We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Save Saved
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
edinburgh scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good Value Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Next to main road so easy access. The area is mainly office blocks between the Inn and The Metro, however there are eating places scattered around, I felt very safe walking in the area and particularly like the short walk to the Iwo Jima Memorial, Not an attractive but Short walk. The metro will take you to everywhere though a walk through Arlington Cemetry will take you over the River to The Lincoln memorial and everything in that area. This is not a short walk but a very enjoyable one. The Inn is a Motel but my room was excellent. The "Breakfast" was a choice of doughnuts and buns and some coffee. You just help yourself in a designated room. The Reception is a small area but the ladies where helpfull(ish) They helped where they could. The Rosslyn Inn is a good place to stay at a good price, I would reccomend it. Alexandria and DC are on main Metro and Bus routes. Georgetown is on trolley route.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    64
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
39
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I needed a room and checked this hotel. I am not from america and had a lot of questions to ask and judy was very patient and helpful with all my questions. I like her because she was busy and still helped me. My room was big and clean with a breakfast. I will come here to stay when i come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Inn of Rosslyn is an older motel type lodging that is showing its years and would not be recommended for anyone looking for high quality rooms and services. The main attraction is the relatively low price compared to many other options in the Arlington/DC area. The Inn is about 5 or 6 blocks from the Rosslyn Metro Station, which provides access to the DC Mall with its monuments and museums as well easy access to Washington National and the Amtrak rail stations in DC and Alexandria. I would not recommend the walk after dark for female visitors, but the Inn does have a shuttle if their driver is available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Two blocks away is the delightful, clean, safe Best Western.
I believed the "decent" reviews of the Inn and then I entered Room 4. Smelled to high you-know-where. Overheated. Windows were plastic--very lightweight plexiglas and didn't lock! Back to office. Room 5- same deal. Room 21 - same deal. Lady at desk very accommodating, called mgr, we got out with no charge. Writing this from BW room only 7.00 more and equal to a Marriott. Phew.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have stayed at inn of rosslyn jan 8 12 2013 what a wonderful hotel it is clean and the bed is the most comfotable I have ever slept on. It's close to the metro 5 min walk it takes no time to get to all museums and arlington cemetary is 5 mins away. They have a continental breakfast room which is complementry I would recomend this hotel to anybody the front desk women judy is fantastic and the room is always clean by elvira I would like to thank all hotel staff for a wonderful stay and I will see you soon. Thank you james pellack toronto canada.

Room Tip: Room 10 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great value hotel. It is located in a nice region, next to the metro. The night attendant was very friendly and helpful.
In my room, the heater was not strong enough to warm up the room, so they provided extra comforter and a portable heater. Also, the internet in the room was not working, so I had to use the breakfast room to be able to connect.
The breakfast was very poor. They only offered doughnut and bagel.
The hotel is not great but all issues were compensated with a good service.
I recommend this hotel, especially because of the location and price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent a week here in July 2012. The short of it: Decent place. Kind of dated on the outside (60's). Rooms were clean and reasonably furnished. The employees were helpful and the price was right, especially considering location. I will stay here again.

This place is literally on the highway so it does get noisy during rush hours. There are a lot of places to eat nearby, but it took me a couple of days to figure out how to get around in Rosslyn's maze of one way/dead end streets. Ray' Hell Burgers (good eats) is only about a 12 minute walk away.

The only real negative I encountered was the limited nature of their network. Due to the location of their emitters, parts of the motel are dead zones for internet. I was on the second floor, last room on the left. With my tablet on the bathroom window ledge facing the walkway, I could get a weak connection with dropouts. About 10 ft further down the walkway I got a great connection. Since I don't watch tv, every night was spent on the couch in the office catching up on the days events with my tablet. The desk personnel know which rooms can connect so ask when checking in. This wasn't a deal breaker, I'd still stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.