We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly People,So So Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly People,So So Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If I had to be in DC a lot this would be an inexpensive place to stay. Our room was clean, no hotel smell and the bed was comfortable.. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was very nice and the drivers friendly and helpful,they knew a lot about the Crystal City area.Our room had a lot of furniture in it desks,tables, dressers that made for a very crowded room, and the bathroom door didn't close.This building is an old 50's style, so slow elevator and no wheel chair ramps. We didn't like the hot hallways, it was almost sicking. This is no Embassy Suites so for the price it was good. If you need a cheap place to stay this would be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad you enjoyed the clean rooms, comfortable beds, inexpensive rates, and free amenities. We do apologize for the areas where you were not as pleased and sincerely appreciate you letting people know that if they are interested in staying at a new, modern hotel, we are not the best option, but if they are looking for a great price, we fit the ticket!

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    348
    126
    33
    21
See reviews for
209
208
96
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Americana makes a trip to Washington D.C. affordable. If you just want a clean place to sleep and shower, this is the perfect place. The perks of free parking, free breakfast, and free wifi are unheard of in this area. Surrounding hotels charge upwards of $20 a day for parking. Being able to save money on accommodations leaves more money for shopping, dining, and sightseeing in D.C. The hotel is in a clean area and access to the metro is super easy. Just walk to the Marriott and cut through the Crystal City shops and this will put you right at the metro. Breakfast was great with fresh Dunkin Donuts every morning.

Room Tip: Use the foursquare check in to get extra 10% off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you SO MUCH for staying with us and taking the time to write such a kind review! We're glad to hear you found us an affordable option for Washington, D.C. and sincerely appreciate you pointing out all the freebies we have that most other hotels in the area do not offer to their guests. We're here for the budget traveler so it really makes our day when one of our guests lets us know we met the mark. Thank you again for letting others know about us, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was in Arlington for a conferece, and I've stayed 5 nights at the Americana hotel. It offered affordable rooms with good breakfast included. The room was big and clean with all the facilities I hope I'd get except for coffee maker. The Internet connection beacme slow occasionaly, and I suspect that it depends on the room location. The hotel provides shuttle service for places near by and it's also located 6-7 minutes walk from the subway track.
Overall, this hotel gives a great value for your money, considering the other alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are glad you stayed with us and happy to hear you appreciated our affordable rooms, free breakfast & shuttle, and great location. We apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the Internet: being a free service, we can only provide so much bandwidth, and it does get bogged down occasionally, so we appreciate your understanding. Thanks again for such a positive recommendation--we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Let me start by saying, if you book expecting the Sheraton, you're going to be disappointed. This little retro, 5 story hotel is really more of a motel ... but ... and this is HUGE ... what a value!!! The prices are very reasonable.

The good: The people are super D duper nice, and helpful. The shuttle runs pretty quickly, and service is available from / to the airport, which is maybe a mile away. The beds are comfy. It is CLEAN. It is safe. I was not the least uncomfortable at any time, and we walked back at night from about 4 blocks away. The rooms are pretty standard sized. The maid service is outstanding. There was a mini refrigerator in the room.

The location could not be more convenient to all the sights in DC. There are two metro rail stations close by - one within walking distance and the other, the shuttle will take you to. Both stations have a shopping mall. Pentagon City mall has plenty of food choices, and the metro is right there. Crystal City mall has some descent food choices as well, with some cute, more specialized shops. Before you buy t-shirts, and stuff to take home, check the mall and the vendors outside the mall ... get it cheaper!!!

I personally love it that it is family owned, and that a lot of the folks that work there have been there a LONG time. That says a lot about the ownership. They really care about the property and people who work there. Very appropriate for our Nation's Capitol! I hope that doesn't change.

Let me get everything that a person could nit pick out of the way ... The breakfast is basic. Don't expect health food. Donuts (but yummy ones that I think are from Dunkin Donuts), bagels, cereal, oatmeal, apples, bananas ... that's about it. Food does just about run out the later you go down. I think it's from 7 to 10 AM.

The halls are not air conditioned. The elevator is slow. It is comfortably furnished, but not elegant. It doesn't have a pool. There's no room service. The bed spread had a stain on it ... but that's not an issue to me as it was obviously clean. They couldn't offer cheap prices if they threw out every spread someone spills something on.

I rate it 5 stars out of 5 because this isn't SUPPOSED to be a Hilton ... It is supposed to be a locally owned, clean, comfy place, reasonably priced to stay while you are touring the Capitol. And it delivered that, easily. More power to you if you have energy to swim after walking your feet off in DC - we sure didn't. If you think you will, or you desire luxury, pay more and book elsewhere.

If you're looking for safe, comfortable, and VALUE, don't hesitate on this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are lookin to stay at a low rate in the DC area with easy commute into DC this is the place old but clean . Staff is friendly and breakfast comes with price of the room. There is shuttle service and driver who picked me up was very helpful. He was outgoing and friendly.

Room Tip: Since building was constructed years ago all rooms provide a quiet atmosphere as it is all concrete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you appreciated our great rates, convenient location, friendly staff, free breakfast, free shuttle, and quiet rooms, and we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of our team.

Since we're always looking for ways to improve, we'd love to hear how we could improve from an "Average" (3 circle) budget hotel to an "Excellent" (5 circle) budget hotel. Thanks again for staying with us; we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I really wanted to not like this place. It's old and in desperate need of a face-lift. But just like grandma who serves you're favorite meal every time you visit, you just have to love this place. The service is impeccable, the front desk people bend over backwards for you. The hotel driver will take you anywhere you want to go. One night he dropped us off at a restaurant and picked us up when we were done. It's walking distance to just about anywhere in Crystal City. The National Mall is just an 8 minute ride from Crystal City Metro station. Be warned, there is no pool and breakfast is cold cereal, donuts and coffee. For the right person, this place is perfect. We loved it. But we missed having a pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor near the front. Out room was 208. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! It warms our heart to hear that you just couldn't help liking us and our amazing location, price, and service, and we'll be sure to let the rest of our team know. As for our rooms, we're constantly working to improve them so perhaps the next time you stay with us we'll have something even nicer to offer; be sure to select our deluxe rooms for the most recently renovated options. Thanks again for staying with us, and please visit again soon!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The place is old and not fancy, but it's fine for the price (about 1/2 of others in the area). Just a few blocks from the Metro. Their free shuttle will take you to a great strip of local restaurants. Only weird/downside: some of the rooms air conditioners vent into the common hallway, making it noisy and very hot! They double booked our room, but were quick to give us a new one.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow and small, so choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your accommodation needs and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate you pointing out the most important thing we offer: reasonably priced rooms in an extremely expensive area. We hope you also found them clean and comfortable, and we are glad to hear you also enjoyed our convenient location.

As to the venting, we agree it is a bit weird and not optimal. Originally, the hallways were all basically "open air" and the window wall side of those front rooms looked toward Washington rather than the retaining wall of the exit ramp. It was the front of the building so having HVAC there wouldn't have looked right. Also, with those glass sliding doors, there just wasn't any room even if it had been desired. Later, it became necessary to enclose the main center hallway, however it wasn't financially feasible to relocate all the heating and air conditioning to the other side of the front rooms where the expensive sliding glass doors are located. It has long been our minds, though, and if we are ever able to improve this situation, we will. We appreciate you mentioning it and hope you enjoyed hearing a little bit about why it is the way that it is.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#23 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.