We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible, not great--- right for some travelers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Arlington TX
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Not terrible, not great--- right for some travelers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

So, I know the hotel is older and not been updated recently...like in the last 2 decades.... But I really wasn't expecting it to look as shabby as it did. It really looks more shabby than what it is. It's functional, worn out in some places but great bed (I stayed in room 3), working fridge and coffee maker. The only real two complaints I had were the Internet wifi and the breakfast. Other than that, you get what you pay for, and for a room right on the hwy, 10 minutes and $10 cab ride from everything, it was an awesome deal. Even the usual moderately priced hotel chains were twice this price. Complaint 1) the Internet cant be found more often than it is available. One corner of my room had wifi signal and, every few minutes, it would disappear and reappear. For being on a business trip, Internet was more important than food, ya know. Complaint 2) while the quality of the breakfast itself was moderately good, they serve it in an old emptied hotel room. The lighting reminds me of a brutal interrogation room at Guantanamo Bay, the room feels like a moist breeding ground for as yet unidentified creatures and the conference table swallowing up the whole room with office chairs pulled up to it was a repellent rather than an inviting place to sit. This is the most important overhaul the hotel should focus on....they're messing with people's food and there's no better way to turn them off and make them vomit than this. Side note: if you walk up that hill behind it, just two blocks, you will find a beautiful park, Starbucks, CVS, Safeway, along with several very nice, new, inexpensive restaurants. I made a grocery supply trip for 3 days of meals and I'm glad I did. Theres no microwave in the room and they won't let you borrow theirs so keep that in mind if you plan on cooking anything, especially since there's no food vending on the premises. The walking trip is pleasant and safe and was a good stretch for my legs after 7 hours of flying from Dallas. Side note: to the lady who refused to acknowledge me for 10 min after I arrived because your personal phone conversation was more important than customers, this gave me time to determine that your mustache should be entered into a national facial hair contest, as it's quite impressive. I left a tip for the maid, but lady...you don't get anything from me. Overall, the room was clean, no bugs or critters and everything fit my needs.

Room Tip: Room 1 is breakfast room. Room 3 is right next to front office and very convenient. I'd recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
39
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here in February when I tacked a night onto a business trip to meet with friends visiting family member at ANC. Yes, the hotel has an older design and I will admit we were nervous checking in, but everything was clean, if outdated. If you want a brand new carpet and plasma TV you are going to pay for it. If you want comfort and a good deal in an expensive area, this is your place.

I understand some people associating 'not new' with 'dirty' but this place was not dirty. We had a corner room on the first floor and had a fantastic nights sleep, much better in fact than the night before at a much higher priced name brand a few miles away.

This hotel provides exactly what I need when traveling - a comfy bed, internet, TV and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great Value and so close to DC ! Convenient location close to the Metro and they even have shuttle service. A very friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast complete the lovely stay. The hotel is very reasonable amidst a rather expensive area.

Room Tip: Sorry I'm not sure if there is a pool, but I could not correct the entry above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Due to unexpected medical issues I was moved back to Arlington, VA from Costa Rica. For two (2) days I searched for an afforable and friendly environment in which I could spend several months. Cleanliness is one of my most important issues when choosing a hotel, and The Inn of Rosslyn was our third night stay. We are very impressed with the standard of cleanliness and friendly housekeeper Elvia P. who has provided us with every possible items needed to make me comfortable. Thank you Elvia for keeping our room totally clean everyday and thanks to the wonderful staff I am able to move into a short term furnished apartment that is part of the Inns of Rosslyn. I would recommend your hotel to all my friends and family without reservation and would feel like you treat everyone like your own family members. Again, thank you. Chris M.

Room Tip: All room are air-conditioned very well, the noise from the highway is not a factor in the room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my 3 children stayed at the Inn of Rosslyn in July 2012. The front desk workers were very helpful and nice. The metro was a 5-10 minute walk. Area was safe and quiet.
The shower worked very well. Air conditioner worked very well. Room was very clean and didn's have any bad odors. My children liked the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The price is great for such a nice hotel so close to DC and so safe.
If don't need any frills and you're willing to walk a few blocks to the metro, you won't be disappointed. Me and my children came to the hotel around 1:30 and were allowed to go to our room before the 3:00 check in time. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for a week in February 2012 whilst attending a conference in DC - but wanting to keep costs down. The hotel looks a bit shady from the outside but it's actually extremely comfortable and extremely good value.

The Inn of Rosslyn is an excellent balance of quality, location and value. It's a 5-minute walk from the Metro station and, if you time it right with the trains, you can be in central DC within 20-25 minutes of leaving your room. Travelling in the other direction on the Metro, you can also reach Dulles quickly if taking the Washington Flyer bus service from West Falls Church Metro station.

The room price includes a basic breakfast (coffee, juice, bagels, donuts), which is far more than you'd get at a hotel in DC itself.

There's simply no comparison between the price you pay to stay the Inn of Rosslyn and a very basic hotel in central DC. You could end up paying a lot more for a lot less to stay in the centre of DC - I'd rather stay at the Inn of Rosslyn.

The only thing that lets down the Inn of Rosslyn is the in-room wifi, which I found to be very slow and unreliable. Unfortunately this was a fairly big problem for me because I needed good wifi access to do some work in my room and I found that the only viable option was to walk 5 minutes to the nearest Starbucks and use the wifi there because the Inn of Rosslyn's wifi was just too unreliable.

I'll consider the Inn of Rosslyn again in the future - but I'll also keep the Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima in mind, which is almost next-door to the Inn of Rosslyn, is slightly more expensive and doesn't provide breakfast but, crucially, has excellent in-room wifi connectivity (I stayed there in early 2011). Those who don't care as much about wifi as me will find the Inn of Rosslyn ideal!

Overall: great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I got a great deal on this hotel! Less then ten minutes to the metro and 5 minutes to dc from there. The place is nothing special on the outside, a motel really, but the rooms are super clean and the staff is amazing! Would stay again! My husbands favorite part was the huge b flat screen in our room!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.