We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient & cost effective...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient & cost effective...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Booked a stay at the Americana fairly last minute for a few days getaway during the week of to DC. As most of the areas I planned to visit were in or around the National Mall area, I would have preferred something in downtown DC (I have stayed at a few previously) but most hotels in the area were either unavailable or ridiculously expensive. After diligently scouring the internet for various availability and pricing, and largely based upon the TripAdvisor reviews, I decided upon the Americana.

Check-in was easy, our room was ready early when we arrive despite it being a pretty full house (we were only about an hour early). The lobby was definitely newly renovated and was charmingly retro, and the staff was friendly. There is a huge parking lot (free parking), however there was only about a half a dozen spots empty when we arrived. I suspect that was just the crossover between check-in/check-out, as it emptied out a lot by evening.

As noted in the title, the room was clean - I was impressed with how clean it was really. And the bed was pretty comfortable. The mattress certainly had been replaced recently. There was also a mini-fridge in the room. Absent that, the rooms weren't much to speak of. The decor was dated, and the colors were kind of drab. I felt like I was back in my old college dorm or something. The climate was controlled by a room air conditioner that was out by the bathroom not very near the bed. I found it difficult to get the temperature decent at night and found myself getting up at night to fiddle with it. The TV was basic cable, nothing fancy.

I think the hallways had kind of an odd smell to them in areas, likely to do the AC units that exhaust to the hall.

I found the room walls a bit thin, and all week I had some obnoxiously loud neighbors next door that came in late. (I on the other hand would come in dog tired after dinner, since museums close early, and be looking to go to bed early). Part of the reason for it being so noisy could have been that there was an connecting door to their room from mine. I could actually here one of them snoring most of one night, but I'm a light sleeper. I guess if you are really sensitive to sound you should request non-adjoining. There was also a lot of door slamming. I don't know if this was from a stairwell door, or room doors, but at times it was so bad it shook my bed. This seems to be a place that might attract a lot of larger groups; when I was leaving, there were two vans arriving that appeared to be a couple of families traveling together.

It was a convenient location if budget does not permit staying downtown. We bought 7 day unlimited short-trip passes for the Metro and that worked out great. The Metro station is right through the Marriott lobby, and the yellow/blue lines accessible from Crystal City station seem to stop near many of the major attractions without transfer. If it's late, the Metro did seem completely safe, but a cab ride is also relatively inexpensive at about $10 from Penn Quarter area. There are several sit down restaurants open late in the Crystal City Shops underground, however be aware that the shops themselves seem to close early evening as well as the food court type places.

As far as cost, you really couldn't beat it. It was about 20% of what the going rate was in downtown DC and a third of the cost of their neighbor "chain brand" hotels right in Crystal City.

A couple of closing notes: while my room was on an inside hallway it looks like some were outside. Also, the door to the room had only a basic door lock and chain - no dead bolt. Not your typical hotel setup. As a woman who travels occasionally for business I would not feel comfortable staying here alone. Luckily I was with someone this time.

So all that being said, would I stay here again? Well, in a pinch, I guess I would pass through for a night. But it wasn't so great I'd stay another bunch of days. I'm a girl who likes my amenities, and after a couple of those long days museum hopping when I got back to my hotel room in the evening, it would have been nice to order up some room service and a movie and just relax or something. But it was fine. And certainly a good value.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    365
    128
    34
    21
See reviews for
217
215
97
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed four nights attending a conference in DC. My room was clean and quiet, the airport service very timely, breakfast options okay. The Metro and an indoor mall is a 5-min walk. Internet worked 100% of the time. It's a no-frills place, but excellent value for the location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Americana was a great value. Breakfast every morning, free parking, close to the metro station and free wifi--which you NEVER find at more expensive hotels. It was so unexpected to find this hotel so close to DC.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel is the best value in an area where the hotels are very expensive. It is an older property, but it is well maintained and very clean. The staff are really nice and helpful. The continental breakfast is good (mostly fresh donuts, muffins, bagels, cereals, and fruit). The rooms are in good condition, and the bathrooms have what looks like original tile and fixtures which look really retro and cute.

It is very convenient to DCA airport and walking distance to many restaurants, stores, and the metro. The free taxi service is great; you can get a free ride to anywhere in the area including the airport. But most places are walking distance, so there is no need to use it except to go to the airport.

I stay here each time I travel to this area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I stayed at Americana Hotel this past weekend with two of my friends. We loved everything about the hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the continental breakfast was a nice touch. We loved the fact that we didn't have to move the car, because of the wonderful driving service, and the fact that the hotel was close to the metro. Best of all, the people who work at the hotel were so friendly and helpful! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We did not know what to expect from what we saw online, but we were surprisingly pleased. The rooms were clean and all of the staff was very accommodating. The only thing that we would have changed is that our bathroom did not have a fan and became foggy and very humid after showers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed just one night to be close to DC for the Cherry Blossom Festival. Room was clean and large enough for our needs. Location was great, just a block from the Crystal City Metro (through the Marriott). Only problem was traffic noise and late night guests next door. We could hear their shower and toilet - woke us up! Breakfast in the morning was good, enough to get the day started. Free parking a huge plus!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.