We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Back Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I just finished my fourth stay at the Americana and look forward to going back.

Staff was cool, room was clean and location is very good.

My only complaint was the TV but it worked.

Plan to be back in October. I love the Americana.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    325
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
193
194
91
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the accommodation was here. Sure, it is an older property, and the paint and fixtures may not be perfect. But you do get a quiet nicely furnished room for a very reasonable price. Very close to airport, Arlington National Memorial, and all the DC attractions. A free shuttle to and from Reagan airport was appreciated. Staff were pleasant for the 3 days we were here. When we revisit DC, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Americana for two nights in may. Dont believe the bad reviews as this is a decent hotel for the money you pay.
Located near shopping malls and restaurants and only a few miles away from Washington DC.
The staff were very helpful and will give you a free lift in there transport to the bus for the city tours.
It is not a 4 star place but decent and clean and half the price of the nearby hotels.
They could do with putting a bigger sign at the entrance as it is a bit hard to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Try to find another hotel in the urban DC area that is within walking distance to the Metro AND has free parking. Good luck, because you won't be able to. The Americana Hotel is a traveler's oasis in Pentgon City, which is about ten minutes to downtown DC via the Metro, and about five minutes to National Airport. Your sleep will be restful on their comfortable mattresses and pillows, and in the morning you will be able to start your day on the right foot with a complementary continental breakfast. A courtesy shuttle to the airport is available (ask the desk clerk for details). For all of you shopaholics out there, the Fashion Centre at Pentagon City and the Crystal City Underground shops each are a five minute walk away.
If you want the "prestige" of staying at a major hotel chain (and the associated overhead costs), go ahead. but if saving money and staying at a comfortable, clean, secure place is more important to you, then look no further than the AMERICANA HOTEL.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
WOW! We really appreciate you staying with us and writing such a wonderful review of your stay! While we certainly feel like there is no other property in the area that compares to us for a combination of great location, valuable freebies, and clean, comfortable rooms, there's nothing quite like hearing it from our guests, and we'll be sure to pass it along to our entire team. Thank you again for the kind words, and we hope to see you again every time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on other reviews and we are so happy we did! We did not have reservations but there were rooms available when we got there. They let us check the room before booking it and even let us in well before check in time. Our room was updated, clean and very comfortable. The free wi-fi worked like a charm in our room. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and hospitable. Breakfast is very basic but it saved us a ton of money by eating at the hotel every morning. The woman at the front desk was very pleasant and when we asked her about places to eat she had many suggestions. There is a shuttle service that was generously offered to us many times throughout our stay but we did not need it. If we are ever back in the DC area again, we will most DEFINITELY stay here! Great value in a safe location=perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm staying at the hotel now lying in my COMFORTABLE king bed. Im here 5-26/5/30. This hotel had been great and so glad I booked it here. Upon arrival the hotel is very clean, and there is nothing wrong with the room. People complain here about the water pressure in the shower----the pressure and temperature of the water is way better than any other hotel showers I've been in. WIFI is super fast. Of course you're going to hear noise....it's right off the highway, but it's very faint ( ac blocks most of it out ). The metro IS 100% walkable so don't know why people complained about it!!!! 5 minutes to crystal city stop and about 10 minutes from the pentagon city stop (outside of the fashion centre). Free breakfast is fine, can't complain....bagels, muffins, doughnuts, cereals, coffee, juice. Enough to hold me over till lunch. Perfect stay so far with a perfect room for an excellent price (got Americana's special rate of $55 a night plus an extra 10% off with Foursquare's "check in" special!! I will definitely stay here again whenever I come back to DC!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As other reviews have stated this is a motor-inn type hotel from the 1960's. They provide shuttle service to and from the hotel. There is a basic breakfast in the lobby each morning, consisting mostly of pastries and cold cereals. The rooms are very basic and dated.(some of the rooms have been updated but the one I stayed in had not been updated) I stayed in a room along an exterior corridor facing the hi-way. I could hear the hi-way in my room but it was not loud enough to keep me awake. My room was clean. The staff was pleasant. It was a short walk to the metro. The neighborhood is safe. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.