We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
North Carolina
1 review
“Ok stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Is an older hotel, it was clean and had a limited continental breakfast, would like to have had some fresh fruit and hot cereal. There was a refrigerator in the room, iron and ironing board but no coffee pot or microwave.

The hotel staff was nice. The hotel was convienent to the tram and was well in within our limited budget.

  • Liked — Fit my budget and was close to the tram
  • Disliked — no microwave or coffee pot
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    317
    115
    33
    21
See reviews for
179
185
86
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gans, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

It is pretty much what the other reviewers have said. It is older but very clean. The staff were all very friendly and spoke good english. It was close to everything, I could see the Washington Monument from our room. The Metro was nearby and very convenient. They have a shuttle if you are not comfortable with the Metro, although we felt very safe on the metro. The room was good size. If I had a complaint it would be that the pipes are noisy in the morning when other guests are showering. Next time I will bring a noise maker to drown that out. It was nice and quite all night despite being next to the highway. For the price I would definitely stay there again. I also noticed alot of pilots checking in and out there, it is close to Reagan airport. I have one suggestion, book online from their website, it will save you quite alot!

  • Liked — It was conveniently located, clean and the price was right!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on a recent vacation to DC. The location is excellent. One block from the Metro and three blocks from a large shopping mall. Also many restaurants in the area.

The rooms are definitely outdated and the elevator was a little scary but our room was always clean and the staff was friendly. We had plenty of space in our room and everything worked fine. Since we only spent our time here sleeping it was perfect for us. We had full days of sightseeing so it was nice to have a short walk back from the Metro to crash at. The most unique thing is that they still have actual keys for the rooms. My husband loved that.

The breakfast was sufficient and the lobby was full most mornings we were there.

The price was great and the location was outstanding. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

The one best thing about the Americana is that it is very close to the Crystal City metro station, less than 5 minute walk. Otherwise, it is a hotel property that is in need of a remodel. Decor is very outdated. We had yellow and black ceramic tile from the 60's in bathroom, cold water did not work in sink and A/C heat unit appeared to be very abused. Hotel was reasonably quiet and neighborhood was o.k. No clocks in the rooms, very wierd.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed here for the MCM in Oct 2008. There are no surprises here, the website gives you all of the information that you need. While it is not the most modern of hotels it is clean and the people who work there are very friendly and accomodating. We made use of the free shuttle numerous times in going to dinner and even to the race start. It is close to everything and the price is nice. The only negative that I have is that you can hear people talking outside so it wasa little loud on Saturday night. Other than that it was ncie and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — proximity to everything, shuttle service
  • Disliked — could hear outside conversations
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

I have stayed at the Americana numerous times over the past 25 years. This is a safe, clean, convenient, friendly place to stay. Since I frequently travel alone (and am a now-middle aged woman), the safety and security factors are quite important to me. It's also quite reasonably priced, which is also important. There are certainly fancier places to stay with fancier price tags. The next time I go to the DC area (probably in about 6 months) I will be staying at the Americana again.

  • Liked — security, safety, convenience, price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed at the Americana for two nights in October. The hotel is older than a lot of the other hotels in the area (just my impression) but that kind of adds to the charm. The rooms are smaller than a lot of hotel chains but were comfortable and you really don't need any more. Most of all, it was SUPER CLEAN!! There was a decent sized fridge in the room as well. Make sure to bring your own shampoo and conditioner because I believe we only had one small bottle of shampoo for two people. The only other issue would be the air conditioner which can get pretty loud, especially on the higher fan selection.

Only one block to the Crystal City subway, within walking distance. About a 5 minute drive to the supermarket. Safe area and right off the highway. Make note that the entrance to the hotel is on South Eads street. We had an issue finding the exact entrance to the hotel off of the highway.

Enjoy your stay!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Price and Location
  • Disliked — Loud AC
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#21 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.