We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain near all of the attractions in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A bargain near all of the attractions in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We paid just $63 plus tax for a room with two double beds and a mini fridge. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom was clean. We brought an inflatable bed for a child and the hotel not only provided sheets, pillows and a blanket, but also made the bed everyday. Breakfast is included... donuts, muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit and juices. Minimal, but better than spending a lot of time and money at a restaurant. The location is excellent- just a 7 minute walk to Crystal City metro which will get you everywhere in DC. Van transportation is friendly and convenient for Reagan airport and metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a lovely review! We're glad to hear you appreciated our great value, clean rooms, helpful staff, convenient location, and free amenities, and we'll certainly pass along your compliments to our entire team. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area.

Thank you again!
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    325
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
193
194
91
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Americana for a three night Washington break and we loved it. It ticked all our basic boxes - clean, comfortable and quiet (although that may well depend on what floor you're on. We only saw one other guest on the 4th floor where our room was for our entire stay!) The free parking and breakfast were an added bonus. The area is perfect for getting into the city easily whilst having restaurants nearby for the evening. Admittedly, it's not the most up-to-date hotel, but the quirkiness is part of its charm. If you want pristine, there are a handful of cookie-cutter hotels right next door that will look the same as any other hotel from that chain across the whole of America. The Americana is fun and a bit different and the fact that it was also very reasonably priced helped considerably!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review to let others know of your experience! We're glad you enjoyed our clean rooms, free amenities, reasonable price, and of course, quirky charm, and we'll be sure to let the rest of our team know. Thank you also for pointing out that we may not be the right fit for someone wanting a new, modern hotel, but could be just right for someone wanting a unique place to stay--we couldn't agree with you more! We hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area.

Thanks again!
Your Friends at Americana hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at the Americana in March. There were some definite pros and cons to this hotel:

Pros: Location! It's a block away from the subway, within walking distance to several places to eat, and a mall. The location felt like a safe area as well. It is right by the highway but the traffic noises didn't bother us at all. Another pro was the price. By far this was the cheapest rate we found in all of D.C. or the surrounding areas. Since we had planned on sight seeing all day, we didn't need a fancy hotel. They also have a free continental breakfast which helped out budget a little bit as well.

Cons: This is a "no frills" hotel. Don't expect all the amenities that the larger hotels have. It's an older hotel, and while I think they're trying to do some updating, some it's still pretty shabby in some areas. When we checked in our room smelled heavily of smoke. And it wasn't fresh. I could tell the room had been used as a smoking room for some time. When I told the front desk about it she gave me a can of Lysol. I told her that the Lysol wouldn't work it reeked of smoke. She then said that all the other rooms were booked. So I told her I could not stay in the room as my child has asthma and it can be very bad for him. She then looked at her computer and gave us another room. This room didn't smell of smoke at all. Both rooms were very shabby with shag carpet, dents and dings to the furniture, old bedspreads, and other cosmetic problems that were very noticeable. The room was not nice by any means-in fact I would say it's the shabbiest looking room we've ever stayed in. However-it was clean and safe and that's all that mattered to us. We just needed a place to sleep.

Another con was the desk staff. One woman who worked there was very rude to my husband several times when he simply asked for change or asked for information about the subway. She gave him the incorrect amount of change (shorting him $2) and then acted put out when he told her that she shorted him. This same lady was always on her cell phone any time we came in or out of the building. It was not very professional.

We were told there was one washer and dryer (I don't know if that was true as the above lady told us that) and when we needed to do laundry we had to wait our turn for the laundry room key. With several families staying here, you can see how it would be a hassle to wash laundry with only one washer and dryer.

Basically I think it's a decent choice if you reserve the hotel with the understanding that it's a budget hotel. If you simply need a place to sleep, it's a good choice. Just don't set your expectations too high.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the better rooms-the standard are extremely outdated and open from exterior do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your kind words about our great location, amazingly low price, and valuable free amenities, and we will pass them along to our entire team. Unfortunately, we also let you down by not remedying immediately the problem with the first room you were assigned and being rude, and we sincerely apologize for this. We have addressed these failures with our team and hope that you would not experience them again should you choose to stay with us on a future visit.

