We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was to be our first hotel out of a total of 9 we were to stay in in the following 3 weeks (we did a East Coast road trip). We arrived tired and had to wait for around 5 minutes before the female receptionist who was on the phone decided to acknowledge our existence. After chatting a bit more on the phone she then asked them to call back so she could deal with us. After minimal interaction with us we were given the key but no more information like where the room was or welcome etc! Still on a bit of a high from travelling we found our way to our room. The initial walk across an outside balcony was off putting but tried to keep smiling. I already knew the rooms were dated so it wasn't that much of a surprise on entry to the room. However, the musty smell was! A/C units are stuck in a hole in the wall so you can see daylight coming through the wall and I have never heard such noisy units. Also the carpet was all frayed by the front door, it just felt unloved.
My husband ventured out to find some information on where we could eat locally and by all accounts the guy on the desk at the time was very helpful and friendly. It kind of went down hill from there. I got the distinct impression most of the staff were not interested in being helpful or friendly. I asked one man a question about the metro, before he had finished answering my question he was walking away looking at his phone. Breakfast was bleak, the coffee was literally brown water that neither of us could drink. We went to the starbucks in the mall at Crystal city instead.
Such a shame as I really wanted to like this place and I thought I knew what we were letting ourselves in for. Dated decor and yukky coffee I can forgive but sadly rude staff is a no no for me. On the plus side, if you don't care about how people talk to you; the rooms were very clean, beds not bad and wifi worked

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, comfortable beds, great location, and free Wi-Fi. We do our best to offer a good value for Washington, D.C. area budget travelers and appreciate hearing that we are doing well toward that goal. Unfortunately, there were some negative aspects to your stay and for that we apologize. Most guests praise our friendly staff, which is very important to us, so we have reminded our entire team that their number one priority is to make our guests feel welcome--something they did not do appropriately for you. Regarding your room, it sounds as though you choose our basic room type which has not yet been renovated. We agree with you that the rooms are a bit worn and need refreshed, so we are working as hard as we can to get that done while also keeping our prices as affordable as possible. We do have deluxe double rooms which are available for just a little more money, and they all have new carpet, paint, trim, beds, and soft goods like bedding and drapery. We apologize if you were not aware of this option or if we had sold out of them for the dates you were staying.

We hope if you are in the area again, you would give us another try in one of our deluxe rooms and see if it suits you better. Most of our guests really enjoy them and still find them to be much more economical than the most basic options at other area hotels. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    439
    150
    39
    26
See reviews for
264
259
115
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The other great reviews convinced me that this was the place to go and they were right on!
It was so clean and comfy. Staff made us feel so welcome and were so nice.
The location is great, didn't even use the shuttle to the metro as it was so close by.
We used the shuttle to take us to a restaurant one night and called them to come pick us up when we were ready to go back. Our driver was such a pleasant helpful man and can't believe what awesome service for such a low price....what a bargain!!
The only thing that wasn't great was the flimsy pillows but such a minor complaint for the great price, cleanliness and service offered here.
Just left yesterday and I miss the place already. Will definitely go back here for visiting the DC area to see all of the attractions that we didn't have time to see.

Room Tip: I don't know how you could go wrong with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We're so happy you did too! We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a glowing review. It warms our hearts to be appreciated by our guests just as we have appreciated them since 1963. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms; nice, welcoming staff; great location; valuable freebies like friendly shuttle service; and amazingly low price. We'll be sure to let our entire team know! Thank you also for mentioning the pillows; we'll be sure to remind housekeeping to check that all pillows are in good condition and to replace any that are starting to wear out.

We're glad to hear you'll be back and just want to extend our thanks again for recommending us to your friends and family and the entire TripAdvisor community!

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin Creek, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

You can see the hotel from the interstate its right off the exit very easy to find. The hotel is older but it has everything you need. It very clean the breakfast is donuts & cereal the hotel is 1 block from the metro and 2 blocks from the mall. The mall has several restaurants. Also the shuttle will take you to area restaurants. We will stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and spending your valuable time writing a review! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location, clean rooms, and free shuttle, and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you're in the D.C. area!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is soo awesome the staff is great all of them from desk to house keeping to shuttle drivers. Place is old but spotless cleaner room then the last 4 star I stayed in. Close to everything great price. Defiantly recommend and will return

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're glad to hear we helped make your visit to Washington, D.C. a memorable one with our great staff, clean property, convenient location, and great price. Thanks also for saying we're awesome :-) It makes our day, and we'll pass along your compliments to our entire team. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and on TripAdvisor; we hope to see you again soon!

