We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in DC....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Fulton, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in DC....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from our vacation and we stayed 4 nights in the Americana Inn for $277.83! I paid almost that much for 1 night in NYC! The hotel is old, elevator kinda slow but everything was clean and they even had a continental breakfast. Free parking and a short walk to the subway. We had much more room in this hotel than our NYC hotel that cost much more. We ate every night in Crystal City very good food there our favorite was the Mexican Cantina. If I ever go to DC again I would stay here no doubt. If you are wanting a 5 star hotel with hot tub, pool etc then don't bother to stay here but if you just want a clean room, great location and cheap price stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing such an amazing review! We're glad to hear you appreciated the great value we offer, including reasonable rates, convenient location, free parking, and clean rooms, and we'll be sure to let our team hear of your kind words. Thank you also for letting people know that, as long as you aren't looking for a 5 star hotel, we're the best place to stay in the D.C. area! We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    437
    147
    39
    25
See reviews for
261
255
115
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as it was cheap and provided a free shuttle to the airport but two things really spoiled it for us. My parents stayed at the hotel in another room. The interconnecting door was open to another room and they walked in on a stranger. They put a chair against the door. In our room there was blood splattered on the side of the mattress. I found this disgusting. These factors made our stay unpleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Needed a place to stay for the night that was a close to the airport as possible. This was a great choice. The location is ideal. Free Wifi, free shuttle and the manager was great when I mentioned that I asked for a two bed room and was given a room with one. He quickly ran up to make sure the room was clean and available. We had free breakfast the next morning and were off to the airport on time! What more could a traveler on a quick trip ask for? I'm glad I opted to go with the reviews I read and chose this place.
If you're looking for a spa hotel; this isn't the place for you. But if you're looking for a place to stay that's well worth the price then this is the place. It's location is great and the service is good. Yes it's somewhat outdated, but if décor is not a deal breaker....then book this place on your next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My son & I stayed here for 3 nights this week and had a great visit to the DC area! The hotel is in Crystal City, walking distance to the Metro or the hotel has a shuttle that will take you to get on the Metro. The free breakfast each morning was great, only someone who thinks they have to have a hot breakfast would be disappointed, otherwise it's awesome! The staff was very attentive & caring. The room was clean, nothing fancy, but clean and updated. It was nice & quiet. A very good stay. We would stay there again. If I had anything negative to say it would be that finding the entrance to the parking lot was a challenge as the signage at the road is small. Otherwise, all pluses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We paid $63 a night for the week days, and $83 a night for the week ends. That is seriously incredible for the location, free parking, free wifi. Price is definitely the biggest plus to this place. Having said that, be aware that this is not the Marriott or the Hyatt. The beds were comfortable enough. But the furniture was worn, the paint was peeling, the bathroom faucet dripped, the shower leaked, etc. I also had some concerns about security. There was no deadbolt, only a knob lock, and rickety old chain for the door. There was no lock on the bathroom window. It could be slid open from the outside. We had an exterior room. Perhaps the interior rooms are better. Also the breakfast was really just cereal and boxed donuts. There did not seem to be enough seats and we were not able to get a place to sit 2 of the days we were there. Perhaps you need to get there early?

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and you could hear quite a bit of traffic noise. Also the elevator is seri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Don't come to the Americana expecting a mint on your pillow. It's about as cheap as you can find this close to the metro. I made the walk there and back with my kids (ages 9 and 12), no problem. Lots of places to shop within easy walking distance. Great CHEAP place to stay for a bed & bathroom while you head out to see the sights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Risked a three night stay based on positive reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. First, this is NOT a polished new facility. It is an old and worn hotel/motel that opened for business in 1963 and it looks it. But it is clean, safe, and less than half the price of neighboring hotels and includes ample free parking, a commodity almost unheard of in this vicinity. Parking at other hotels nearby runs $30-$40 a day on top of the room rate! So, a significant savings right there. The Americana is close to two Metro stations if using public transit to get into DC or just a two-mile drive to the National Mall. Front desk staff was very helpful. Very limited but high quality continental breakfast (supplied by Dunkin Donuts) is available in the cramped lobby. Given that the hotel caters to many school groups, this breakfast area really needs to be larger. Get down to breakfast early or expect to stand. Free shuttle service to Reagan National Airport is another plus if flying in or out of the area. Hotel is somewhat hard to spot when driving by as it is set way back off the road and is sandwiched in between two taller buildings.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best rates. We made the mistake of booking through Expedia and paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#16 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#18 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
2.5 mi away
Inn of Rosslyn
Inn of Rosslyn
#41 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Arlington
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.