We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at a family member” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like staying at a family member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, not being in central D.C. yet only few minutes away, you can enjoy the capital's life and the next minute you can be at Americana, located in safe and quiet area and enjoy all what Arlington has to offer in high class shopping and international restaurants. Good train connections to D.C. and the free shuttle gets you around the Arlington area. Hotel is in retro style, which I loved, but they have renovated rooms, still I prefer the one with 60s look, probably one of few left found in the area, and therefore are a true classic. Service are good, staff helpful to recommend restaurant and assist in one or another way. Loved the breakfast area, where it is like having a breakfast with a big family due to how everything is set up in a little place, like a living room. Free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, free quality service from staff, and nice well equipped rooms at a price you won't find anywhere in a popular tourist destination area. As a facebook fan, I really like how the hotel staff have a good contact to their fans, they reply to any comment and post useful informations. Would 100% chose Americana again and this is the only hotel I recommend in this area, not only because of the affordable price where you get free parking (which cost normally $$$) and free wifi and breakfast, but also the excellent and friendly service. I dare to say, they treat you like a family member.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi David! Thank you so much not only for staying with us and writing a review but also for all the great posts on Facebook! We love interacting with you and are glad to hear you like it too. Thank you for the kind words about our classic look and friendly service. We indeed look at our guests like a big extended family that we get to see here and there throughout the years, and we're really glad you're a part of it. We can't wait until you're able to return and wish you a wonderful 2013!

Warmest Regards,
Your "Family" at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    319
    118
    33
    21
See reviews for
183
188
87
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a perfect stay in 2010, we decided to stay here again for 2 nights. Unfortunatly the beds where so bad that we decided to leave the next day. When they asked why i was leaving i told them this was the reason and basicly their answer was ' ok but i'll have to charge you also for the second night'!! I was in shock! The only thing i could think of was that they are only in for the money and not for (returning) guests. That's a big shame..... Besides this i have to be honest about the location and shuttle service because this is ok. The maid responsible for the complementairy breakfast was slow and rude after i asked for napkins because they where not there anymore.

Unless there will be a big upgradeon the beds we will not visit this hotel anymore. A pitty it can change in year...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much as your previous one and that the front desk was unable to successfully resolve your concerns. They should have moved you to another room, and we apologize that this did not happen. Please be assured that we value each of our guests and will be following up on everything you mentioned so we can avoid it in the future. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here in September. The staff was friendly and very helpful when we had questions about getting around the city. They even gave me a free room upgrade! The room was clean and I felt safe staying there. I liked that it is very close to the metro station. Would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean rooms, and convenient location, and we will pass along your kind words to the rest of our team. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the D.C. area, and thanks again for staying with us!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to vacation in DC in August but had a limited budget. I found the Americana online and read lots of reviews. The reviews were positive, but I was still afraid the price was too good to be true. Well, I was not disappointed. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly, and the location was a short walk to the metro. I'm planning another trip this summer and will definitely be staying there again.

Troy
Prattville, AL

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review! We're glad to hear our affordable rates allowed you to visit Washington, D.C. and that you enjoyed our clean rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location. We do our best to offer a great value to our guests and sincerely appreciate you letting us - and others - know that you think we're succeeding. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thanks again for the kind words!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

They must have taken the pictures they show on their website at a different hotel because my room looked absolutely nothing like the on-line photo. Very disappointing stay. The shuttle never picked me up at the airport and the staff blamed me. I had to take a cab. Paper thin walls, I could hear everything from the room next door. This hotel needs to shut down, leveled and a new hotel needs to be built.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay but can assure you that all of the hotel and room photos on our website were taken at our property. They are also labeled as either standard or deluxe and are displayed on the reservations page next to the room types to help our guests avoid booking a standard room when they prefer to pay a little more for the contemporary decor of the deluxe rooms. We apologize for any confusion you may have experienced when selecting your room type.

In regards to the shuttle service, it departs from the hotel every thirty minutes in the morning and is on-call the rest of the day from 6am - 11pm. All airport pickups are on-call. Again, we apologize for any confusion you may have experienced as well as any error on our part. We pick up and drop off dozens of guests every day without incident and are not sure why your experience was any different.

Speaking for the nearly one million satisfied guests we've had over the past 50 years and the dozens of employees who work hard every day to offer an affordable, good quality hotel option in a very expensive location, we think it's a little extreme to rate us "terrible" compared to other budget hotels and call for us to be leveled. We do understand, however, that we're not for everyone and hope you're able to find a better option next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located close to Wash DC and Reston VA, it's a pretty decent place to stay when you know that all you need to do at the end of the day is to just come and sleep and next morn shower and leave post breakfast for work. No frills, no porters, no waiters, no room service- but neat, clean, comfy, and embarrassingly affordable. If you are driving around, there's ample place to park; fast food joints at a walking distance and subway not far either.The hotel could, however, upgrade its bathroom kit and provide a tea/ coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: A room on the first/second floor is ideal as the lifts may suddenly not be operational ( for some re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Americana Hotel for your accommodation needs! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review, and we're glad to hear you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms and affordable rate. As you mentioned, by not having cost increasers like porters, waiters, and room service, we are able to keep our prices embarrassingly low. Thank you also for your recommendation of a tea/coffee maker in the room. We actually have enough of these to furnish all of the rooms, but unfortunately we do not have the electrical power available to run them. We do, however, continue to work on this and perhaps one day we'll be able to offer this amenity. Thank you again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have stayed there quite a few times over the years and always a pleasant experience! Love the staff, who have been there for many years, it is nice to see their friendly faces year after year! Rooms are always clean! Love the fact that you can get up and go for a morning run, or walk to shopping and feel safe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We sincerely appreciate you staying with us over the years and are glad you've enjoyed your stays. Thank you also for taking the time to write such a lovely review; we agree that it's wonderful we've been able to retain so many great people for so many years and will pass along your compliments to our entire team. Thank you again, and we hope you'll get a chance to come back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#18 Family Hotel in Arlington
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#27 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.