We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Arlington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Motel

Highlander Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlander Motel
Save Saved
You added Highlander Motel to your Saves list
3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Veksoe, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good choice in Arlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Finding reasonably priced accommodation close to a Metro station is not easy in Washington, but the Highlander is a good choice. The motel is situated between Clarendon and Virginia Square stations on the Orange line and you can get to the National Mall in just 15 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants to be found within walking distance and a 7/11 just around the corner. The rooms are nice and clean, ours with what looked like a new bathroom. We had planned to stay three nights but Hurricane Sandy and a canceled flight prolonged our stay by another couple of days.

Next time we are in Washington we will be staying at Highlander Motel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    75
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
23
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second trip/stay at the Highlander, and so far the best stay. We were in a recently renovated room. It was awesome. room is spacious, the new bathroom was fantastic! This place is close to the metro, mall, and the Marine Corp Memorial. Very close to the D.C. area. We love to stay here because it's close to everything and the price is reasonable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. and a special thank you to Sandy. Hope to see you all in the Spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My family used the Highlander for a reunion and visit to the National Cemetery. We occupied five rooms, all close to one another on the inner courtyard. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and the bathrooms were sparkling clean. The price was a bargain and the staff were very helpful in everything. The beds were very soft. Relatively few amentiies and no hand towels though. I am used to shampoo provided by the hotels I visit, but none here. The light breakfast was kept stocked until all the food was taken, well past the posted cut-off time. We did appreciate that extra time to get donuts, fruit, yogurt, and bagels.

Room Tip: Interior rooms away from Wilson Blvd will not hear the road noise. Bring your own shampoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for three days while reviewing proposals for the National Science Foundation. The hotel is in a wonderful location, near the metro, several restaurants (El Pollo Rico is excellent), grocery store (Giant), etc. I was in room 48 on the back and didn't have any problems with noise or anything else. The price ended up at ~$100 a night after taxes, which is extremely low for this area. Overall a very pleasant experience and when I return I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Easy and convenient place to stay. Some noise, but it wasn't the hotel's fault - just noisy customers! The woman behind the desk was very helpful and pleasant. It was helpful to have a fridge as we had food that needed to be refrigerated. The metro is within easy walking distance

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side - off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballygowan, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Highlander Motel from August 30th to September 05th. We stayed in room 37 on the first floor to the rear of the building and had no issues with noise from the traffic on Wilson. The rooms are standard motel quality. Our room had been refurbished, with a modernised bathroom containing a large walk in shower but no bath (not a problem for 2 adults!), a flat screen HD TV and fridge with small freezer compartment. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable.

The motel provides a basic "grab n go" breakfast in the foyer every morning, comprising OJ, bagels (with toaster if required), croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit and coffee. We tended to lift sufficient to have later in the day for lunch or tea and get a cooked breakfast elsewhere.

The Highlander Motel is a block from a 7 / 11 (handy for beers, sodas or water for the fridge) and about a block and a half from the metro, which will transport you to the main sights within 15 - 20 minutes.

We paid a little over $100 per night for our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property as somewhere clean, comfortable and value for money. Decor might not be to everybody's taste tho! Fortunately, that is not something that bothers us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I often have to travel to DC on business, and almost always stay here. It's clean, safe, and a few blocks from the Metro (subway) which can take you almost anywhere. It doesn't have an indoor pool, valet parking, special beds, coffee in your room (it's in the lobby) or that manner of thing -- on the other hand, it costs about a third of what those places cost. In the morning you can see an interesting collection of residents leaving, some in business suits, some working class, some families on vacation.

In short, I really like it, have stayed there on every trip to DC in the last five years (and those come 3-6 times a year), and intend to continue doing so. In my field, a side benefit is that it's only a couple of blocks from George Mason Univ. law school and its great library.

Room Tip: Back side, north, gets you away from Wilson Blvd traffic. First floor is more convenient to the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motel

Address: 3336 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
#28 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Motel is an affordable motel in Arlington VA close to the FDIC, NSF, and George Mason University. We offer free parking, free wireless internet access and HD television. We are located 2 blocks from the Virginia Square Metro station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Arlington
Highlander Motel Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.