We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are not a "must to be pampered" one, there is no better hotel to stay when you visit DC. Location close to Crystal City and Pentagon City metro stations, the free shuttle around, the clean room, the consistent breakfast for a good day start, the free wi-fi, the fridge, the tv with plenty of programs, the spacious bathroom, the parking for free and the unbeatable price - all these make for sure the Americana hotel a super choice .

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and writing such a nice review! You hit the nail on the head when you said we are a super choice if you aren't looking for pampering. We try to offer the best value in the area in terms of clean rooms, friendly service, a convenient location, and great prices, and we're glad to hear we provided all of those to you. Thanks again for choosing us; we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    319
    117
    33
    21
See reviews for
182
188
87
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at this hotel with the family. It is in a great location for taking the metro into Washington DC. Also the hotel provides a free shuttle to the mall or metro and even to local restaurants. The hotel outside is dated and gives you a little doubt of what you may have booked but the rooms are very clean and the service is fantastic! The bathrooms are dated but they are very clean. This is by no means a five star hotel, however if you are looking for a safe, family friendly hotel close to Washington this is it. Free breakfast, WiFi and parking are also included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review! We love our repeat guests and always appreciate them letting us and others know of their positive experiences. It makes us very glad to hear that you found us to be a great value, clean, and conveniently located, and we'll let the rest of our team know.

Since we are always trying to improve, if you have the time and wouldn't mind, we'd love to hear from you how we can improve from an overall rating of 3 circles considering the individual area rankings of 5 circles (value, location, sleep quality, cleanliness, and service) and 4 circles (rooms). Your feedback will be sincerely appreciated!

We hope to see you again soon,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Washington D.C for our vacation this summer in early August and came across this hotel from another social website we are members on, Ballpark Chasers.com. My wife and I are Ballpark Chasers and enjoy travelling to a different city each year to see the city sites and go to a new MLB ballpark. Based on the recommendations of fellow chasers we discovered this hidden gem in Arlington. The Trip Advisor's reviews gave the Americana Hotel good reviews, so we felt comfortable making a reservation for 4 days. We checked out the website and liked the rates and the fact they had a shuttle service to the nearby Metro station and continental breakfast.
Upon check in, we were greeted by a friendly staff member who initially had trouble finding our reservation, but was eventually able to find it. When we booked our reservation we were given the 50th anniversary special and then when we were checking in there was a slight price discrepancy of an extra $20 per night. When I pointed this out there was no disagreement from the clerk and she simply reprinted the bill with the lower rate. We weren't upset, we were just glad we were aware of what we had reserved the room's rate at and on top of this. When we got into our room we were pleased with the size and the nice cold air conditioning that was on. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It even had the retro looking bathroom with the pink tiles. The bed was comfortable and there was a mini fridge which was handy for keeping our drinks cold.The only thing that we would have liked was if there was more than 2 pillows on the bed. The next morning I asked for an extra pillow and they were able to accommodate me with an extra pillow for the remainder of our stay. The other amenities like the wi-fi were great for checking our emails and the continental breakfast was a nice way to start off our day. One thing that did surprise us with the Americana Hotel was how close it is to the Metro. My wife is pregnant and our concern was if we got back late from the Nationals game too late and missed the time for the last shuttle pick up would we have to walk a long distance. Well, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the Metro was just a short walk down the street and made getting into Washington D.C easy for travelling. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Americana Hotel. We found for the price that we paid, that it was a great bargain for travelers wanting to visit Washington D.C. and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Friendly staff
clean room
free parking
free wi fi
free basic breakfast
5 minute walk to Metro
Fridge in the room made packing lunches easy.
For us, the dated look is part of the charm.
Great value for our family trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our many positive attributes. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of our team and hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent 5 nights here recently and we were delighted with our stay.
Does not look great from the outside, but once inside you wont be disappointed.
Our room on the second floor was big, clean and the bed very comfortable, while the decor in the bathroom was outdated everything worked perfectly.
Breakfast was self-service in the lobby and consisted of bagels, muffins, cereals, fruit, tea, coffee and juices and was more than adequate to start the day.
Friendly staff all round and free parking which is a big plus.
Plenty of shopping/eating/drinking in Crystal City and Pentagon City very close by as is the nearest Metro station and the area is safe. If you are looking for a decent, good value place to stay in DC, this is the hotel for you. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
What a lovely review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us the perfect place to spend some time near Washington, D.C. We appreciate you taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Americana Hotel for the second time. This year we only had one night there because we were taking an early morning flight out of Reagan Airport. Both times we've stayed there we were very pleased with the hotel. Admittedly, it isn't much to look at from the outside and the lobby and its furnishings will transport you instantly back to the stylish '70s ;-); but the price is great, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable. In fact, the bed and linens in our room were excellent, and we had a great night's sleep. Now this isn't necessarily a place you would want to book for a honeymoon or other extra-special occasion; but if you want a comfortable, clean, reasonably-priced hotel close to everything, this is the place for you. For what it is, it's a great great value. We will definitely stay there again. Also, the Paramount Café is a very short walk from the hotel and they make great sandwiches. There are a number of other restaurants within easy walking distance as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and spending your precious time writing a review of your experience. It warms our hearts to know our guests appreciate the great value we offer and enjoy staying with us. We'll be sure to let the rest of the team know, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Cheers,
Yours Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is an amazing value that is truly worth experiencing. I have stayed next door at the Embassy Suites and have paid three times what I paid at the Americana. First of, do not expect to stay at a five star hotel, if that is what you want then do not stay here. But for the $69 I paid a night this place was awesome. Room was small but it was clean, I stayed in Room 232. It was quiet. The bathroom was also small but it was clean and the hot water was always on. There was a television with cable service and there is FREE PARKING. Hotel is a five minute walk from the Metro. Staff is friendly and helpful. Free breakfast with delicious donuts, bagels, muffins, cereals, coffee, OJ and fruits. I stayed two nights and paid half of what it would cost me to stay at some of the other nearby hotels. I forgot to mention that the room has a single unit AC and it was so cold that I had to turn it off to sleep--so if you like cold AC then that will not be a problem. I love a bargain better than having bells and whistles at the hotel I stay in. This place is one of the best bargains I have ever found and I plan to return there when I come back to DC. I highly recommend this place if you are a solo traveler because I had an awesome experience as one and loved my stay here and the price I paid!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much! We're really glad to hear you found us to be an excellent value and an awesome experience, and we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review so that other travelers know what to expect. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you again should you be in our neck of the words in the future!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
Suites, Free in...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#39 of 47 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#21 of 47 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pentagon Hotel - Reagan Airport
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.