Regarding the rooms, we are sorry they are the shabbiest you have ever seen. We've spent hundreds of thousands of dollars updating them over the last couple years (with new mattresses and boxsprings, new flat screen tvs, new linens, new draperies, new carpet, new paint, new trim, etc.) while trying to keep our prices well below anything else you will find in the area, and we apologize if they were unsuitable to you. We've tried to very clearly and honestly lay out what we have to offer as well as the differences in our standard and deluxe rooms, and we apologize if it was unclear to you that the standard rooms are among the most basic, traditionally decorated rooms you will find in any roadside hotel. We do, however, think you would be hard pressed to find another hotel in our area for the $63 our standard rooms are going for this year or the very reasonable $83 you might have paid for a deluxe room, but we do understand that everyone's expectations are different and again apologize if we did not meet yours.

As to the laundry, we do have only the one laundry room, and it does not get used very often. We apologize that you had to wait and have instructed our staff to let guests know of the local dry cleaners and laundromats available should such an uncommon amount of guests again need to use the facilities at the same time.

Thank you again for staying with us and letting others know that we are a good budget hotel in such an expensive area.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When traveling, I'm always looking for a balance between price and comfort. This place has a lot to recommend it at an inexpensive price and we enjoyed our stay here. Our room with a king size bed was roomy with a nice new TV and 'fridge. Bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. We ate breakfast in the lobby area which, while very basic, was good enough to get us out the door. We utilized the van service from the airport which is a wonderful service. Getting to the metro the first time is a little tricky; one does actually walk through the nearby Marriott hotel to get there. We enjoyed the free wifi and had no problems with the price and/or billing procedure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad to hear you appreciated the value we offer and happy to hear you had no real complaints. If there's anything we could do to go from an "average" budget hotel property to a "very good" or "excellent" one, we'd love to hear it. Thank you again for your patronage, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area!

Warm Regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Quick summary
+ Cheap, close to DC, friendly staff, free: parking, breakfast, wifi
- Smelly, near highway, little noisy, poor bathroom, missing some "standard" room items

My family of 4 stayed here for a weekend in July 2013. The location and price are excellent for visiting DC. The area seemed pretty safe and there are many restaurants and the Metro nearby. A trip on the Metro will cost you $5.50 per person round trip. Because of that, we opted to drive in and park (cost $11 by the Air & Space Museum) - less than a 10 minute drive. On Sunday we parked on Ohio SW for free and walked to the monuments.

Now for the hotel/room... the hotel is really a hotel/motel. Some rooms have interior hallways, some don't. We stayed in a deluxe double, which means a normal double except it has newer carpets, newer bedding, a fresh coat of paint and a flat screen TV. The rest of the room is furnished with obviously worn furniture (chipped dressers & desk, torn seats).

The bathroom had ants and very strangely, a window to the outside hallway? As I I stood waiting for the elevator 1 morning I could clearly make out my wife in the bathroom. The window is frosted so details are blurred but it is still bizarre. No way to cover the window, by the way. If you are over 5'8" or so, don't plan on standing directly under the shower head without crouching. Water pressure and temp were good. Bathroom is obviously dated. If you have lots of things you normally place on a vanity sink, you can forget it here.

Our room faced the highway. And when I say faced, I mean, I could clearly see into people's cars. The room does a pretty good job of blocking the outside noise, although there was a big accident 1 night so we could hear honking and emergency sirens. There is also a small "deck" outside the window. I'm not sure if you're even supposed to go out there as there is a pole keeping the slider closed. All of the decks are connected, so that seemed a little weird.

The room does not have a clock nor does it have a luggage rack. Had a hair dryer, mini-fridge and iron board. Beds were comfortable enough and bedding seemed clean. The air conditioner in the room worked well but it is very noisy (although it's white noise and it helps block outside noise, actually).

