We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Dahlonega, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here last week for 5 nights and felt we had found a hidden gem. The hotel is older however it was clean and inviting. All of the staff we encountered were nice and helpful.
The hotel is a 5 min walk to 2 metro stations or you can take the shuttle they offer. I highly recommend this hotel if you want a clean no glamor place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    359
    127
    34
    21
See reviews for
216
212
98
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed for 8 days in Americana Hotel on Jefferson Davis Highway. Great free morning breakfast & rooms were very clean and comfortable. Check in manager was very nice and accommodating. We received awesome travel tips from courtesy driver "Juan" from Honduras!! Ask him anything, he will give you the best tips on the city. Overall 5 stars of 5! Highly recommended for location and the price.

Room Tip: Get room away from elevator, they have 2 rooms with the A/C's exhaust facing the elevator and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing Americana Hotel for your accommodation needs! We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms, nice and accommodating staff, convenient location, and great price. Thank you for mentioning how helpful Juan was during your stay. He's an invaluable part of our team, and we'll be sure to pass along your compliments. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAVANNAH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When we pulled up to the Americana I have to admit that I was a little skeptical when we pulled up, as the hotel is a little dated from the outside compared to its surroundings and there was a banner for signage. However, as soon as we walked in our surroundings were transformed. The lobby is very modern and the desk staff amazing! We did not book one of the "updated" rooms as we did not want to pay the extra expense. I am now curious as to what the updated rooms look like because our room was great and very modern. The bathroom was retro-ish with pink, gray, and white tile but still lovely. Breakfast is simple danish, cereal, toast, muffins, bagels, etc... it is included in the price and enough to get you going in the morning. The coffee was quite good. I have recommended this hotel to friends and family already and would stay here again without a second thought. In addition to the nicety of the hotel it is within walking distance of MANY shops and restaurants and 2 subway stops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad to hear we won you over once you made it inside and appreciate your kind words about our lobby, desk staff, breakfast, and even our vintage pink bathrooms! Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family; we wouldn't be here without recommendations and repeat guests and sincerely appreciate your support. Thanks again for staying with us and please visit again...maybe we'll have a special so you can try out a deluxe room next time :-)

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location next to DCA. Tiny bathroom and bed, but I was alone and quite pleased with my stay. The air conditioner was quite effective. I tried calling the front desk 3 times for a wake up call but no answer.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road seem to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your kind words about our great location, effective air conditioner, and overall pleasant stay, and will be sure to pass them along to our entire team. We do apologize for the trouble with the front desk not taking your wake up call and have alerted our staff to the problem. Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Americana hotel is clean, affordable, and is conveniently located near the metro. Pentagon city mall, the underground shops at crystal city, Reagan national airport, and the dc attractions are also very close. Make sure to bring a printout of your online reservation because when I checked in, they were going to charge me more. Other than this, my stay was splendid. Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly. Can't wait to stay at Americana again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and letting other travelers know about your experience! We're glad to here you enjoyed our clean, affordable, and conveniently located hotel as well as our free breakfast and friendly staff, and we hope these bring you back to us the next time you're in the D.C. area.

Regarding the price on your reservation, please accept our sincere apologies for the mix-up. Most of the time, technology is great and makes our jobs easier, but occasionally there are hiccups that cause problems. We regret that you experienced the latter but are glad you were able to show us the error and get it resolved. Thank you so much for your understanding!

All the best,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family of four stayed here this June while visiting Washington DC for tourism. We could not have been more pleased with our experience. The hotel and rooms are immaculate and well tended. Each day, a housekeeper thoroughly cleaned the room and provided us with ample towels. Our room had a fridge where we could keep snacks, adequate power outlets for a property of this age (enough to charge all our electronics every night), and excellent storage space for luggage and clothing. Breakfast starts early which is a boon for family with small, early rising children. It is a basic breakfast, but in a large and cheerful space. And it's good for filling you up before a long day of walking. The staff is friendly and gave us a ride in the shuttle to the metro on our first morning when we didn't know how to get there (it's two blocks away). We really could not say enough good things about this hotel for an affordable trip to DC. Friendly, pristine, FREE parking, wifi, and breakfast -- all for less than $100 a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words and amazing review! We are so glad to hear you appreciated our family friendly hotel near Washington, D.C., including our clean rooms, great rates, sufficient breakfast, and helpful staff. It is thanks to guests like you that we've been able to provide clean, comfortable, conveniently located, affordable, and friendly accommodations to Washington, D.C. area travelers for over 50 years, and we couldn't be more thankful! We'll be sure to pass along your praises to our entire team, especially our amazing housekeepers, and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the area.

Warmest regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were there the week of the 4th of July. The whole place is clean and neat. The room was comfy, the staff was very helpful, and the continental breakfast was adequate. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are accessible through inside hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're so glad to hear you found our property clean and comfortable, our staff friendly, and our free amenities adequate. We'll pass along your compliments to our entire team and hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
Your friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#25 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.