We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn of Rosslyn to your Saves list
Inn of Rosslyn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked into the hotel as there were no budget hotels available in the centre of Washington owing to an event and it was offering a good rate. The hotel itself was fine, no trouble with the room and helpful staff at reception. It is ten minutes walk from the metro. Free breakfast.

The main problem was with shuttle. I got the impression from the website that it rang until 9pm. In fact it does not run adter 2pm on a Saturday and you have to ring the hotel from the airport. I took the metrorail (which was running a skeleton service owing to engineering work but you can't blame the hotel for that). Had to wait 30 minutes for the shuttle when I checked out.

The hotel is inexpensive and I'll give it four stars and would certainly recommend it. However if you are using DCA airport check the transfer arrangents they caught me out.

Room Tip: Check that the shuttle is running when you need i!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
42
41
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

When every hotel in the neighbourhood costs you over 200 bucks, I think this is a great deal! The staff were all very nice and when we reported a problem with the bathtub, they almost came immediately to fix it. Sure the hotel is not trendy and doesn't have much amenities, but this is an excellent place if you're looking for a hotel to rest after a full day of activites. We'll definitely come back when we visit Washington D.C. again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011 via mobile

I stayed for a couple of nights here during the business trip here. The place looks somewhat weird outside, more like a rundown motel than a hotel. They put a lot of stuffs in the room that are either not working or very old: coffee maker is broken, window airconditioner loud as a motorcycle that provides very little cool even at the maximum, water faucet leaking water, tv with only a few channels(even CNN is not included). There is no elevator and I have to drag laggages to the third floor by stairs that are uncovered.

Would NEVER come back again

I would NEVER

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

this hotel terrified me from the exterior but it is very clean and the staff was extremely nice. also the breakfast was decent and free. what's mind boggling is how they don't spend even a small amount of money so that it is cosmetically more appealing. the front office window is broken in about 10 places, my room had a large section of carpet missing on the floor and a moth-eaten blanket, upholstered furniture was stained and the exterior stairwell was very corroded. the walls were extremely thin and neighbors disturbed me more than once in the night. cabs were called for us on time but our wakeup call was an hour late (problematic on a biz trip). bed linens were scratchy and uncomfortable, mattress was OK. tv had free hbo but fairly limited otherwise. i didn't mind the outdated bathroom, the old tile was actually cute and the housekeeper put the towels in pretty shapes. sort of touching how the staff is trying to make it welcoming even though the physical appearance of the place is offputting. well-located and at least in the week we were there, cheap, but for business travel, not really appropriate, and i wouldn't bring my child there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Very reasonable basic accommodation, halfway between two Metro stops. It (nearly) fronts a busy highway but I was not bothered by the traffic noise. Decent free breakfast and decent wifi connection. Five minute walk to the nearest restaurants and ten minute walks to Metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the inn of rosslyn in march the room was a little dated but the service was amazing the front desk staff went above and beyond. Thomas gave us great ideas on places to eat and go. He also took thee time to print out directions

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Extremely convenient location. Clean rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff - I have been there a couple of times and Eden and Paul have been great. The breakfast was only a bit disappointing but everything else was good. I definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Address: 1601 Arlington Boulevard, Arlington, VA 22209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of Rosslyn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of Rosslyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.