We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Price, and Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Jackson, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Location, Price, and Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I really wanted to not like this place. It's old and in desperate need of a face-lift. But just like grandma who serves you're favorite meal every time you visit, you just have to love this place. The service is impeccable, the front desk people bend over backwards for you. The hotel driver will take you anywhere you want to go. One night he dropped us off at a restaurant and picked us up when we were done. It's walking distance to just about anywhere in Crystal City. The National Mall is just an 8 minute ride from Crystal City Metro station. Be warned, there is no pool and breakfast is cold cereal, donuts and coffee. For the right person, this place is perfect. We loved it. But we missed having a pool.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor near the front. Out room was 208. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! It warms our heart to hear that you just couldn't help liking us and our amazing location, price, and service, and we'll be sure to let the rest of our team know. As for our rooms, we're constantly working to improve them so perhaps the next time you stay with us we'll have something even nicer to offer; be sure to select our deluxe rooms for the most recently renovated options. Thanks again for staying with us, and please visit again soon!

Warm Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    366
    128
    34
    21
See reviews for
217
215
98
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The place is old and not fancy, but it's fine for the price (about 1/2 of others in the area). Just a few blocks from the Metro. Their free shuttle will take you to a great strip of local restaurants. Only weird/downside: some of the rooms air conditioners vent into the common hallway, making it noisy and very hot! They double booked our room, but were quick to give us a new one.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow and small, so choose a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your accommodation needs and taking the time to write a review! We appreciate you pointing out the most important thing we offer: reasonably priced rooms in an extremely expensive area. We hope you also found them clean and comfortable, and we are glad to hear you also enjoyed our convenient location.

As to the venting, we agree it is a bit weird and not optimal. Originally, the hallways were all basically "open air" and the window wall side of those front rooms looked toward Washington rather than the retaining wall of the exit ramp. It was the front of the building so having HVAC there wouldn't have looked right. Also, with those glass sliding doors, there just wasn't any room even if it had been desired. Later, it became necessary to enclose the main center hallway, however it wasn't financially feasible to relocate all the heating and air conditioning to the other side of the front rooms where the expensive sliding glass doors are located. It has long been our minds, though, and if we are ever able to improve this situation, we will. We appreciate you mentioning it and hope you enjoyed hearing a little bit about why it is the way that it is.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from our vacation and we stayed 4 nights in the Americana Inn for $277.83! I paid almost that much for 1 night in NYC! The hotel is old, elevator kinda slow but everything was clean and they even had a continental breakfast. Free parking and a short walk to the subway. We had much more room in this hotel than our NYC hotel that cost much more. We ate every night in Crystal City very good food there our favorite was the Mexican Cantina. If I ever go to DC again I would stay here no doubt. If you are wanting a 5 star hotel with hot tub, pool etc then don't bother to stay here but if you just want a clean room, great location and cheap price stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing such an amazing review! We're glad to hear you appreciated the great value we offer, including reasonable rates, convenient location, free parking, and clean rooms, and we'll be sure to let our team hear of your kind words. Thank you also for letting people know that, as long as you aren't looking for a 5 star hotel, we're the best place to stay in the D.C. area! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as it was cheap and provided a free shuttle to the airport but two things really spoiled it for us. My parents stayed at the hotel in another room. The interconnecting door was open to another room and they walked in on a stranger. They put a chair against the door. In our room there was blood splattered on the side of the mattress. I found this disgusting. These factors made our stay unpleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oceanside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Needed a place to stay for the night that was a close to the airport as possible. This was a great choice. The location is ideal. Free Wifi, free shuttle and the manager was great when I mentioned that I asked for a two bed room and was given a room with one. He quickly ran up to make sure the room was clean and available. We had free breakfast the next morning and were off to the airport on time! What more could a traveler on a quick trip ask for? I'm glad I opted to go with the reviews I read and chose this place.
If you're looking for a spa hotel; this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a place to stay that's well worth the price then this is the place. It's location is great and the service is good. Yes it's somewhat outdated, but if décor is not a deal breaker....then book this place on your next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My son & I stayed here for 3 nights this week and had a great visit to the DC area! The hotel is in Crystal City, walking distance to the Metro or the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to get on the Metro. The free breakfast each morning was great, only someone who thinks they have to have a hot breakfast would be disappointed, otherwise it's awesome! The staff was very attentive & caring. The room was clean, nothing fancy, but clean and updated. It was nice & quiet. A very good stay. We would stay there again. If I had anything negative to say it would be that finding the entrance to the parking lot was a challenge as the signage at the road is small. Otherwise, all pluses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We paid $63 a night for the week days, and $83 a night for the week ends. That is seriously incredible for the location, free parking, free wifi. Price is definitely the biggest plus to this place. Having said that, be aware that this is not the Marriott or the Hyatt. The beds were comfortable enough. But the furniture was worn, the paint was peeling, the bathroom faucet dripped, the shower leaked, etc. I also had some concerns about security. There was no deadbolt, only a knob lock, and rickety old chain for the door. There was no lock on the bathroom window. It could be slid open from the outside. We had an exterior room. Perhaps the interior rooms are better. Also the breakfast was really just cereal and boxed donuts. There did not seem to be enough seats and we were not able to get a place to sit 2 of the days we were there. Perhaps you need to get there early?

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and you could hear quite a bit of traffic noise. Also the elevator is seri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.