We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed for 7 days late Oct early Nov. I found the location to be everything others have said. Close to the metro so into Washington easily and quickly. Pentagon city fashion centre a large mall with lots of eating choices and Crystal city also lots of stores and eating choices. Typical motel type room and even though the bathroom is old school and reminds you of your childhood home, the room was well kept..stayed in deluxe queen room...and clean. Only used the shuttle once when it was raining and it was quick. Overall a great stay for such a reasonable price. If you have a vehicle it is only a short drive down Jefferson Davis to a Target or Walmart if you are price conscious.

Room Tip: Spend the extra few bucks for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us know you think we're an excellent budget hotel option! We're glad to hear you appreciated our convenient location, retro charm, clean rooms, and reasonable price. Thank you also for giving a little extra information about our location and rooms to future travelers; we know it will help them! Thank you again, and we hope to see you whenever you're in the D.C. area!!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    324
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
193
192
90
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A bit hard to find. Their drive way is between Bank of America and Embassy Suites. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had free parking until midnight the day we checked out. Which allowed us to venture out to DC for the day. We opted to walk the 1/2 mile to the Pentagon City Metro stop (according to google maps, Crystal City Metro is 1/3 mile walk).

The carpet in our room needed a good cleaning.
The bathroom is very small.
Sheets were clean.
Small fridge in the room.
Continental breakfast was as expected.

Overall a good value considering proximity to DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated our friendly staff, convenient location, and good value. We apologize for the difficulty finding us; although the state took our entrance from Jefferson Davis Highway, we've never been issued a new address for our entrance on S. Eads St. and continue to look for solutions to help guests find us without trouble. Thank you also for letting us know about the carpet in your room; we usually do deep cleaning in the off season (November - February) and hope you will find it more satisfactory if you visit us again.

Thank you again for being our guest. We hope to see you again in the future!

Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel while attending workshops in Arlington at the Hyatt. Free shuttle service was available all day and all evening back and forth. Drivers were very accommodating. Breakfast was more than adequate and was available until late morning. Bed was very comfortable - room very clean. Some of the people at the front desk could have been a little friendlier. Overall, an excellent experience -- I would certainly stay there again. It was close enough to the busy area that we walked some times.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate it and are glad you enjoyed our great value, clean rooms, free shuttle service, and comfortable beds, and hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Americana is value for money. The hotel bill board says it’s a motel, but in no way we found it to be like a motel. We paid around $75 per day and we also got upgraded. The rooms were clean and were serviced everyday. Our emails were not replied to but as soon as I sent a message on their Facebook page, I got an immediate reply. So if you are in a hurry, make sure you send them a message on Facebook. The hotel also has a free shuttle service to go to nearby places. Since we don’t live in US, we had ordered some stuff from Amazon and it arrived in the hotel before we reached. Some hotels charge for accepting parcels, but Hotel Americana did it for free. The hotel is located just on the outskirts of DC and with only 3 metro stops we were in DC. The Pantagon City mall, the biggest mall in the DC area is just about 8-10mins walk from the hotel. The Crystal City metro station is around 5-7 mins walk and the Pantagon City metro is 8-10 mins walk. The free shuttle was there but we did not use it. The only downside we found were the toilet/bath which were small and outdated in our opinion. The breakfast was fruits, bagels, donuts, and the usual tea, coffee, juice and corn flakes and since we were staying there for 1 week we were bored of eating the same stuff everyday. I feel they can bring in some variety in the breakfast for the same price. Overall 5 stars for good price and good location.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor so i guess higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review! We're so glad to hear you appreciated our great value, accommodating staff, and convenient location, and thank you for your suggestions on how we can improve. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked the Americana due to location, price, and free parking! I came across a recommendation for this budget hotel by accident and I'm so glad I did. For $63/night, we received great service, a clean room, A/C, mini-fridge, wifi, free shuttle wherever we needed to go, and a continental breakfast.

Our room was small, but that didn't matter as we spent each of our 5 days out exploring Washington, D.C. The hotel is only a short walk from the Crystal City metro station, where there are also tons of restaurants. It's also a four or five block walk to the restaurants on 23rd Street (I was able to do this walk at 26 weeks pregnant).

If you're on a budget and don't mind the short commute into Washington, choose this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review! It makes our day to hear we were able to provide the right combination of service, cleanliness, free amenities, location, and price, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free coffee and cheap! If you are looking for the latest on fashion, stay elsewhere. If you want a clean room , near the Pentagon and downtown Washington, in the heart of Arlington and crystal city- stay here. Rooms for several nights cost les than a single day in nearby competitors and free parking and continental breakfast. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Has both stairs and elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience with us! We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, friendly staff, valuable amenities, and great rates, and can't wait to see you the next time you're in the area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

a wee bit difficult to find, but well worth the trip. rooms are large, clean. the furnishings are old ("vintage") but well maintained and functional. this is NOT the Ritz Carlton nor do rooms cost 400/night. the lobby staff were fabulous, very helpful and concerned for quality, polite and well informed. free shuttle service was also provided to local restaurants etc..
the breakfast in the lobby was quite impressive for such a small hotel. The parking was free- a big help in keeping costs down! bedding was comfy- not too hard or soft. Pillow good too. there were small fridges and TVs in each room and wifi avail if needed. quiet, clean safe and very very convenient for activities near the Pentagon. we will definitely book for Oct 2014!!!
overall an exceptional value-

Room Tip: no restaurant or bar, but lobby well stocked with breakfast items, coffee, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#13 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.