We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for the Price - a bit noisy though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for the Price - a bit noisy though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband & I spent one night at this hotel. We were passing through the area and just needed a place to stay. We require three things from a hotel: clean sheets & towels, a working TV with remote and a bug-free room. This has all three - with a small exception. Thankfully we didn't see a single bug here. Also, the TV and remote both worked. The only small thing was when we took the floral comforter off (the gross one that every hotel has in this price range), there were a pile of broken potato chips on top of the velour blanket. The only way they could have gotten there was if the housekeeper was eating while making the bed or never changed the sheets. Also, the velour blanket was very threadbare. It had holes & marks all over it. Thankfully we brought our own blanket.

The bathroom was decent as well. My husband loved the retro pink tile. It had a tub & the water pressure in the shower was good. The shower head was quite low and my 6'6" husband had to duck to get under it. I am 5'8" and it was okay for me but I would say another couple of inches and I would have had a hard time.

We requested double beds since I toss & turn and the price was $54.99 plus tax.

We didn't eat the breakfast so I cannot comment on that.

The noise level was extremely high. Our room backed up against another road with a dumpster and they came to empty it very early in the morning. We also heard a lot of beeping, trucks, cars and planes throughout the night & in the morning. We bring a white noise machine with us on all our trips but it was loud enough that the white noise machine could not drown it out. We were on the 2nd level and it was not good.

I also have a complaint about the supposed "shuttle". All the literature advertised a free shuttle. We were excited since we love to visit all areas in Washington DC and hate to find parking or pay a lot to park.

We checked in a bit early - around 1pm. We thought that if the room was ready, we would drop off our things and take the shuttle and see the sites. The person at the front desk (she was very nice) said the shuttle stops around 12 noon each day.

This doesn't make sense. Check in wasn't until 3pm and check out is at 11am. When would someone take the shuttle? Early the day they had to check out? That is the only possibility that came to mind. We would have to wake up extremely early, go to Washington DC and be back by 11am? Most museums & sites don't open until 9am-9:30am so we would have at most 1.5 - 2 hours if we planned extremely well.

My recommendation is to take the metrorail which is fairly close (within 1/2 mile to 1 mile walk). You take the orange line into the city & it is fairly easy to find your way around. The cost is around $2 per person one way.

I would say this was an average hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
46
48
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days back in Nov of 2011. On the outside it's not the best, but the inside is clean and well maintained and for the price you can't beat it. It is an older motel, but we did enjoy our stay. The staff was wonderful and willing to help on the drop of a dime. There was a police car that sat out front in the parking lot, don't let that alarm you he lives there (they also rent by the month apparently). Close to the Metro. Basic continental breaskfast, but fresh each morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms, they have updated tv's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for three days at Inn of Rosslyn 19 - 22 October 2011, and found the hotel convenient, clean, and fine for a short stay.
But the nicest thing was the kindness and help of the lady on Reception, called Evelyn.
Thank you, Evelyn (I think that was her name!), from two visiting Brits.
Robert and Glennis Aston, Horwich, Lancashire, England, UK

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a wonderful stay! The staff were friendly and helpful. Specifically, Eden, the receptionist who even let us use her son's car seat in the shuttle van so that we could get the family to the Metro. The room was very clean. The doughnuts, bagels, coffee and OJ each morning were a big hit with the children (and us). The WiFi, fridge and mini coffee maker were put to good use though we did miss the convenience of a microwave. The free parking was a perk for this area. We were happily surprised by the state (cleanliness and neighborhood) of this hotel because from the outside pics. we saw online, we were a little wary. The location is great. Everything is within easy walking distance (even with strollers and children of 2, 4 and 6 yrs. old). We would certainly stay here again! Thanks again Eden for making our stay such a success....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here for a family funeral at nearby Arlington Nat'l Cemetery, which is likely the reason this property exists, or still exists. The rooms are okay but the decor is right out of the Eisenhower-era.

The breakfast is very basic, as in coffee and doughnuts. Unless you're hungry, find food elsewhere if you can. Local shopping is pretty hard to find and you'll likely be driving to find it.

The staff tried to charge another family member the rack rate upon check-in, which was $225, after producing a copy of the reservation, they realized it was booked at $84 and even that is the maximum anyone should pay for this place.

Be forewarned their "free shuttle" to DCA airport stops running at noon, making it useless to almost all customers relying on it- like we did. A $17 taxi ride got us there in 11 minutes.

Also bear in mind the place is next to Hwy 50, so noise is constant and the area is not the greatest for walking around. The staff were friendly enough and rooms were adequate for a night but I wouldn't spend more time here unless forced to. There are times when you can find rooms here for as low as $59 night if you ask.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Don't believe in what you read in the ad. The "deluxe" breakfast is a joke. Only bagels and donuts, OJ & coffee. They even ran out of cream cheese.

You got what you paid for. Just the basics, nothing more. The good thing is, it's a few blocks from the metro station, so you can get into DC without driving.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

If you'ré paying less than $100 in DC you are in the lap of the Gods. This hotel is tired, run down and in need of a major refurbishment. HOWEVER, you get a comfortable bed, an ensuite (fairly clean), basic continental breakfast, walking distance to Rosslyn Metro, a free, if unreliable, shuttle to / from Reagan National, and Rosslyn Metro. With one exception, the staff are rather 'matter of fact'...I think the exception is named Lavelle...and African American Christian...awesome guy.

So Stay here...save some money but realise what you're getting.

Room Tip: ask for a downsatairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.