We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Arlington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Arlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Great place to stay when visiting DC/ northern VA on a budget. I stayed there for two days instead of at the hotel hosting my conference, saving me $120 a night. Building is on the older side and rooms have some older style furnishings and decor, but furniture was in great condition, and the rooms were impeccably maintained. No chipping paint, torn cushions, uncomfortable bed, etc. Staff were young but very personable. Location was great - about 1.5 blocks from Metro entrance and shuttle took me to hotel straight from National Airport. Room was quiet and great spread for breakfast - unlike the nearby hotels that charge twice as much. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a good, clean hotel with great location in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    319
    116
    33
    21
See reviews for
181
187
87
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Rude staff, very basic rooms. Not bad for subway and local shopping centre. Didn't have a great nights sleep due to inconsiderate neighbours.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Great place, friendly staff, comfy beds, wonderful (free) breakfast bar. Close to everything (mall, site seeing...)

  • Liked — Location, great rooms and wonderful staff.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

This place is bed bug city! Cheapness clearly comes at a price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I arrived late on Christmas afternoon, very tired from traveling. When I checked in, I was assisted by a young woman who seemed annoyed that she had had to stop whatever she was doing and wait on me. I asked about restaurants and she mumbled something about five blocks away, call a taxi. Then she gave me my room key and dismissed me. I had to ask directions to get to my room.
Hotel room was rather seedy looking. Battered furniture, old ac/heater combo that was so noisy that I couldn't hear the TV. I also had a hard time sleeping because I had to keep getting up and adjusting the setting. But the worst thing was the bathroom. The automatic exhaust fan (which ran whenever you turn on the light) was loud enough to wake the dead. So unnerving that I had to do my hair and put on my makeup using the mirror in the actual room. The hairdryer provided in the room was broken, and when I asked for another, that one was also broken, but when I told them there was a problem with it, they didn't follow up at all and so I had to use the room heater to dry my hair.
The breakfast setup was OK, but no hot cereal and no fruit, and only one kind of juice. But there was plenty. It would have been nice if they'd had a microwave because there are refrigerators in the rooms. I spent some time in my room working, and the internet connection was not too good, but I managed. I wished the management kept coffee and tea in the lobby for the guests.
Overall, I guess for $79 a night (and I stayed 3 nights) it was OK, but next time I will stay somewhere else. I think if I looked around more, I would have found something better for the price. If I were a business traveler I would have found the Americana unsuitable because it is rather run-down and would not give a good impression to business guests. But for someone on a personal visit and looking just for a place to sleep, you could do worse. At least it's clean.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — noise - noisy heater, noisy bathroom fan
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed at the Americana for two nights in December 2008. We looked for a non-expensive deal close to the National Mall in DC and found the Americana.

We were more than satisfied. The hotel and the furniture is somewhat dated, but everything is clean and nice. Staff is friendly and helpful.

We had a King size bedroom ($165 for 2 nights) on the 4th floor. Continental breakfast is ok, they offer a number of different doughnuts and muffins, bagels and cereals and so on. Very good: Parking on their premises is free.

Nearby are the Crystal City shops, an underground shopping and restaurant area (5-min walk). The Metro stop is also there, and the yellow and blue lines connect you to the National Mall in just a few minutes.

We'd definitely stay there again, a perfect location for a short and affordable visit to DC.

  • Liked — Free parking, very close to the Metro station
  • Disliked — Keys in our room door weren't working very good, you needed a while to open it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed at the Americana for 5 nights in November. It was our first time in DC, and we checked the reviews, and decided the Americana fit our needs. It was close to the Crystal City Subway. The hotel was indeed very clean, and we had no complaints about the room. We would stay there again, and I have been telling friends and relatives about how clean the room was. I just wish there had been someplace to eat within walking distance.

  • Liked — clean and convenient to subway
  • Disliked — not within short walking distance to someplace to eat
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.