The hallways smell horrible. Basically, like warm, wet garbage. This is probably because they have large trash cans scattered here and there that must never be cleaned. Elevator is old, but not as slow as some reviewers make it seem.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly as was the shuttle driver. The breakfast choices were decent - plenty of Dunkin Donuts, bagels w fixins, fruit, cereal, coffee, apple & I think orange juice, and milk.

Parking was ample and convenient. No pool or fitness center, in case you didn't know that already.

I read reviews before I went so I knew this was NOT a 5-star hotel. It is half the price or better than nearly every other hotel in the DC area and it was convenient to the attractions. They could definitely do a few things to improve the quality of the hotel.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, this might work for you. Read the reviews and go with even lower expectations. It was good enough for us to stick it out, but if I returned to DC, I'd probably splurge a little more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: I assume rooms not facing the highway would be quieter. Deluxe rooms at least give the illusion of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Americana. We reserved our room online and confirmed our stay and the price online. When we arrived and checked in the price had changed to a higher amount. We told them that we were quoted a certain price and reserved that price online. We had the copy with us. The clerk stated that the "taxes" had changed and this is why the price was higher. We told her we wanted to speak with the manager who of course was not there but we were told that she would be there the next morning. We were given our room key (we asked for a 1st floor room) and was given a 3rd floor room. So off we went to our room, put the key in the door and guess what someone was in the room already! TV was on, beds were pulled back and towels were used so off we went back down to the office. What?? she said,, someone is in the room?? She had no clue. Anyway, we did end up getting a 1st floor room and the next morning we came down to speak with the manager but she was not in yet and when we asked when she would be there the clerk said she has no clue that the manager is not answering her text. Well, this new clerk checked and said the same that the taxes had gone up so the price has changed. The thing is that since we were quoted a certain price and it was confirmed we feel that price should stay. Americana should lower the price of the room to hold true to what was quoted. We enjoyed DC as we always do but seriously some improvement needs to be done at Americana! Oh, and the day old donuts do not work along with the cereal being out. :-/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the problem with the taxes, but the Commonwealth of Virginia changed the Retail Sales and Use Tax to 6% and the Transient Occupancy Tax to 7% for a total of 13% tax as opposed to the 10% tax rate in effect when you booked. We checked with the Department of Taxation, and they confirmed that for goods/services delivered (consumed) on or after July 1, 2013, the new tax rate must be collected. We completely understand how you feel and wish we didn't have to collect it, but it is a law we must follow if we are to continue doing business. Also, if we were to discount every reservation we've already taken by the 3%, we would be losing a lot of money on something that we have absolutely no control over and that doesn't seem fair either. It's just one of those situations where there is no good side, and we apologize for the disappointment it caused you. Our recommendation is to contact the Virginia representatives who passed the law and let them know how much you dislike it.

Unfortunately, you experienced other problems which were probably exacerbated by the disappointment of the tax rate, but which were, undeniably, our fault. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and apologize that we did not do that in your case. We try to honor special requests as much as possible, but sometimes it is difficult when we are full. Regardless, we're glad you ended up on the first floor, but we should have done a better job of getting you there the first time and not giving you a room that was not ready. In regards to the donuts, we have them delivered fresh every day and will contact our vendor to be sure they are giving us new products only. We have also reminded our entire front desk staff to keep an eye on the breakfast so that it doesn't run low, and we encourage anyone staying with us to request refills if necessary.

We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay and give us another try the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area.

Warmest Regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice clean motel if you just want to stay to sleep and shower. We were lucky and got their $63 anniversary price for a double room. The breakfast was fine; pastries, cereal, orange juice, coffee, banana or apple. Receptionists and shuttle drivers are very helpful. Our rooms were nice, with comfortable beds and also had a mini-fridge. The micro-wave in the kitchen near the lobby was also available for use.The Americana is one block from the Marriot hotel, where you can enter to the underground Crystal City shops and the Metro.
After a hot day visiting DC, I found it very convenient to go next door to the Embassy Suites and relax in their bar with a nice cold drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for your kind words! We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room that is conveniently located and reasonably priced and are glad to hear you found that with us. We'll be sure to let the rest of the team know you found them helpful, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.