We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but Conveniently Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlander Motel
Save
You added Highlander Motel to your Saves list
3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Basic, but Conveniently Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at the Highlander a numerous times when, post 911, I had to do a lot of military reserve duty in Arlington. They were always good to me and it sure was nice to have a place to stay which was within walking distance of my duty station. I returned to the Highlander last week for the funeral of an old friend at Arlington National Cemetery, one of the many DC area landmarks easily reached from the Highlander. If your destination is beyond walking distance, and like me you prefer not to drive up there, the Highlander IS withing walking distance of two Metro stations. The Highlander's rooms are clean and spacious. I can't speak to the quietness of the streetside rooms, but my rooms on the back side have always been quiet. There are flat screen TVs and refridgerators in the rooms. They offer a basic continental breakfast. If you find that insufficient, there are a number of good restaurants, cafes, etc. close by. Weeknight rates are good by DC standards. Weekend rates are even better. Parking is free.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are almost certainly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
29
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just the perfect place to stay at.
Very comfortable place. clean good value for money.
Staff are very helpful and polite. it is close to the metro and the the shopping area.
the area is safe.
rooms are constantly renovated and always very clean
breakfast is a good jumpstart for the day.

I LOVE IT.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a very nice weekend stay at Highlander Motel. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable, location perfect for visiting Washington. Place may be outdated but it was clean and rooms comfortable. I will definitely recommend this motel to my friends.
Agata - Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Highlander is an honest to goodness urban motel. It is very good value for money. We stayed there for eight nights and used the subway from nearby Virginia Square to go into Washington DC. The rooms are a good size and clean and comfortable. The breakfast is of good quality and the maid service is prompt and efficient. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Little extras like free use of umbrellas ($20 refundable deposit) are handy. We can recommend this motel with confidence. The Silver Grill Diner and the Mad Rose Tavern are also very good value - just up Wilson Blvd to Clarendon Sq.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Motel may be older but the rooms were updated with nice furniture and carpet and very clean with a walk shower. The matresss in both rooms were full size and a little dated. The continental breakfast was nice with three or four choices of fresh fruit, donuts, begels and yogurt. Coffee was a little strong for my liking. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were on the second floor in the rear of the building where it was very quite in the evenings. Large free parking area was a plus! The neighborhood felt save and there were restaurants within walking distance.We drove into DC (5 mi.) and visited George Washingtons Mt.Vernon estate (15 mi.) without a problem. We really enjoyed our stay and we are planning to go back again next year!
Thank You Highlander owners and staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: Staff is very friendly and willing to help you! We made reservations on line with a request to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We are traveling around the states in a RV. Wanted to see Washington. Found this motel and booked in for two days. It was much cheaper to do this that park in the closest RV park and use public transport to travel to and from. It is in a great location has plenty of good restaurant around. Just next to the subway. The staff are so friendly. In nice and clean. I would highly recommend this to every one.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The exterior of this facility belies its true nature. The outside looks much the same as any motel/motor lodge, but the inside is very nice. It is very clean, the rooms are large, the amenities are very sufficient, and the beds are comfortable. There are eateries nearby (recommend the Silver Diner which is a short walk away.) Also, the metro station is a short walk away. I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Korman Communities Arlington
Korman Communities Arlington
#44 of 48 in Arlington
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#29 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Courthouse
1.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#40 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#31 Business Hotel in Arlington
#32 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.