We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Save Saved
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn of Rosslyn
1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Struthers, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“DC Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay and was very impressed with the cleanliness and the help from the front desk (Judy). She gave us information and advice that we, as "first timers", really appreciated. She definitely helped make the stay all the more enjoyable and hospitable. Rooms were comfortable and clean, location was convenient to Metro Train (10 - 12 minute walk), Marine Memorial (10 minute walk) and Arlington Cemetery (20 minute walk). Neighborhood was safe and there were some restaraunts within walking distance as well. Nice place to stay and would definitely consider staying ther again in the future. If you're a light sleeper the planes flying overhead may bother you a little but the pluses definitely outweigh the negatives. And the price was very reasonable compared to other hotels, inns and motels in the area. I definite 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
39
31
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at the Inn of Rosslyn because good reviews and good prices for the DC area. Nothing special at hotel but a clean and comfy place to sleep. Quick free breakfast got me on my way in the morning. This place is walking distance to Rosslyn metro. They have a shuttle but didn't really run when I needed it. It is an easy walk though. Seems to be safe at night. I thought noise from the highway in front would be too much but I slept like a baby. I recommend this hotel. The lady at the front desk Martine was super friendly and helpful. This place is convenient, price is right, and has a friendly staff.

Room Tip: second floor on side is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I wanted to provide you my experience with this hotel and the person at the front desk, Martine. She was very helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. She went out of her way to help us figure out the access to metro. Where to eat, what to see, etc. It is a modest hotel but serves the purpose at a much lower price than most in that area. It included continental breakfast so that meal was taken care of, which every little bit helps when you are traveling to DC.

Room Tip: If you want a value hotel near all DC attractions and access metro, then stay here. There is no poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We decided to book our stay after reading the mostly positive reviews about Inn of Rosslyn. The room was nothing special but it was clean and offered free wifi, tv/cable, refrigerator and best of all it is a short walk to the metro. We spent most of our time jaunting around seeing the sites. The Inn was a nice place to rest and refresh for more of the same. The shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was nothing special (donuts and bagels) but it got us started for the walk to the metro. Martine was very friendly and helped us scope out some places to eat. We really appreciated catching the shuttle to the airport in the morning. Overall it is a great no frills deal. We got a decent nights sleep and had a great adventure exploring DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Inn of Rosslyn is one of the few small independently run family motels in the heart of Rosslyn conveniently located next to the metro and vibrant restaurants along Wilson Boulevard. In terms of value, it cannot be beat. The price is right with simple rooms that are very clean with outstanding service. Even the towels in the bathrooms are carefully folded and ruffled inviting you in and showing an underling effort to attention to detail.

Built in the late 1950s, it brings back hints of old time travels and a microcosmic view of what Rosslyn once looked like with its many small businesses and restaurants mixed in with the brick houses. Most impressive are the bathrooms with their small ceramic tile interior finishes that are carefully maintained to include the grout retaining its spotless cement colors. Clearly, someone has taken a lot of pride maintaining this building over the years, to include the exterior walkways. After experiencing this old time gem one can take a five minute walk to Wilson Boulevard and enjoy sushi, a “hell burger”, Italian dishes, or Lebanese food at many of the modern restaurants in the new Rosslyn.

Every time I enter the front desk – reception area with its large windows, I have experienced a warm welcome from the staff and especially the manager, Judy, who has a pleasant non urban greeting making you feel comfortable and truly appreciated. If you need any support they are always willing to help.

I can say many more good things about this place and highly recommend it for families, couples, or individuals looking for value and convenience just across the river from Washington D.C. It is a five to fifteen minute drive to the Mall, White House, Georgetown, and Arlington Cemetery. For those seeking quiet, the low sounds of traffic from highway 50 are not that significant and can be overcome with turning on the TV. Also the traffic is all but gone by 10:00 PM to 6:00 AM.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We reserved a room here for one night on Memorial Day weekend, and it ended up being a disaster. We were running later than we thought and had been told earlier that there would be someone in the hotel's office until midnight. We were running late due to traffic and called the hotel's office at 11:30 pm, and the person there told us that they would wait for us. When we got there, the office was closed and we saw a sign on the door that said "Will return in 10 minutes." After waiting for about an hour, knocking on the door, ringing the doorbell and calling multiple phone numbers affiliated with the hotel, we saw that this sign was obviously a complete lie. At this point, we tried calling as many other hotels as we could find, and everywhere in the area was fully booked, seeing as it was Memorial Day weekend in the Washington, D.C. area. Therefore, we had to sleep in our car because of this place's horrible customer service. One of the phone numbers I was given by someone at a sister hotel affiliated with the Inn of Rosslyn was the cell phone number of a manager. Not only did this supposed "manager" not answer his or her phone that night, but he or she didn't answer the next morning either. Finally, after I got a text asking who it was, I sent a detailed message back explaining the situation and of course got no response. I called the main number for the hotel and made sure I got a refund immediately and didn't even get an apology from these people. Giving me my refund right away was about the only thing they did right. Do not go here unless you want deplorable customer service and to deal with people who don't want to take responsibility for anything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Inn Of Rosslyn was dated but one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. Staff were friendly and organized. Wifi, TV, A/C etc all worked fine no problems and beds were cushy. Even the breakfast was pretty good (bagels and donuts). I was surprised at the quality of this little hotel.

Location is about a 5 min walk from Rosslyn metro station. Only downside is there is no CVS or anything nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.