We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motel

Highlander Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlander Motel
3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Affordable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed 5 nights at Highlander in mid-May. We had a rental car which we picked up from Dulles Airport, and the free parking in Highlander together with its close proximity to two metro stations and downtown DC suited our needs since we rode the metro often to visit DC. For those aspects alone, the price was hard to beat. Throw in a free (though simple) breakfast, a clean room to rest after a long day sightseeing, and a safe, convenient neighbourhood, and you have a motel that spells fantastic value for the money!

Our room was located on the top floor of a 3-storey block facing the rear parking lot, which was quiet. However, the absence of an elevator meant hauling our luggage up and down 2 flights of stairs. Our room was basic and clean, equipped with cable TV, a fridge and two double beds (the motel does not have queen-sized beds). Beds were not the most comfortable and the carpet looked a little old and worn but to be expected for a motel at this price point. A simple breakfast comprising juice/coffee/tea, bagels, donuts, bread, some fruit and yogurt was available next to the reception each morning for guests to bring back to their rooms as there wasn't a dedicated breakfast area available.

The GMU-Virginia metro is just 5 minutes walk away but was closed for repairs when we were there. We had to use Clarendon metro, which is slightly further, about 8-10 minutes walk, but passes through more interesting shops in Clarendon town centre - including Trader Joes and Whole Foods Market (with a healthy hot/cold food bar) slightly further up Clarendon Blvd, AT&T and T-Mobile for tourists wishing to pick up local prepaid SIM cards, and a number of eateries. 12 minutes walk in the opposite direction is Ballston Mall with Macy's, a small food court and other shops. Located next to the motel are burger and chicken joints. Washington Mall is just 15 minutes by metro. The whole area felt safe, even at night.

While service could be improved (we were short of towels on 2 different days, while other room keys were accidentally left in our room on another occasion), it's not a deal breaker. If you want to save some money while visiting the museums and sights in DC, stay here (especially you have a car as parking elsewhere in and around DC is expensive). It's by far the best value for money accommodation in a safe, convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
20
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been to the Highlander many times(our kids moved to the DC area). This is a great value Motel, not a luxury Hotel. I have traveled with my parents three of those times(my dad is 81); we get adjoining rooms and they love it. (Our room requests were met each time, but were reminded that requests are not a guarantee.) The neighborhood is walkable, close to the metro and close to great restaurants! The price and value of the Highlander allows us to visit our kids more frequently! Can't wait to get back to DC!! Did I mention my kids are there? :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Highlander is not for those looking for luxury. Please go elsewhere if that's your thing.

However, if you are like the rest of us and prefer to spend your hard earned cash actually enjoying the sights & sounds of your vacation destination - stay here! It is a 4 minute walk from the Virginia Square-GMU Metro (Orange Line) Station and a 10 minute stroll into Clarendon - which is a nice place to venture into for great food, night time activities or CVS needs. Okay, back to The Highlander - 3 of us (2 adults & teenage boy) stayed 4 nights (Sat-Wed) check in/check out was a breeze, beds were comfy, room & bathroom were clean. Extra pillows & towels were given upon request at the front desk. Had in room mini-fridge- which was nice to store water, soda & snacks from the 7-eleven just down the street. We were on 2nd floor, at the end on back side - hardly any street noise. The continental breakfast was well stocked with bagels, croissants, donuts, fruit, yogurt along with plenty of coffee, oj, tea & hot chocolate. It was a nice way to get our day going before hopping on Metro and exploring our nation's Capitol - which is only 15 minutes or so away. Thanks for a really nice & inexpensive stay Highlander; when we get back to D.C., we'll be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times now and not been disappointed. The building as a whole is older and looks out of place against the glossy office buildings along Fairfax & Wilson. But inside it's clean, remodeled, comfortable, with decent beds, tile in the bathroom & fridge/counter area (easier to keep clean), and with decent furniture. Not the dingy pit you'd expect from a hotel of this vintage. The continental breakfast is nothing special (mini bagels, box donuts, fruit), and there's no iron or hair dryer. But the cost is so much less compared to anything decent nearby, you could buy better-than-hotel appliances at the mall down the street anyway.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

From the outside, the Highlander Motel looks like any other nondescript, low-budget, family-run motel you find along US highways, except that this is a short walk from the Virginia Square-GMU metro station. At the reception, they greet you with a kind, no-nonsense smile through a security window, and they point out to you that a continental breakfast is available free of charge. Inside, rooms are clean and well kept, beds are comfortable and, if your room is on the back of the building away from Wilson Boulevard, you’ll have a quiet, comfortable night. The shower is brand new, water is hot and high pressure, towels are fresh every day, the TV has more channels than you’ll have the time to surf in one night, and there are several network routers that provide free and high-bandwidth wireless service for your laptop. There is one yellow light outside the door of every unit (a good idea when you come back late at night). Since the curtains don’t overlap where they meet, some of the yellow light filters in at night. However, this is nothing that a binder clip won’t fix, if the light bothers you (hint: even a coat hanger with trouser clips will work, odd as that may look when deployed). There is no alarm clock in the room, but who doesn’t have one on their phone nowadays? Unless you need concierge service or a hairdryer, or feel the urge to sponsor the expensive lifestyles of a hotel chain owner’s children, the Highlander is a very good deal for your one or three nights in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After reading the reviews here I decided to spend my stay in the Washington area at this little gem. The prices were reasonable for the market, the room was clean and the staff were friendly. It is located just a few blocks from the Metro which gave me easy access to most of the Washington area. The area is quite trendy with lots of pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. I will be returning to the area again since one short trip didn't give me the chance to see all that I wanted to see and the next time I will be staying at the Highlander.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Knowing that there is no elevator, I requested fairly far in advance that we at least be placed no higher than the second floor due to heavy bags to be taken in. So, where were we placed?
Third floor. Man at desk stated that others booked during the prior week were placed first. I had
booked somewhat earlier. I travel enough that I know that a hotel cannot always be precise as to requests but I feel that being pushed to the third floor in this case was poor service.

Room was fairly nice. Good appearance. Effected oder was good. New vanity and new tile shower were very good features. Generally clean but a couple of spots showing longterm dirt.
Immediate neighborhood is marginal.

The only close dining is Mario's next door. Take out although there is some outside seating.
Excellent sub sandwiches were enjoyed. Along with Mario's is ice cream. Lots of choices.
A Seven Eleven is one block away. Alongside of the Metro station, which is three blocks away,
is a good deli.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
#29 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Highlander Motel to your Saves list