We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh... there's pluses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Meh... there's pluses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Quick summary
+ Cheap, close to DC, friendly staff, free: parking, breakfast, wifi
- Smelly, near highway, little noisy, poor bathroom, missing some "standard" room items

My family of 4 stayed here for a weekend in July 2013. The location and price are excellent for visiting DC. The area seemed pretty safe and there are many restaurants and the Metro nearby. A trip on the Metro will cost you $5.50 per person round trip. Because of that, we opted to drive in and park (cost $11 by the Air & Space Museum) - less than a 10 minute drive. On Sunday we parked on Ohio SW for free and walked to the monuments.

Now for the hotel/room... the hotel is really a hotel/motel. Some rooms have interior hallways, some don't. We stayed in a deluxe double, which means a normal double except it has newer carpets, newer bedding, a fresh coat of paint and a flat screen TV. The rest of the room is furnished with obviously worn furniture (chipped dressers & desk, torn seats).

The bathroom had ants and very strangely, a window to the outside hallway? As I I stood waiting for the elevator 1 morning I could clearly make out my wife in the bathroom. The window is frosted so details are blurred but it is still bizarre. No way to cover the window, by the way. If you are over 5'8" or so, don't plan on standing directly under the shower head without crouching. Water pressure and temp were good. Bathroom is obviously dated. If you have lots of things you normally place on a vanity sink, you can forget it here.

Our room faced the highway. And when I say faced, I mean, I could clearly see into people's cars. The room does a pretty good job of blocking the outside noise, although there was a big accident 1 night so we could hear honking and emergency sirens. There is also a small "deck" outside the window. I'm not sure if you're even supposed to go out there as there is a pole keeping the slider closed. All of the decks are connected, so that seemed a little weird.

The room does not have a clock nor does it have a luggage rack. Had a hair dryer, mini-fridge and iron board. Beds were comfortable enough and bedding seemed clean. The air conditioner in the room worked well but it is very noisy (although it's white noise and it helps block outside noise, actually).

The hallways smell horrible. Basically, like warm, wet garbage. This is probably because they have large trash cans scattered here and there that must never be cleaned. Elevator is old, but not as slow as some reviewers make it seem.

Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly as was the shuttle driver. The breakfast choices were decent - plenty of Dunkin Donuts, bagels w fixins, fruit, cereal, coffee, apple & I think orange juice, and milk.

Parking was ample and convenient. No pool or fitness center, in case you didn't know that already.

I read reviews before I went so I knew this was NOT a 5-star hotel. It is half the price or better than nearly every other hotel in the DC area and it was convenient to the attractions. They could definitely do a few things to improve the quality of the hotel.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay, this might work for you. Read the reviews and go with even lower expectations. It was good enough for us to stick it out, but if I returned to DC, I'd probably splurge a little more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: I assume rooms not facing the highway would be quieter. Deluxe rooms at least give the illusion of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    319
    118
    33
    21
See reviews for
183
188
87
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Americana. We reserved our room online and confirmed our stay and the price online. When we arrived and checked in the price had changed to a higher amount. We told them that we were quoted a certain price and reserved that price online. We had the copy with us. The clerk stated that the "taxes" had changed and this is why the price was higher. We told her we wanted to speak with the manager who of course was not there but we were told that she would be there the next morning. We were given our room key (we asked for a 1st floor room) and was given a 3rd floor room. So off we went to our room, put the key in the door and guess what someone was in the room already! TV was on, beds were pulled back and towels were used so off we went back down to the office. What?? she said,, someone is in the room?? She had no clue. Anyway, we did end up getting a 1st floor room and the next morning we came down to speak with the manager but she was not in yet and when we asked when she would be there the clerk said she has no clue that the manager is not answering her text. Well, this new clerk checked and said the same that the taxes had gone up so the price has changed. The thing is that since we were quoted a certain price and it was confirmed we feel that price should stay. Americana should lower the price of the room to hold true to what was quoted. We enjoyed DC as we always do but seriously some improvement needs to be done at Americana! Oh, and the day old donuts do not work along with the cereal being out. :-/

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the problem with the taxes, but the Commonwealth of Virginia changed the Retail Sales and Use Tax to 6% and the Transient Occupancy Tax to 7% for a total of 13% tax as opposed to the 10% tax rate in effect when you booked. We checked with the Department of Taxation, and they confirmed that for goods/services delivered (consumed) on or after July 1, 2013, the new tax rate must be collected. We completely understand how you feel and wish we didn't have to collect it, but it is a law we must follow if we are to continue doing business. Also, if we were to discount every reservation we've already taken by the 3%, we would be losing a lot of money on something that we have absolutely no control over and that doesn't seem fair either. It's just one of those situations where there is no good side, and we apologize for the disappointment it caused you. Our recommendation is to contact the Virginia representatives who passed the law and let them know how much you dislike it.

