We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice In Arlington, By Far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Arlington
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Choice In Arlington, By Far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've been to DC so many times, and I've stayed at countless of high-end hotels in downtown. Yet the Americana is now the top hotel for me when I visit the DC area. The hotel is basic, simple, and yet amazing all at the same time. When you wake up in the morning, there is free breakfast plus a newspaper from 6 AM-10 AM. What a great deal - Dunkin' Donuts, coffee, bagels, cereal, muffins, juice, the works!

When you're ready to leave the hotel, you can either take the wonderful shuttle service (who will bring you directly to the Crystal City Metro entrance) or take the quick walk across Jefferson Davis Highway. Either way, it's no more than 5 minutes. You're close to the Crystal City shops, the Blue or Yellow Line of the Metro, shops that line outside of the metro, and the Arlington park across the lake from Ronald Reagan National Airport with beautiful views of the Washington Monument.

The bed is really soft with amazingly soft pillows, the bathroom was cleaned daily by a great staff with towels always available, the fridge was helpful so I could buy dinner and come home and put it in the fridge, and the television had great reception and was great to use when I was home at night.

If you're coming in from Reagan, this is a 3 minute metro ride to Crystal City. The staff is helpful, will give directions, and even helped me with a bottle of wine (I wasn't able to open the cork!). I've never been one to say this, but I'm in love with a hotel, and for the price, I'll stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd Floor. These room are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We just want to let you know that we LOVED your review! Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to let others know about us--it's guests like you that have brought us joy every day for the last 50 years! We are glad to hear you prefer our "simple, and yet amazing" hotel as much as other ones that cost 2-5x as much, and we can't wait to see you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    325
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
193
194
91
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Park, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our room was very basic -- a comfortable bed with one pilllow for each of us; a good, hot shower; and a television. Location made it easy for us to get to our tour of the Pentagon and then into Georgetown -- the hotel offers a shuttle that will take you where you need to go. Staff was helpful -- continental breakfast was "basic" but good.

Room Tip: Queen-size rooms face the highway -- king-size rooms get a view of the monuments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review! We really appreciate hearing from our guests and the help they lend to others in selecting a hotel is invaluable. We're glad to know you found the bed comfortable and the location convenient and hope you'll be able to stay with us again!

Since you ranked us only "average" compared to similar limited-service hotels, we would really appreciate hearing from you on what we could do to be among the best of affordable lodging options--we're always looking for ways to improve!

Regarding the rooms, we just wanted to clarify that our rooms with two double beds face Jefferson Davis Highway, while our queen rooms face the vacant lot between us and 15th Street and the king rooms face the Embassy Suites next to us, so if you are looking at the front of the building where the lobby is, the king rooms are on the right and the queen rooms are on the left, while the double rooms are directly in front of you. Hope this clears it all up!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baconton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

For my first trip to DC I was so excited I began to research places to stay, after seeing the prices in DC I was nervous to the amount we would have to pay. My husband suggested I look in the Arlington VA area which is a stones throw from DC, Americana Hotel ended up in my results page and it sounded great, with the price I wanted to pay, so I booked it. Our stay exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly, rooms clean and it was easy to get to the Metro station just a short distance away, we became pros at the Metro once we figured out how to buy a pass., lol
We were thrilled with the service we received at the Americana Hotel. We have decided to return to DC to spend New Years Eve there, and you guessed it we WILL be staying at the Americana, I highly recommend you stay there as well!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We're really glad to hear we "saved" the trip with our affordable rates and convenient location, and appreciate you giving us a chance. We'll pass along your kind words about our friendly staff, clean rooms, and great service to the rest of our team members and look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed 1 night with my Wife and friends End Sept.

Would rate as follows.

Front desk
------------- 9/10 Booked in by a pleasant young man who was both welcoming & helpful.

Service
--------- 9/10 Allround V.good with the added bonus of free shuttle which we used for dinner
trip to 23rd St.

Rooms.
--------- 9/10 Clean & comfortable.

Breakfast
------------ 5/10 Poor selection & limited seating.

Location.
----------- 8/10 2 blocks from Metro

The only drawback for the Americano is that from the main road it looks like a PRISON !!!!!

Nevertheless it is great value and would definately recommend.for short stay.

Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We're really glad to hear you appreciated our helpful staff, good service, clean & comfortable rooms, convenient location, and affordable rates, and will pass along your kind words to our entire team. Regarding our breakfast, we're sorry to hear you found the selection limited. We usually have 3 types of cereal, 3 different fresh fruit options, various pastries (including muffins, bagels, donuts, and croissants) delivered fresh daily from a local bakery, milk, two types of juice, coffee, bottled water, and condiments such as cream cheese, butter, and jelly available during our extended breakfast hours of 6am - 10am, and we apologize if all of this was not available during your stay.

