We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & service at a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfort & service at a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My sister & I stayed at the Americana for 4 nights. I had researched over 40 hotels in the Washington area and even 2 star hotels were over $200/night. The Americana is far less and even provides breakfast, coffee or tea all day, ultra comfortable beds and only two short blocks and a 10 minute Metro ride to DC. It is an old hotel surrounded by luxury hotels and condos in an area safe to walk in. If you want room service, an indoor pool and a sauna, go pay $100+ more per night somewhere else. If you would rather spend your money on your sightseeing, the Americana is a great place to stay while visiting D.C.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    369
    128
    35
    22
See reviews for
221
217
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Hotel is old looking from the outside but don't let this put you off. Rooms are comfy clean and although bathrooms are small they are really clean and the towels are of a really good quality.
Staff are very helpful and even let you use the Hotels Ipad.
Breakfast was good, choice of cereals, porridge, bagels and donuts and muffins from dunkin donuts no less. The is also fruit for the more healthy.
Hotel has a free shuttle bus which runs until 11.00pm and will take and pick up from virtually any location.
Hotel is situated 1 block from the metro system which will take you to the Pentagon, Arlington Cemetary and to the heart of Washington DC all within about 30 mins. A really good clean and relatively cheap service.
Also free parking is a real bonus so close to Washington DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

After deciding to visit DC with our family trying to find an affordable hotel was impossible. I stumbled upon the Americana here and based on the reviews offered took the plunge. The price was wonderful, but I was still nervous. The photos looked very vintagy. When we arrived I was amazed at the updated lobby and happy with the rooms. Shortly after our stay they updated many rooms and added new beds. The location was incredible, 5 minutes from the Metro Station, would actually love to move to Crystal City. The hotel felt safe,plenty to do in the area, easy access to DC, a 3 minute drive to the Pentagon and Arlington Cemetary, great staff! The breakfast was a nice touch too... my son loved the donuts! Will visit again and def will stay at and recomment the Americana. Just a tip, be sure to fan them on Facebook for some additional great savings!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Americana is an old hotel and looks it--pink tile in the bathrooms. The place has been newly painted, has a shuttle to the airport, and the desk staff is friendly. We only stayed there the night before flying out. It is adequate for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Americana Hotel in Crystal City (Arlington) VA contines to be the best kept hotel secret in the greater DC area. The hotel is convenient, clean, safe, and an incomparable value. As an older hotel surrounded by newer high rise (much more expensive chains), Americana competes with its service--complementary shuttle to National Airport and area destinations, complementary brunch, and personal service. The location is deal for walkers in being located to three Metro (subway) stops so it is easy to reach area attractions inexpensively and quickly with pubic transportation. And the hotel is also close to great shopping at Pentagon City Mall and wonderful local restaurants on 23rd Ave S in Crystalo City.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

When we decided to travel to Washington, DC with my cousin, I reserved two rooms at the hotel. Our price was $63 a night, a great bargain and right across the Potomac from Washington. When we got there, my cousin decided to upgrade to a double room rather than a single, for $73 a night. It was twice the size of our room! But our room had all the same amenities, except that she had a queen bed and we had a full. Nevertheless, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, the complimentary breakfast was good, and the free wi-fi made my husband happy. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here for four nights when visiting Washington DC. Accommodation in the city and surrounding area is pretty expensive but this was a bargain at $69 for a Queen room booked through the hotel's website. Rooms are dated but clean and comfortable with cable TV and air con. There is free wifi throughout, free basic breakfast and a very useful laundry room for $1. The free shuttle service to Reagan airport and the Pentagon is great, it's only a 5min walk to Crystal City on the Metro and it's then about 25mins into DC. Staff were friendly and helpful, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#21 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.