We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service- Housekeeper Elvia P.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service- Housekeeper Elvia P.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Due to unexpected medical issues I was moved back to Arlington, VA from Costa Rica. For two (2) days I searched for an afforable and friendly environment in which I could spend several months. Cleanliness is one of my most important issues when choosing a hotel, and The Inn of Rosslyn was our third night stay. We are very impressed with the standard of cleanliness and friendly housekeeper Elvia P. who has provided us with every possible items needed to make me comfortable. Thank you Elvia for keeping our room totally clean everyday and thanks to the wonderful staff I am able to move into a short term furnished apartment that is part of the Inns of Rosslyn. I would recommend your hotel to all my friends and family without reservation and would feel like you treat everyone like your own family members. Again, thank you. Chris M.

Room Tip: All room are air-conditioned very well, the noise from the highway is not a factor in the room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
39
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my 3 children stayed at the Inn of Rosslyn in July 2012. The front desk workers were very helpful and nice. The metro was a 5-10 minute walk. Area was safe and quiet.
The shower worked very well. Air conditioner worked very well. Room was very clean and didn's have any bad odors. My children liked the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. The price is great for such a nice hotel so close to DC and so safe.
If don't need any frills and you're willing to walk a few blocks to the metro, you won't be disappointed. Me and my children came to the hotel around 1:30 and were allowed to go to our room before the 3:00 check in time. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for a week in February 2012 whilst attending a conference in DC - but wanting to keep costs down. The hotel looks a bit shady from the outside but it's actually extremely comfortable and extremely good value.

The Inn of Rosslyn is an excellent balance of quality, location and value. It's a 5-minute walk from the Metro station and, if you time it right with the trains, you can be in central DC within 20-25 minutes of leaving your room. Travelling in the other direction on the Metro, you can also reach Dulles quickly if taking the Washington Flyer bus service from West Falls Church Metro station.

The room price includes a basic breakfast (coffee, juice, bagels, donuts), which is far more than you'd get at a hotel in DC itself.

There's simply no comparison between the price you pay to stay the Inn of Rosslyn and a very basic hotel in central DC. You could end up paying a lot more for a lot less to stay in the centre of DC - I'd rather stay at the Inn of Rosslyn.

The only thing that lets down the Inn of Rosslyn is the in-room wifi, which I found to be very slow and unreliable. Unfortunately this was a fairly big problem for me because I needed good wifi access to do some work in my room and I found that the only viable option was to walk 5 minutes to the nearest Starbucks and use the wifi there because the Inn of Rosslyn's wifi was just too unreliable.

I'll consider the Inn of Rosslyn again in the future - but I'll also keep the Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima in mind, which is almost next-door to the Inn of Rosslyn, is slightly more expensive and doesn't provide breakfast but, crucially, has excellent in-room wifi connectivity (I stayed there in early 2011). Those who don't care as much about wifi as me will find the Inn of Rosslyn ideal!

Overall: great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I got a great deal on this hotel! Less then ten minutes to the metro and 5 minutes to dc from there. The place is nothing special on the outside, a motel really, but the rooms are super clean and the staff is amazing! Would stay again! My husbands favorite part was the huge b flat screen in our room!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Inn of Rosslyn and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay at a nice place near D.C. for a reasonable amount.

Pros: The room was very comfortable and the location is only a few blocks from a Metro station. There are several restaurants within a few blocks. The location is quiet and the staff helpful. Room had a mini-fridge, free parking and cable TV.

Cons: No microwave. Old fashioned 27-in. CRT TV. No pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

What can we say about the Inn of Rosslyn? Well, we found this place by using Trip Advisor and the comments other have written do speak for themselves. To start, we came to the DC area for a work related business trip and took the opportunity to make this a working vacation. Since the company I worked for provided hotel accommodations within DC, we stayed at the Inn both before and after my business trip. To understand the Inn of Rosslyn, you first have to compare rates. The hotel my company provided had a discounted rate of $225 ($528 actual room rate) while the Inn of Rosslyn’s rate was under $90. For this rate, the Rosslyn is no 5-star hotel situated on the Washington Mall. This was a nice 3-star hotel with everything you need.

The metro station is within a 10-minute walk; which can put you within the heart of DC within 15 minutes of the Inn…so the distance to DC was not an issue. We found a Ruby Tuesday, Safeway grocery store, a great Bar-B-Q joint, a real nice pizza place and various other establishments to eat a between the metro station and the hotel. The rooms were OK. Again, this is not a 5-star hotel. The furniture, carpeting, and bathrooms were dated but had a clean and kept up appearance for their age. The rooms had refrigerators so we took advantage of that as well.

The breakfast was simply coffee, orange juice and doughnuts…nothing fancy. Compare this to the hotel my company provided in DC, I would rather have a complimentary breakfast than be charged $6 for orange juice and $8 for a muffin!

Though the hotel is directly off a major highway route, we heard no traffic what-so-ever. In fact, we never heard noise coming through the walls of our neighbors. The staff was very courteous and took care of any questions we had. If we had one complaint is that the “shuttle service” to/from the National Airport was very limited. The shuttle is nothing but a minivan that when you called the Inn, they will come and get you from 7:00-12:00 Monday-Friday. Again, this is not a 5-star hotel that has all the bells and whistles.

The Iwo Jima Memorial is within a 10 minute walk from the Inn. In fact, you can take the Metro to the Arlington Cemetery station and see the cemetery while walking back to the hotel. This was a nice afternoon visit to end with a walk back to the Inn while passing the Iwo Jima memorial.

Would we stay there again? You bet! If you want to see DC while watching the expenses; the Inn of Rosslyn is a nice place to stay. The area has the means and availability to save you expenses; both for accommodations and restaurants that are considerably less than the heart of Washington DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor...less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a trip to DC for Rolling Thunder. Stayed at Inn of Rosslyn which is a 5 minute drive from downtown and just a 15 minute walk from Arlington Cemetery and the Iwo Jima monument. We were greeted by a very friendly, helpful girl at the registration desk named CC. Our room was clean, had a small refrigerator (no microwave) and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was coffee, orange juice, bagels and doughnuts located in a very small room with a table and 4 chairs. The hotel seemed dated and priced a bit high when all things were taken into consideration.

Room Tip: Only stairs, no elevator, to get to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.