We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Shell Rock, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Read other reviews before we booked this hotel and would have to agree. It doesn't look all that nice from the outside, but our room was very nice as was the lobby. Our room was very comfortable, king size bed, also had a fridge. There was free parking (unlike many hotels we found on line) and also had a free breakfast (cereal, bagels, fruit, and a variety of rolls, donuts and muffins), plus juice and coffee. We found the receptionists very friendly and helpful and also took advantage of the free shuttle. The metro was only a couple blocks away and a trolley tour we took picked up next door. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind words about our nice rooms and lobby, free amenities, and friendly, helpful staff, and are glad you also appreciated our convenient location and affordable rate. Guests like you have kept us in business for over 50 years through your patronage and recommendations, and we sincerely appreciate it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    439
    149
    39
    26
See reviews for
263
259
115
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Not the nicest place that I've stayed at, but it did the job. The place is older, and in need of some modernization - the room I stayed in was one that was not recently renovated. The wifi was spotty, working better in some parts of the room than others, the old square TV was out of date and had a fuzzy picture, the bathroom was not the cleanest, with water stains, paint chips, hairs and dead bugs (flies that came in through the improperly closed window) on the walls and ceilings, but the water pressure was good and the lighting was more than sufficient. The bed was comfortable and the room big and bright with minimal noise from outside, even with the highway beside my window, and most of the staff were friendly and pleasant, even when dealing with what seemed like a lot of unhappy customers whenever I walked through the lobby. The main thing that annoyed me here though was the distance from everything - if you drive, it's not an issue but if you don't, the subway was quite a walk in the heat through a very pedestrian unfriendly area as was the nearby mall - they claimed that a shuttle was available to both but was never available when I asked. Not sure if I would stay here again - the price was right, and the proximity to Reagan National Airport is hard to beat, but too many other things weren't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the price, comfortable bed, good water pressure, minimal noise, and friendly staff, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team.

While you did point out many positive aspects of your experience, we understand that you had some problems with your room, and we are working as a team to address the issues you mentioned. As to your main complaint about our location, we do apologize because it seems as though you were not given good directions. We are only one block from the Crystal City Metro and much of that walk is in air conditioned space. You just head out our driveway and take a left on the sidewalk, cross 15th Street at the crosswalk and take a left into the Marriott under which runs a tunnel to the subway station. As you mentioned, we do also have a free shuttle which departs the hotel every thirty minutes between 6am and 11am and is available on a first come first serve basis from 11am until 11pm. Generally, the shuttle is available within 15 minutes of our guests' requests, though occasionally traffic, weather, or many travelers going to different destinations can delay it a bit. We do apologize for the confusion there and hope you will have a better experience if you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was to be our first hotel out of a total of 9 we were to stay in in the following 3 weeks (we did a East Coast road trip). We arrived tired and had to wait for around 5 minutes before the female receptionist who was on the phone decided to acknowledge our existence. After chatting a bit more on the phone she then asked them to call back so she could deal with us. After minimal interaction with us we were given the key but no more information like where the room was or welcome etc! Still on a bit of a high from travelling we found our way to our room. The initial walk across an outside balcony was off putting but tried to keep smiling. I already knew the rooms were dated so it wasn't that much of a surprise on entry to the room. However, the musty smell was! A/C units are stuck in a hole in the wall so you can see daylight coming through the wall and I have never heard such noisy units. Also the carpet was all frayed by the front door, it just felt unloved.
My husband ventured out to find some information on where we could eat locally and by all accounts the guy on the desk at the time was very helpful and friendly. It kind of went down hill from there. I got the distinct impression most of the staff were not interested in being helpful or friendly. I asked one man a question about the metro, before he had finished answering my question he was walking away looking at his phone. Breakfast was bleak, the coffee was literally brown water that neither of us could drink. We went to the starbucks in the mall at Crystal city instead.
Such a shame as I really wanted to like this place and I thought I knew what we were letting ourselves in for. Dated decor and yukky coffee I can forgive but sadly rude staff is a no no for me. On the plus side, if you don't care about how people talk to you; the rooms were very clean, beds not bad and wifi worked

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, comfortable beds, great location, and free Wi-Fi. We do our best to offer a good value for Washington, D.C. area budget travelers and appreciate hearing that we are doing well toward that goal. Unfortunately, there were some negative aspects to your stay and for that we apologize. Most guests praise our friendly staff, which is very important to us, so we have reminded our entire team that their number one priority is to make our guests feel welcome--something they did not do appropriately for you. Regarding your room, it sounds as though you choose our basic room type which has not yet been renovated. We agree with you that the rooms are a bit worn and need refreshed, so we are working as hard as we can to get that done while also keeping our prices as affordable as possible. We do have deluxe double rooms which are available for just a little more money, and they all have new carpet, paint, trim, beds, and soft goods like bedding and drapery. We apologize if you were not aware of this option or if we had sold out of them for the dates you were staying.

We hope if you are in the area again, you would give us another try in one of our deluxe rooms and see if it suits you better. Most of our guests really enjoy them and still find them to be much more economical than the most basic options at other area hotels. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The other great reviews convinced me that this was the place to go and they were right on!
It was so clean and comfy. Staff made us feel so welcome and were so nice.
The location is great, didn't even use the shuttle to the metro as it was so close by.
We used the shuttle to take us to a restaurant one night and called them to come pick us up when we were ready to go back. Our driver was such a pleasant helpful man and can't believe what awesome service for such a low price....what a bargain!!
The only thing that wasn't great was the flimsy pillows but such a minor complaint for the great price, cleanliness and service offered here.
Just left yesterday and I miss the place already. Will definitely go back here for visiting the DC area to see all of the attractions that we didn't have time to see.

Room Tip: I don't know how you could go wrong with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We're so happy you did too! We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a glowing review. It warms our hearts to be appreciated by our guests just as we have appreciated them since 1963. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms; nice, welcoming staff; great location; valuable freebies like friendly shuttle service; and amazingly low price. We'll be sure to let our entire team know! Thank you also for mentioning the pillows; we'll be sure to remind housekeeping to check that all pillows are in good condition and to replace any that are starting to wear out.

We're glad to hear you'll be back and just want to extend our thanks again for recommending us to your friends and family and the entire TripAdvisor community!

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin Creek, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

You can see the hotel from the interstate its right off the exit very easy to find. The hotel is older but it has everything you need. It very clean the breakfast is donuts & cereal the hotel is 1 block from the metro and 2 blocks from the mall. The mall has several restaurants. Also the shuttle will take you to area restaurants. We will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and spending your valuable time writing a review! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location, clean rooms, and free shuttle, and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you're in the D.C. area!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is soo awesome the staff is great all of them from desk to house keeping to shuttle drivers. Place is old but spotless cleaner room then the last 4 star I stayed in. Close to everything great price. Defiantly recommend and will return

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're glad to hear we helped make your visit to Washington, D.C. a memorable one with our great staff, clean property, convenient location, and great price. Thanks also for saying we're awesome :-) It makes our day, and we'll pass along your compliments to our entire team. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and on TripAdvisor; we hope to see you again soon!

Happy Travels,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Room was clean and adequate. Metro right down road. Staff very nice & helpful. Both Quentin &Celeste I felt went above norm to be helpful with our event and with finding out way around. Shuttle service provided to airport and in area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let others know about your experience! We're happy to know you found us to be a great budget option for visiting D.C. and that you appreciated our clean rooms, convenient Metro location, helpful staff, and free shuttle service, and will pass along your compliments to our entire team, but especially to Quentin and Celeste. Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#18 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.