Like you, we wish we had a larger breakfast area to have even more options and seating, but we are limited by the constraints of the building at this time. We also wish the State of Virginia had not built a road and retaining wall across the front of our property so that it didn't look like a prison as you mentioned, but we try to do the best we can with what we have. We sincerely appreciate you recommending us and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great place - just out of Washington DC. Its roughly a mile from capital Hill - across the river into Virginia. We had bicycled there from Boston & the staff allowed us to store our cycles safely. The reception staff were friendly, helpful & attentive. The room was clean and very large. It's just a short walk to plenty of bars etc. This hotel is near to the Pentagon too. Breakfast was plentiful. No problems at all.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to see the city etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a lovely review! We loved hearing you call us a "great place" and are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient location, clean rooms, and plentiful breakfast. Thanks for the recommendation of an upper floor to see the city--we'll second that and add that the double rooms on higher floors have the best view and encourage everyone to talk to our front desk staff to get the perfect room. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was attending a conference and the major hotels in the Crystal City area were all fully booked. I was fortunate enough to get a room at the Americana Hotel for about $50 a night less than the others. Americana looked like a 60s era motel with external corridors. It was aged but obviously very well maintained. The bathroom had porcelain fixtures. The floor tiles were gleaming and I could not find any dust in the corners. Always a good sign of good housekeeping. The window air condition gave out an artic blast. The wifi connection was strong and allowed me to do my work. Americana was also conveniently located a couple of blocks from the Metro station and within a few blocks from the other convention hotels and to restaurants. There is ample free outdoor parking. The hotel provides a continental breakfast which is simple but on par with other budget hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it! We're glad to hear you noticed the huge price difference between us and other area hotels and that you didn't find our accommodations or service lacking because of it. We'll pass along your kind words, particularly regarding our housekeeping and maintenance, to the rest of our team and hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

All the best,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is an immediate neighbour to such names as Sheraton, Hyatt, Hilton etc, in an area which has over 10 years gone upmarket in a big way. If you find it hard to be without the luxuries of these hotels the Americana is not for you. It is a basic but acceptable motel (free parking) which fulfils its motto as "the best rates in town". You won't find the frills but the room is a good size, beds are very comfortable, sheets crisp, towels OK. There is no guest computer but the front desk will print your boarding pass. There is no tea and coffee in room but there is always coffee and hot water available in the Foyer. The bathroom is old-fashioned with free standing washbasin/sink and nowhere to put toiletries. Cleaning is good as it is throughout the hotel. (Coffee someone had spilled in the lift was soon removed). The problem with the Americana is that it looks as though it is simply being left to run down without much investment in updating, for example furniture is worn and lighting is not particularly good in rooms. The Reception area could do with remodelling with a nice front desk and tidy appearance. And staff could smile! This would give the hotel a lift immediately. Disabled travellers would find difficult getting up the steps to the elevator. Hardboiled eggs would improve the carbs only for b/fast. There are plenty of eating places nearby at Crystal City and Pentagon City. We needed to travel to Dulles airport. The shuttle took is the the Metro at Reagan Airport where we boarded the train to Rosslyn and then changed to West Falls Church. From there the Washington Flyer (with dedicated carriageway when busy) will take you to the airport for $10. The whole journey takes about an hour and a quarter, but, the advantage is that this way there are no escalators or steps. You can do all the changes and up and down by elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a very helpful review for other travelers! We're glad you found our accommodations comfortable and affordable. Regarding some of your suggestions for improvement, we agree with you and are doing what we can while simultaneously trying to keep our rates affordable. Here is a bit of information on some of the issues you mentioned:
*We are trying to find a good location for a guest computer / business center within our limited space.
*We actually do have coffee makers for all the rooms, but unfortunately we do not have enough electrical capacity to power them along with the lights, hair dryer, and air conditioner/heater without blowing the breaker, so they are in storage. We have been working with vendors to see what options we have to address this problem, but so far we haven't found anything we can afford.
*Our new deluxe rooms feature a granite topped vanity area with considerable storage space on the top and on shelves below, which we hope will help alleviate some of the issues with our classic bathrooms.
*The deluxe rooms also feature some updated furnishings and we are trying to do more as funds permit. We think many people would probably be surprised to know that one new room (including headboard, frame, mattress & box spring, bedding, night stands, lamps, artwork, draperies, carpet, vanity, desk, chairs, dresser, tv, etc.) easily costs $5,000 for commercial quality items and with 100 rooms, that turns into quite a big project! We promise to keep at it, though, and will always try to offer the best combination of accommodations, amenities, and price to provide the best value in the area.
*We have renovated our lobby quite a bit over the last few years with a refinished floor, new color scheme, new draperies, new furniture, new breakfast area, and new seating, which we hope you enjoyed, but we agree we still need to do something with the front desk and have it on our radar.
*Our apologies for any team members who weren't smiling. We'll remind them!
*We also apologize for difficulties for disabled guests. There were unfortunately not as many considerations in 1963 when we were constructed and we have problems because of it. We do have the elevator available to access the ground floor and our front desk are trained to be as helpful as possible to anyone needing additional accommodation, but for those guests needing ADA rooms and access, we unfortunately have to recommend selecting another lodging property in the area.
*Thank you for the suggestion of adding eggs to the breakfast. We too would like to have a larger offering, but without a kitchen, it is difficult for us to provide anything we cannot have delivered fresh. We will look into it, however, and you never know what you may see in the future!
*Thank you also for the great suggestions for local transportation. We second them.

We hope this has addressed some of your concerns and that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for writing a review!

Warmest Regards,
Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.