We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Bombay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Good, clean hotel, very well situated in Pentagon City moments from the Metro station. Reagan National Airport is close and the courtesy shuttle does a regular run, from 0700 to 2300 Hrs.
The staff is helpful and ready to please
Breakfast leaves much to be desired but at the rates charged, you can't expect too much.
A good place to stay.

Room Tip: "Higher floors are preferable, as the lower two fall in the dip of the driveway and the outlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms, convenient location, and helpful staff, and apologize for any shortcomings on our breakfast bar. We do our best to offer a good selection of cold options, but as you mentioned, we are limited by the fact that it is free and that our rates are the least expensive in the area. We hope this will not keep you from staying with us again, and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the D.C. area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    326
    123
    33
    21
See reviews for
193
195
92
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the many positive reviews on Trip advisor and were very pleased with the result. The location was fantastic and we used the shuttle many times. We just kept our car parked for the 3 days that we stayed. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was good and our room was exactly as the displayed picture. The bath rooms were very clean but very dated. If you are looking for the Hilton go book the Hilton. Very affordable, clean, and safe location. We would book there again on our next visit to DC. The only negative is there isn't much seating for breakfast. We had issues where travellers seemed to use the tables as a meeting place and stay far too long while other guests had to balance plates on their knees and eat on the couch. They should put a time limit of 30 minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor towards the highway and it was very quiet. Rooms higher on the highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We're glad to hear you gave us a chance based on TripAdvisor comments and returned the favor to your fellow travelers by taking the time to writing such a lovely review. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of our team regarding our fantastic location, free parking and shuttle service, and clean, affordable rooms. We agree that the breakfast area can get pretty crowded at times and apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We will continue working to improve the situation and hope you will not encounter the same problem if you stay with us again.

Thank you also for ranking us "excellent" in value, location, sleep quality, cleanliness, and service, and "above average" in rooms; we really appreciate the positive feedback! Since you ranked us only "above average" overall compared to similar limited-service budget hotels, we would really appreciate hearing from you on what we could do to be among the best of affordable lodging options--we're always looking for ways to improve!

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again in 2013 as we celebrate our 50th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just got back from a two week trip to the east coast. We have four mostly grown kids who accompanied us on various parts of our trip. We knew that we would need two hotel rooms while we were in the DC area. Prices are SO high there...plus we had a car that we didn't want to have to pay to park. So, based on reviews on TripAdvisor, we gave the Americana Inn a try. Overall, we were quite pleased.

Parking is free. The hotel is dated (I would say 60's, not 70's!), but the lobby is updated and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I can live with pink tile in the bathrooms for the prices they charge. We had an "extra" sink, not in the bathroom, but in our room, that had no supply lines to it. That was a bit strange. It had a drain pipe, but no supply lines! Breakfast was good. The other hotel guests seemed to be mostly families, with an occasional business traveler...we met a pilot who always stays there when he's in town. It was very quiet. Very close to the metro...we walked there in just a few minutes. One night we went out to dinner and they have a shuttle that provided transportation for free both ways so that we didn't have to get our car out and deal with parking.

The only reason that I'm not giving it five stars was that there were no deadbolts on the doors and no safes in the rooms. They had chains on the doors and simple keylocks. Nothing else. They didn't even have lockboxes in the lobby, but they did put our laptops (we had four!) in their closet behind the desk while we toured each day. They lock all outside entrances other than the front door after 6 PM, so they are serious about keeping out unwanted visitors, but it was a bit concerning to us. We didn't have anything stolen...we were just concerned!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location was good right near the metro the room was ok. However there we saw a bunch of crumbs in the back of the bed and there was a disgusting smell in the hall. We booked the room in the Internet for one price and then a day after we get and email with a much more expensive price. Apparently they hoped we won't notice it but we noticed it and we called them but there was a fellow who answered and ignored what we said and said he needs to end the conversation and he disconnected. After i called again and I spoke with a different fellow and after arguing he changed the price. When we got to the hotel we saw a mother fellow arguing with them about the price apparently they pulled the same act on him also. So if you book the hotel be aware on the amount you need to pay and check if it is the amount you booked for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in Americana Hotel end of April.We were in Washington DC for 2 days and 1 night visit and wanted a hotel located near the metro station.I searched a lot but most of the hotels near DC area are very expensive.Americana hotel is amazingly low priced and they give you discount if you have AAA membership.Hotel is clean and nice.Parking is free,Location is really close to the Metro station.The hotel staff was good.We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

As this is an older building, you might find it a bit rough around the edges, but this hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance from the Crystal City Metro, or you can even take the complimentary hotel shuttle there, or anywhere in the local area. The rooms were clean, and the a/c was running very well. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First of all, you have to know that we (2 adults and 2 kids) needed a place to sleep and not a place to spend the day in the room. We were looking for a hotel that was the most affordable as we could being within a walking distance from the metro and close enough to Dc in case we needed to come back by cab. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, look for other places as you will not find a pool, jacusi, gym or other amenities of this type. This said, you will find here very friendly staff, ready to help. The room was clean and the housekeeper was very courteous. Yes the rooms could use some renovations but it is in good condition and neat. You even have a fridge which was a nice thing to have when walking back from a hot and huimde day! You have enough towels which sometimes are missing in other hotels and the beds were confortable enough. The breakfast was a big surprise. We were expecting only cold cereal and coffee. Well, you get a huge selection of doughnuts, bagels, muffins, fresh fruits, coffee, juice, milk and cereals. And coffee is available all day! Last, the check in and out was easy and the reception staff was polite and efficient. We will come back here next time we are in DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#24 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.