We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for DC sight seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Bristol, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just fine for DC sight seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nothing fancy, but clean, affordable, convenient for DC sightseeing. Breakfast inthe lobby, a charming and helpful desk attendant, free parking. Walk to the Metro station and ride in. Parking in DC is I possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
39
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Close to the subway station and to the marine memorial. Clean bathroom, great hot shower, comfortable bed and pillow. Free parking. They don't have an area for breakfast, it's at the reception and they only had bagels, donuts, coffee, tea and milk. It was not a problem for my husband and I because we had breakfast somewhere else. It's an inexpensive option in Arlington.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed here a few times now and have found it to be well run and kept up. Clean comfy rooms with simple amnesties and a simple continental breakfast in the lobby make this a good catch for vacationers and business types alike. 9 min walk to Iwo Jima statue 15-20 to metro stations and 7-11 and Safeway

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Inn of Rosslyn is the cheapest hotel in the DC area, and it delivers all the basics: clean rooms and bath, close to public transportation (walk to the Rosslyn MTA station/airport bus), good maid service, decent wi-fi, comfy beds, Euro breakfast (free bagels, doughnuts, OJ and coffee), in-room fridge/coffeemaker, and a friendly, helpful staff. Everything works, nothing was broken. I slept well. There's even a good LA-style taco truck just up the street and a market just up the hill. It looks like an old school, no-tell motel, but it's totally legit. I found the front desk staff to be very kind, caring and informative with local tips and recommendations on DC attractions. There's no danger here. I've stayed here twice so far and found it to be a great base of operations. You can do laundry in the apt. building next door (they own it and most of their staff lives there). The Inn of Rosslyn gets lots of international visitors and young travellers who get what this place is about - decent accommodations for a fair price. If you want fancy furniture, a restaurant, a pool, fancy bath amenities, bell hops, and a concierge - go elsewhere and pay for it. There's no excuse for the fussing I heard from some visitors who felt overpromised. Read the reviews, and keep your expectations in check. There is no security, other than the occasional cop car parked in the lot. But it's fine. Really. If you like saving money, good service and decent accommodations, here you go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were staying for a week and needed two rooms without breaking the bank. This hotel was a great choice - it was a very short metro ride to downtown DC. The metro entrance is 1/4 to 1/2 mile (approx) from the hotel.

Our rooms were clean and well cared for and stocked with all the basic necessities. The AC units get nice and cold. The Wi-Fi worked great for us. I'd recommend rooms 14/15 or the other two on that wing since they are away from the main part of the hotel. There is abundant parking right outside each door throughout the hotel.

I found everyone I encountered to be helpful, friendly and polite. Eden and Victor were terrific during our stay with calling cabs, providing extra supplies, giving directions, and easing the transition into vacation mode in an unfamiliar city. A big shout out to Judy for helping me out in a pinch!

Although this is a small motel without the glamour, luxury or corporate amenities of the larger chains, it feels like a down home America place to stay. Safe, clean and friendly.

We took several day trips during our stay and found this location to be ideal for traveling into Virginia or Maryland without having to navigate through downtown DC traffic to do so.

If you stay here and are hungry at the end of a weary day, there is a little pizza place called Ledo's right down the street about 1.5 blocks away. It's not on Trip Advisor. It has really decent pizza plus other entrees and a full bar and it's an easy walk fyi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It's a simple place, but clean and worth the price. Judy is very helpful, from explaining the direction to shops and train station to suggesting us to allow extra travel time due to morning rush time. My family stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Didn't have time to write the review when we came back ;-). We will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

as soon a s I walked in the door I was greeted by the reception is whose name was Evelyn she was so very helpful when I asked about things to do in the area and where I can get some good barbecue, and when I asked about this to do in close area of the hotel she asked me if I came in a taxi or if I drove.she had some tips about getting around that I was able to orientate myself . also gave me pointers on where not to park but most of all the price for the bestiary it's that time of the year was great.
I would like to make one suggestion,The rooms could use a microwave.
Thank you Ms.Evelyn W.and the resr of the Inn is Rosslyn staft for making me welcome there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.