Happy Travels,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Room was clean and adequate. Metro right down road. Staff very nice & helpful. Both Quentin &Celeste I felt went above norm to be helpful with our event and with finding out way around. Shuttle service provided to airport and in area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let others know about your experience! We're happy to know you found us to be a great budget option for visiting D.C. and that you appreciated our clean rooms, convenient Metro location, helpful staff, and free shuttle service, and will pass along your compliments to our entire team, but especially to Quentin and Celeste. Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

When we first pulled up I was a little leery. The place looked outdated and lacked adequate parking. In fact, the only real downfall that we found was the lack of handicapped services (no designated spots, no ramps, parking lot elevator locked after 6:30pm). Aside from that the hotel offered more than meets the eye. The room was very clean and comfortable. Usually we need extra pillows but not here....they were nice and fluffy! The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The ginseng soap was an especially nice touch. The location offers convenience to all DC and vicinity sights and attractions. Coffee in the room would be nice however, all in all, it was a very pleasant stay. Definitely a future consideration should we get back this way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a nice review. We're glad to hear we exceeded your expectations in terms of clean, comfortable rooms, accommodating staff, convenient location, and in-room amenities.

We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced regarding our handicap accessibility and in-room coffee. As an older property opened in 1963, we were unfortunately designed without many of the modern considerations that are so important for accommodating a wide variety of guests, including those with limited mobility, and for that we do apologize. We have handicapped parking spaces, but as you mentioned there are a limited number of them and if we are very busy, they can fill up. Our parking was also affected when the exit ramp replaced the front of our property with a large wall, so we just try to do the best we can with what we have and always appreciate ideas and suggestions from our guests. As to the in-room coffee maker, it is also, unfortunately, a casualty of our older property because we do not have the electrical capacity in the rooms to run them. As it is, we barely are able to run the in-room hairdryers and a retro-fit is astronomically expensive. We've tried to partially make up for this situation by always have fresh coffee service available in the lobby, but we do understand that not everyone wants to or is able to come down for it, and we do apologize for the inconvenience.

Despite these disadvantages, we hope that, overall, we were able to meet your needs and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I found this hotel online and booked right through their website. Traveling by car with a family of 5, we were looking for something nice and inexpensive. This hotel fit us perfectly. We were able to get a cot for our room for only $25 extra (one time fee-not daily). The whole week cost us under $600. We actually had an extra day for free that we sadly were unable to use.

One good tip from another reviewer was to bring a coffee maker. Although there is cold breakfast and coffee in the lobby every morning (easily saving us $50+ a day-even though it was cold breakfast), I like to drink coffee when I first wake.

The day time staff was friendlier than the evening staff, but they were not rude or anything.

We left our car in the parking lot (yes, the free parking lot) and took the Metro to DC every day. We bought the train pass ($10 with $8 credit loaded-saves $1 each trip by using). If you cut through the Marriott, it really reduces your walk time (and you pass Dunkin Donuts and Rite Aid).

Even though it is near the highway, because it is an old hotel, the noise was greatly reduced.

We stayed in room 408 and I have to say, the wifi connection there was spotty. We really were not in the room enough for it to matter. We were told that the balcony doors don't work (after we opened it and couldn't shut it-someone came and fixed it and we didn't touch it again). We were also very close to the laundry room (that's right, I didn't even have to take dirty clothes home with me).

There is a fridge in the room, which is fantastic. There is a Rite-Aid in the Metro (Crystal City) Mall that sells soda, beer and wine pretty cheap.

Breakfast includes, bagels, cream cheese, coffee, tea, instant oatmeal, 4 types of cereal, milk, orange juice, apple juice, donuts, muffins and fresh fruit (apples, oranges, bananas). We even took some fruit with for the trip into DC (they won't let you take it into the Capitol, but all other places were fine).

We also brought some filtered water bottles with.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, if I was going to DC.

When booking, I realized that this hotel didn't have a pool. Checking hotels with pools, I found that for the price, we didn't need a pool. We were so busy all day and tired at night, we didn't even miss it.

They also have a free shuttle to/from the airport, metro stations and 23rd street (restaurant row), but we walked everywhere.



This hotel was almost my best decision of the vacation.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, I think a room closer to the lobby would be best. We stayed on the highway side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our great rates, free breakfast, free parking, free shuttle, and comfortably furnished rooms, and we appreciate you pointing out all the ways we helped you save on your visit to Washington, D.C. Thank you also for pointing out some of the things we do not have and your decision making process on them; we're sure it will help other travelers decide whether or not we are the right place for them.

You mentioned the Wi-Fi in your room was a bit spotty and for that, we apologize. We've done our best to get the signal throughout the whole building, but retro-fitting an older property and having (as you noticed) thicker concrete walls has made it difficult. We're constantly working on it, however, so hopefully you'll have a better experience if you stay with us again. Regarding in-room coffee makers, again our older building works against us, and we unfortunately do not have enough electrical capacity to run them. Upgrading the system has thus far been exorbitantly expensive and wouldn't allow us to keep our affordable rates. We've tried to work around it by having coffee in the lobby at all times, but we do understand this isn't as convenient. Rest assured, however, we will continue to look into solutions for this problem and appreciate your understanding.

Thank you again for staying with us and having so many positive things to say about your visit. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#19 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#18 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.