We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Clean, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great Value, Clean, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I can't add too much more than what has already been said. It's no frills, very clean, convenient, extremely reasonable and free parking!! Don't let the exterior scare you though. When we arrived, my first thought was....what's the cancellation policy? It looks a little run down and old on the outside, but our room was very nice and comfortable. We had a little fridge, flat screen TV and good air conditioning (even though it's a window unit) and it was HOT outside. The bathroom is outdated, but it is spotlessly clean! A few blocks away are some very good restaurants, shopping mall and you have two metro stops within a few blocks. DCA is just a few stops away. Our daughter just moved to an apartment near the Americana Hotel, so we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    341
    125
    33
    21
See reviews for
204
202
96
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

For a first time US travaller the Hotel made us feel home away from home. Though the breakfast facility is available, i would appreciate if restaurent facility is also initiated. I am sure that also would be of high standard keeping in view the present high standard being maintained by the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

All the Best.

L.K.Menon

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Would absolutely recommend this hotel to others. The staff was very helpful in switching us rooms when there was a problem with the first one. They also accomodated us for an additional night which we had not reserved earlier. But make sure you book in advance when you can get the best rates. Great service, breakfast was plentiful, nice lounge, clean room. Rooms are out of date but well-cleaned. Very happy with the experience and will return again for future trips. Free parking and breakfast were much appreciated. Metro is about a 5-10 minute walk away, but there are also shuttles. Safe area of town. Awesome value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3 days over spring break, but we didn't book hotels way in advance and this was one of the few places that still had rooms. This is a no-frills older hotel that they keep very clean and affordable. The location is actually pretty good to the subway once you figure it out: you walk south 2 blocks and then can enter the subway through the Marriot lobby I think. They have a passenger van with a couple of drivers that can help take you to nearby places, but we didn't use this except for once - used the metro all week to see the sites in DC. The price is a lot better than other hotels in the same location - I would stay here if you are on a budget and don't mind the no-frills. They do have a small muffins/donuts/juice/coffee breakfast in the morning. Parking is free which you can't always get in DC.

The only recommendation I have is that they update the bed mattress pads - those were a little weird - just a thin pad that set on top of the mattress - and could have been thicker to make the bed more comfortable. But it was very easy to sleep - not very noisy and the beds were ok.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

This place worked out great for us. It is a no frill, very basic room but clean and comfortable. The Met (blue line) is an easy walk and we felt safe the entire time. Don't expect a fancy room with a view. We usually stay in places more upscale than this, but we found the rates and the room quite sufficient for our three night stay. Again, keep in mind this is a rather old hotel that is very basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

For a cost-cutting visit to Washington DC, this motel comes highly recommended. It's clean, comfortable, quiet and a throwback to no-frills, no-hassle motels of decades ago. Less than a 10-minute stroll will take you to the Crystal City Metro station. My bedroom came with a comfortable king size bed, a nice old air conditioner, a Montgomery Ward mini-fridge and a super HD widescreen TV with over a hundred channels. All this plus fresh donuts in the morning for well under $100 US a night. Yes, I'd stay here again unless money was no object.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Thank you to all the previous reviews in helping us decide to stay at the Americana for 5 days. We reserved two rooms for ourselves and son and both were very clean as mentioned in all the reviews. Continental breakfast was more than sufficient to get you going for the day. The Crystal City and Pentagon Malls were within a 10 to 15 minute walk for shopping and dining. Yes, there are more classy hotels surrounding the Americana, but if you are budget minded as we were, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.