We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, affordable & reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“convenient, affordable & reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

this hotel is not one of the very fancy over the wall kind of places, but i've been there before & surprisingly was very pleased. it's clean & very friendly, we have a sis in the area so for the money a great place to sleep. it's so central to any thing you may want to do be it shopping, touring , eating, walking. kudos to this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, affordable rates, and reliable service, and appreciate you letting others know about us. We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting your sister!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    319
    118
    33
    21
See reviews for
183
188
87
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was clean and had a nice desk and appropriate desk chair with a conveniently located outlet for plugging in the laptop and the smartphone to get work done. WiFi was great. The thermostat was easy to use. Everything worked except the bedside lamps. The retro charm was appealingly cute but not overwhelmingly cheesy.

If you're coming from the airport, you can take the Blue Line Metro to Crystal City, walk through the mall most of the way, and then exit and cross under the Jefferson Davis Highway. This should only be done if you're fairly adventurous as business travelers go and don't mind seeing the homeless people sleeping under the overpass. For the rest of us: call for the hotel shuttle.

LOVED that the lobby did not have a TV! I hate it at other hotels when I'm trying to toast my bagel and CNN is blaring away.

This hotel was a great value. There's a 10% off special when you check-in on FourSquare for the first time and show them. (Do this before they ring you up.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you SO much for staying with us and for your awesome review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our retro charm, clean room, and great value, and appreciate you letting others know about it. We do apologize for the issue with the bedside lamps and hope we were able to resolve it. Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is actually located on Eads street, right next to Embassy Suites. That is the entrance you will have to take. It is actually at the rear of the hotel. Many years ago the Jeff Davis Highway entrance was closed off because of the construction along Route 1.Nonetheless, the hotel maintained its Jefferson Highway address.
I have stayed at this for the past 7-8 years for 3-4 months each year while on business and I can't say enough good things about my stays here. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, you won't
find it here. But in my opinion this hotel in the Washington, DC area is unbeatable because of the following factors:
1. very short walk to the METRO
2. clean and very affordable room prices, a top priority for me.
3. very courteous and pleasant hotel staff, from the owner to the desk staff, housekeeping staff and limo drivers
4. complimentary continental breakfast (bagels, fruit, cereal, doughnuts, orange and apple juice, tea and coffee) Coffee available 24/7. Front desk staff on duty 24/7.
5. complimentary shuttles to and from Reagan airport and to nearby restaurants
6. free parking
In my opinion you can't match this value anywhere. After all, the hotel has been owned and operated by the family for over 50 years. Also, as a side note, part of the movie "State of Play" with Ben Affleck and Russell Crowe was filmed in the hotel a few years back. The movie company was looking for a retro hotel and they found it in the Americana, staff.. My compliments go out to the entire staff..Great job and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a car, you can get a room at the end of the hall on any floor which is conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, Les! We always appreciate having you stay with us and can't thank you enough for taking the time to let others know about your stay. We couldn't agree more that we are the best hotel value in the Washington, D.C. area and are glad we continue to live up to your expectations year after year. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team and look forward to seeing you for years to come!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently helped move my son to DC. I had researched hotels closer to his apartment in DC and was discouraged by the rates of upwards of $200 per night with an additional $25-$35 to park the car. Determined to find a better solution I went across the river to Arlington where I stumbled across TripAdvisor's reviews of the Americana Hotel. What a find! If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not for you. But if you are looking for a comfortable and clean place, convenient to the Metro, at an incredible rate, look no further. We opted to stay in one of the deluxe rooms based on some of the reviews I had read that said that "deluxe" meant the room was more recently renovated (2012, I think.) The room was pleasing with an incredibly comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit retro with its older facilities (sink, tub, etc.) and its pink tiles but was squeaky clean which is most important to us. The water was also very hot and plentiful. In the morning they offered a very basic continental breakfast (included in your rate) of bagels, donuts, muffins and cereal with juice and coffee. Parking is included in your hotel rate and on the day you check out you can leave your car there until midnight which gives you an added day to sight-see, etc. using public transportation. All of this for $93 (deluxe king.) Less than half of what I would have paid across the river. The only minor complaint we have is that the wifi was not strong enough in our room and my husband went downstairs to the cafe area to access the internet more reliably. We would stay here again in a second. Friendly and helpful staff, too.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room for an additional $10 per night. Other reviewers claim they are more recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We can't thank you enough for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a LOVELY review! Your kind words make all the difference in the world to our entire team and we'll be sure to pass them along. We sincerely appreciate you letting others know of our clean hotel, convenient location, and most importantly, great value, and we hope to see you soon--perhaps a visit to your son is in order!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed for 7 days late Oct early Nov. I found the location to be everything others have said. Close to the metro so into Washington easily and quickly. Pentagon city fashion centre a large mall with lots of eating choices and Crystal city also lots of stores and eating choices. Typical motel type room and even though the bathroom is old school and reminds you of your childhood home, the room was well kept..stayed in deluxe queen room...and clean. Only used the shuttle once when it was raining and it was quick. Overall a great stay for such a reasonable price. If you have a vehicle it is only a short drive down Jefferson Davis to a Target or Walmart if you are price conscious.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us know you think we're an excellent budget hotel option! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location, retro charm, clean rooms, and reasonable price. Thank you also for giving a little extra information about our location and rooms to future travelers; we know it will help them! Thank you again, and we hope to see you whenever you're in the D.C. area!!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A bit hard to find. Their drive way is between Bank of America and Embassy Suites. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had free parking until midnight the day we checked out. Which allowed us to venture out to DC for the day. We opted to walk the 1/2 mile to the Pentagon City Metro stop (according to google maps, Crystal City Metro is 1/3 mile walk).

The carpet in our room needed a good cleaning.
The bathroom is very small.
Sheets were clean.
Small fridge in the room.
Continental breakfast was as expected.

Overall a good value considering proximity to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our friendly staff, convenient location, and good value. We apologize for the difficulty finding us; although the state took our entrance from Jefferson Davis Highway, we've never been issued a new address for our entrance on S. Eads St. and continue to look for solutions to help guests find us without trouble. Thank you also for letting us know about the carpet in your room; we usually do deep cleaning in the off season (November - February) and hope you will find it more satisfactory if you visit us again.

Thank you again for being our guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending workshops in Arlington at the Hyatt. Free shuttle service was available all day and all evening back and forth. Drivers were very accommodating. Breakfast was more than adequate and was available until late morning. Bed was very comfortable - room very clean. Some of the people at the front desk could have been a little friendlier. Overall, an excellent experience -- I would certainly stay there again. It was close enough to the busy area that we walked some times.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed our great value, clean rooms, free shuttle service, and comfortable beds, and hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#26 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.