Unfortunately, you experienced other problems which were probably exacerbated by the disappointment of the tax rate, but which were, undeniably, our fault. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and apologize that we did not do that in your case. We try to honor special requests as much as possible, but sometimes it is difficult when we are full. Regardless, we're glad you ended up on the first floor, but we should have done a better job of getting you there the first time and not giving you a room that was not ready. In regards to the donuts, we have them delivered fresh every day and will contact our vendor to be sure they are giving us new products only. We have also reminded our entire front desk staff to keep an eye on the breakfast so that it doesn't run low, and we encourage anyone staying with us to request refills if necessary.

We hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay and give us another try the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area.

Warmest Regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice clean motel if you just want to stay to sleep and shower. We were lucky and got their $63 anniversary price for a double room. The breakfast was fine; pastries, cereal, orange juice, coffee, banana or apple. Receptionists and shuttle drivers are very helpful. Our rooms were nice, with comfortable beds and also had a mini-fridge. The micro-wave in the kitchen near the lobby was also available for use.The Americana is one block from the Marriot hotel, where you can enter to the underground Crystal City shops and the Metro.
After a hot day visiting DC, I found it very convenient to go next door to the Embassy Suites and relax in their bar with a nice cold drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for your kind words! We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room that is conveniently located and reasonably priced and are glad to hear you found that with us. We'll be sure to let the rest of the team know you found them helpful, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a very affordable and clean option for travelers with a budget. Dont expect a modern well looking hotel, the structure is of a 50 years old building. The reception area is nice and clean, the staff is nice amd helpful. Location!!!! the location is probably the most important thing about this hotel, its located in Crystal City which is a very nice area and the hotel is only one block from the metro station that will take you to the center of DC in less than 20 minutes. for those who comes by car theres a fre parking, rooms are clean, roomy and very confy. Theres free Wify and Free continental breakfast,,, i almost forget, they offer free shuttle to DCA airport. I will come back to Dc in december amd i will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and writing such a wonderful review! We sincerely appreciate you pointing out the affordability, cleanliness, and convenience of our hotel as well as the friendliness of our staff, and will be sure to pass along your kind words to our entire team. We look forward to seeing you again in December and hope we'll always be your first choice for Washington, D.C. accommodations!

Best Regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOL, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Things started off badly with our trying to get to the hotel from Arlington Cemetery. Apparently although the address is Jefferson Davis Highway, there was a ramp put in so S. Eads St. came into play instead. (I had updated my GPS day before we left, so I don't know why this occurred)
Anyway, a wonderful bus driver saw us looking lost and came to our aid with good directions.

Got to the hotel and as others wrote, it was not pretty outside, it is in a safe area w/lots of high rises and near other expensive hotels. Has a free, fast shuttle to nearby restaurants and shopping (not to monuments, etc). Plenty of parking, both covered and uncovered.

Lobby was nice, service friendly, but it is an old hotel. Room was immaculate and had all the necessities including desk, good wifi, lcd tv, refrigerator and 2 extra padded chairs. Bed and pillows were clean and comfortable. Bathroom old, but spotless. Could have provided more, softer towels.

I always check out hotels thoroughly before booking and was glad I checked this one out on TA. It was a great bargain....No need to pay the high DC prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're sorry to hear it was difficult to find us; as you mentioned, a road was built across the front of our property forcing us to access the hotel from the back, and we've never been issued a new address. Despite this trouble, we're so glad you enjoyed our convenient location, parking, lobby, friendly service, super clean rooms, and of course, great bargain! We work tirelessly for guests like you who appreciate a good value and hope you'll stay with us in the future. Thanks again for the SUPER NICE REVIEW!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If I had to be in DC a lot this would be an inexpensive place to stay. Our room was clean, no hotel smell and the bed was comfortable.. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was very nice and the drivers friendly and helpful,they knew a lot about the Crystal City area.Our room had a lot of furniture in it desks,tables, dressers that made for a very crowded room, and the bathroom door didn't close.This building is an old 50's style, so slow elevator and no wheel chair ramps. We didn't like the hot hallways, it was almost sicking. This is no Embassy Suites so for the price it was good. If you need a cheap place to stay this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed the clean rooms, comfortable beds, inexpensive rates, and free amenities. We do apologize for the areas where you were not as pleased and sincerely appreciate you letting people know that if they are interested in staying at a new, modern hotel, we are not the best option, but if they are looking for a great price, we fit the ticket!

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Americana makes a trip to Washington D.C. affordable. If you just want a clean place to sleep and shower, this is the perfect place. The perks of free parking, free breakfast, and free wifi are unheard of in this area. Surrounding hotels charge upwards of $20 a day for parking. Being able to save money on accommodations leaves more money for shopping, dining, and sightseeing in D.C. The hotel is in a clean area and access to the metro is super easy. Just walk to the Marriott and cut through the Crystal City shops and this will put you right at the metro. Breakfast was great with fresh Dunkin Donuts every morning.

Room Tip: Use the foursquare check in to get extra 10% off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for staying with us and taking the time to write such a kind review! We're glad to hear you found us an affordable option for Washington, D.C. and sincerely appreciate you pointing out all the freebies we have that most other hotels in the area do not offer to their guests. We're here for the budget traveler so it really makes our day when one of our guests lets us know we met the mark. Thank you again for letting others know about us, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.