We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Americana is value for money. The hotel bill board says it’s a motel, but in no way we found it to be like a motel. We paid around $75 per day and we also got upgraded. The rooms were clean and were serviced everyday. Our emails were not replied to but as soon as I sent a message on their Facebook page, I got an immediate reply. So if you are in a hurry, make sure you send them a message on Facebook. The hotel also has a free shuttle service to go to nearby places. Since we don’t live in US, we had ordered some stuff from Amazon and it arrived in the hotel before we reached. Some hotels charge for accepting parcels, but Hotel Americana did it for free. The hotel is located just on the outskirts of DC and with only 3 metro stops we were in DC. The Pantagon City mall, the biggest mall in the DC area is just about 8-10mins walk from the hotel. The Crystal City metro station is around 5-7 mins walk and the Pantagon City metro is 8-10 mins walk. The free shuttle was there but we did not use it. The only downside we found were the toilet/bath which were small and outdated in our opinion. The breakfast was fruits, bagels, donuts, and the usual tea, coffee, juice and corn flakes and since we were staying there for 1 week we were bored of eating the same stuff everyday. I feel they can bring in some variety in the breakfast for the same price. Overall 5 stars for good price and good location.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor so i guess higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review! We're so glad to hear you appreciated our great value, accommodating staff, and convenient location, and thank you for your suggestions on how we can improve. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    293
    96
    31
    20
See reviews for
151
168
80
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked the Americana due to location, price, and free parking! I came across a recommendation for this budget hotel by accident and I'm so glad I did. For $63/night, we received great service, a clean room, A/C, mini-fridge, wifi, free shuttle wherever we needed to go, and a continental breakfast.

Our room was small, but that didn't matter as we spent each of our 5 days out exploring Washington, D.C. The hotel is only a short walk from the Crystal City metro station, where there are also tons of restaurants. It's also a four or five block walk to the restaurants on 23rd Street (I was able to do this walk at 26 weeks pregnant).

If you're on a budget and don't mind the short commute into Washington, choose this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your great review! It makes our day to hear we were able to provide the right combination of service, cleanliness, free amenities, location, and price, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff, free coffee and cheap! If you are looking for the latest on fashion, stay elsewhere. If you want a clean room , near the Pentagon and downtown Washington, in the heart of Arlington and crystal city- stay here. Rooms for several nights cost les than a single day in nearby competitors and free parking and continental breakfast. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Has both stairs and elevator access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to let other travelers know about your experience with us! We're glad to hear you appreciated our clean rooms, friendly staff, valuable amenities, and great rates, and can't wait to see you the next time you're in the area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

a wee bit difficult to find, but well worth the trip. rooms are large, clean. the furnishings are old ("vintage") but well maintained and functional. this is NOT the Ritz Carlton nor do rooms cost 400/night. the lobby staff were fabulous, very helpful and concerned for quality, polite and well informed. free shuttle service was also provided to local restaurants etc..
the breakfast in the lobby was quite impressive for such a small hotel. The parking was free- a big help in keeping costs down! bedding was comfy- not too hard or soft. Pillow good too. there were small fridges and TVs in each room and wifi avail if needed. quiet, clean safe and very very convenient for activities near the Pentagon. we will definitely book for Oct 2014!!!
overall an exceptional value-

Room Tip: no restaurant or bar, but lobby well stocked with breakfast items, coffee, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in hotel Americana during our visit to Washington, D.C. It is close to Crystal city metro. A great location. Pentagon City Metro and Pentagon Shopping mall both are close by. Ours was an early morning flight so we had written to them asking for an early check in. We were allowed to check in early and they also upgraded our room as the room we had booked was not available for early check-in. We stayed on the 2nd floor. The bed was super comfortable. Room was clean. Toilet is small but clean and we had no problem with that. Hot water is available all the time. Breakfast was good with quite a few options to choose from. Wifi was free and had excellent speed. They have a free shuttle which leaves every half hour. Staying in D.C can be very expensive so I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Going to D.C from Arlington was very easy, just few stops in the metro. This is the best deal I could ever get. Staff was also nice and helpful. Americana Hotel is value for money.
Just one suggestion to the Hotel guys. It would be nice if you can keep a clock in the rooms, I had to look for my cellphone to check the time. Rest all good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay while on our trip to dc. We found this place in a hotels.com book and had a coupon for 63 dollars a night now I know why they had rooms available on such short notice. The rooms are ok but very outdated. It was outside, the bathrooms are dated at about 1950 era, the beds are without fitted sheets, still had a 1990 TV set that was broken and had 47 channels the "heater" did not work. I didn't expect it to be perfect! You most definitely get what you pay for. The halls smell like mildew and the room smell musty and stale. The door has about a 2 inch gap between the door and the floor so with it getting colder we are without heat. There is an embassy right next door! Wish I would of looked a little further! Oh well thank god we are only sleeping in this room!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Yours is not a typical experience at our hotel, and we hope you'll accept our sincerest apologize for the discomfort you detailed. As you mention, we are an older property, built in 1963, and our bathrooms are original; many guests enjoy this retro charm, and we are sorry to hear you did not. Many of our rooms have been updated recently, but considering the dated furnishings you mentioned, it sounds like you chose our most budget-friendly option. Even our budget rooms, however, should be clean and comfortable, and we apologize that you did not find your room as such. We never purposefully rent a room with a broken TV or heater and hope you were able to let our front desk agent know so they could move you to a room in good working order.

Again, please accept our deepest apologies.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Washington, everything is so convenient, food, Metro train station, free car parking, breakfast, clean large rooms where everything works and all at a reasonable price.

What else can you ask for? Helpful staff? They have that too.

This is a second time here, we enjoyed our stay last time and just as much this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington
Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.