We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with heart and soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel with heart and soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I would warmly recommend Americana Hotel in Arlington, VA with its kind of "cool" atmosphere of a motel from 70ties. Perfect location for unbelievable rate, old fashioned but perfectly working air conditioning in the rooms, the breakfast always fresh and available early in the morning, the lobby and room always well cleaned, and classic and nice room decoration (stayed once at Ritz almost across the street and my room had exactly the same furniture!). Laundry room at your disposal! How not to mention the kind service of the drivers (they will drop you at the metro stop, Ronald Regan National airport, or even... at the church!); the reassuring presence of security guard at night, and, of course, the very kind and professional attitude of the day and night teams. Adding the thrill of being in a hotel where a movie took place ("State of Play", with Russel Crowe and Ben Afleck), Americana Hotel IS a very special place, with heart and soul.

Room Tip: ask the hotel team how they can help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    448
    153
    40
    27
See reviews for
271
268
117
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel from 9/24 to 9/29, in Room No. 423. When i checked in I found out that the aircon was not working. I reported it to the front desk clerk on the same day, Saturday, 9/24. For three consecutive days I reported the problem but no one came to fix the aircon nor was there a sense of caring. On the second day, I sent an email to the owner of Source International who booked me at this hotel about this problem. Then on Tuesday, 9/27, the aircon was finally fix/replaced. For three consecutive nights I slept in a warm and stuffy room in this freaking hotel. I guess the saying, "You get what you pay for," is true here since the hotel is cheap. I would neither go back nor recommend it to any of my friends. I was even planning to book the students I will be brining next year to this hotel, but that is not going to happen.

Room Tip: Check to make sure aircon is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here thanks to a Washington DC forum suggestion - otherwise I doubt we would have found the Americana ourselves. Yes this is an older style motel property with dated decor, but it was very clean and our queen room was one of the biggest hotel rooms we had during our two week east coast stay. The aircon was noisy and the sliding patio doors were fixed shut, but this didn't spoil things for us. The cold continental buffet breakfast did not offer a great choice, but was perfectly adequate and is included in the room rate. The staff were really helpful, from letting us print our boarding cards for forthcoming flights to ensuring we got the hotel shuttle service to the airport in good time. The Crystal City metro station is a short walk away. Although we always felt safe around the Americana, what we saw of Crystal City was rather soulless with lots of large apartment buildings; some of this is down to the shops being contained in an indoor mall adjoining the metro station rather than street front shops you walk past.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Property is very dated, but everything looked clean. There is a breakfast of sorts provided - didn't really stop by to look. The room was very basic, looking more like a dated studio apartment than a hotel room (the TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, AC, bathtub are all "civilian" rather than "hotel issue").
The hotel has a pretty ridiculous cancellation policy (3 days) -- this was the only place available when I was booking my trip, but when the Sheraton opened up additional rooms 2 days before my trip, I could no longer cancel so had to stay at Americana.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reus, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We spent one night at Americana Hotel during our visit to DC, the hotel is located 2 blocks from the Crystal City metro station, which takes you directly to Washington. The area looked very safe even at night.

The rates were excellent compared to other hotels in the area, and it even had free parking and breakfast.

The hotel itself was a little bit outdated, but the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast consisted in donuts, bagels, cereals, juices, etc. and they were refilling everything constantly.

We had a great experience at Americana Hotle and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Ok, so if you are reading this and even considering booking this hotel rather than the $300 dollar per night place which is right next door to this one, you are looking for one thing- value! You want to stretch your dollar, not blow it. You don't want to pay more for a weekend in DC than you pay for your mortgage this month. However, if you are like me, your significant other has some needs too. They need to feel safe, clean, and pampered in some way. Good news! You found the Americana Hotel!
I booked this hotel because I read a blog about a family of four who had done DC on a budget and they recommended the Americana. It is just a couple of miles from the national mall near two big shopping complexes in Arlington and a block from the Metro. Unlike other hotels it charges nothing daily for parking and has a free breakfast. (Yes that breakfast is donuts, bagels, cereal, etc. but if you want eggs benedict you can go to that $300 place... remember its about value!)
My wife was TRES skeptical when we drove up because it doesn't look like much from the road. However, they let us look at the room before we checked in and immediately we saw that it was CLEAN and very well kept. (The whole three days our bathroom stayed spotless) My wife "bought in" to staying, and we checked in for 3 very nice days and nights in Arlington/DC! We paid the price that I would have paid for one night at the other place. The bed was VERY comfortable. The uniqueness of the place really grows on you. The staff is really friendly, also. We were impressed with how the staff treat the guests. What a wonderful weekend! I took a chance on this place and it really paid off for me.

Room Tip: They will let you look at the room before you check in if you ask. We asked the desk for all kinds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Owner at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review--we don't think we could have said it better ourselves! Sometimes we find it hard to explain that "uniqueness" you mentioned to potential guests, and we sincerely appreciate you doing it for us. We'd love to see you again the next time you come to the DC area and hope you'll let us know if we can ever be of assistance to you! Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at the Americana over the summer for 3 days with my wife and 2 kids. The hotel and rooms are definitely outdated but our room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. It was extremely hot during our stay but the a/c worked fine. Breakfast was just OK - donuts, bagels, cereal, warm juice. Very close to metro - about 2 blocks. The walk to/from metro was very safe even late at night. Price of hotel was very good. We were visiting DC so we only stayed at the hotel at night to sleep. We will probably stay there again if we follow a similar itinerary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Arlington
Hyatt Arlington
#15 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton - Washington DC - Crystal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Metro
Econo Lodge Metro
#20 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.