location. Contact: info@highlandermotel.com

  • Liked — price, clean, convenient
  • Disliked — door locks
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I have been here a couple of times and had a similar experience to the NSF visiting reviewer. I'll add that they now have wireless internet, however it's a bit flaky (though almost every hotel wireless I've used has been unimpressive). The hotel is close to many government buildings (ONR, NSF, etc.) in Arlington as well as Virginia Square metro station. Rooms are generally available, even on short notice. On the downside some familiar things like ironing board in the room, closet door, closed hallways and the like are not here. Also when I arrived this time my door was closed but not locked, and the tv was on with a chair in front. Just a bit...weird. Another room with its shades open was filled with hundreds of stuffed animals, and the tv was on. Not necessarily bad, but certainly different. Anyway if there were any ~$175/night slightly nicer places that were as conveniently located I'd probably stay there, but it seems to jump from this (~100) to $250+, (at least what's available), so I'll probably continue to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

The hotel is very well located in what seems to be a safe neighborhood, in walking distance from the NSF building (for those on a budget who need to visit). Room rates are very affordable, and, while not up-to-date, the room decor is not terrible. There was free wireless, though with a somewhat spotty and weak signal.

However, there are some drawbacks. The room was not really clean - there were bits of food stuck on the refrigerator handle and the floor also had not been swept, it seems. The sink had some residue in it, too, and the room smelled like it had been smoked in.

Some of the clientele was also a bit disconcerting, and, given that there are no dead-bolts and the locks are really flimsy, I was a little concerned about that. All in all, this is about what you can expect for $100 in this area it seems, so you get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2006

I grew up in Arlington in the 60s-70s and always rember seeing the Highlander, which used to be named the Scotsman. Now I live in England and stay at the Highlander everytime I visit DC. The hotel is in an excellent location, the rooms are clean and the neighborhood is quiet. There is no internet service, the locks are flimsy, but I've never encountered any trouble there. The Metro is just a short walk and I can safely leave my rental car at the hotel and take the subway into DC or elsewhere. There is the American Diner just down the street towards Rosylyn across from a small coffe shop that serves great joe. It is nearby St. Charles Catholic Church and it is easy to attend a Mass during the weekday or Sunday. Many other churches are also nearby for worship servies. Further up the road is the Balston Commons shopping mall with theatres, shops and good food.

Overall this is my favorite hotel in Arlington. I have stayed there five times in last three years. Also, they have a nice new steam iron, which I donated to them during my last stay there.

Steve Carlile -Bedfordshire, UK

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2005

Wonderful location--2 blocks from the metro station and easy walking distance from many excellent restaurants. The rooms are large, but need some basic amenity upgrades. At present the accomodations are basic, with no frills. If you just need a reasonably priced place to sleep, without a lot of amenities, while you're visiting the DC area, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#23 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.