We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americana Hotel to your Saves list
Americana Hotel
1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Oakville, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great spot for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This is a clean hotel with nothing extra to drive up the price. The front staff were very friendly and helpful and the shuttle was perfect for getting to the Metro. Metro is walkable though. Perfect sport for visiting Washington and the area due to proximinity to the Metro. Highly recommended for those who want to enjoy a good hotel and save money for sightseeing, etc. Rooms, although dated, were clean and spacious and the maid service was excellent. Have no problem going there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    366
    128
    34
    21
See reviews for
217
215
98
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

It looks old from the outside, but that's part of its throwback appeal. My husband and I loved the 70's feel to the whole place. The lobby is gorgeous with its new rennovations. It's a great welcome to the guests along with the staff. From the moment we checked in, the staff was there for us whenever we needed something. And when we had some difficulties, they were there to work with us. The free shuttle service was great. While the Metro was only 2 blocks away, we still used it for those nights when we were just too tired to walk anymore. And they even drove us to the Pentagon for our tour. The continental breakfast was delicious and filling. It had more than other breakfasts that we've had at other hotels and everything tasted fresher. We especially enjoyed the muffins that they had every morning. As for the rooms, we loved ours. The bed was so comfortable; I swear we slept like rocks every night! It was nice to have a fridge in our room and we didn't even mind going down to the lobby when we needed something heated up. (And as a random side note: I don't know what the maids use to freshen the room, but it smells fantastic!!) Overall, this was an excellent find for our trip to DC. It's close to everything, there's a shopping plaza right down the block, and we even had pizza delivered to us one night! We stayed for 5 nights and spent less than $400 on the room! For all the freebies that we got (parking, WiFi, shuttle, breakfast, etc.), that's definitely a steal!! Thank you so much for making this a wonderful vacation. Even though we walked a lot and stayed relatively busy, it was nice to know that we had a comfortable hotel room to come back to. We will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you want a hotel with a pool and spa and great room service--this is not the place for you! However, if you want a hotel 2 blocks from the Metro, free parking, free WiFi and a continental breakfast at half to one third the cost of nearby hotels--this is the place for you.
The rooms were clean but could use an updating. They still use metal room keys!!!
The breakfast was a simple affair---muffins, bagels, cereal and coffee/juice. They could have used a microwave oven in the lobby or the rooms. The refrigerator in the room worked well. All in all a good stay at great price

Room Tip: Walk to Crystal City Drive for restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This was not the fanciest or most expensive hotel I ever stayed at, but I would stay here again any time. The locations was great for us--close to Metro and restaurants. The price was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I have already recommended it to a friend who will be traveling to see DC in the fall and have told many others abut my good experience here. I only wish we had known the food court at Crystal City shops closes so early. We got back a little late a few times and had to call to have food delivered. Can't beat the price and the convenience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate you telling your personal friends as well as the TripAdvisor community about your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you're in the Washington, D.C. area!

Cheers,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierpont, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

During our two night stay, the staff made sure we had everything we needed. The only downside was that they were repainting, but the smell didn't affect our stay. I highly recommend staying here if you're on a budget and want to explore DC. The metro is only a two minute walk from the hotel, and their shuttle service offers to take you around Arlington.

Room Tip: Ask for room deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericanaHotel, Manager at Americana Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear our team was helpful during your stay and that the painting wasn't too inconvenient. We're trying to renovate our rooms and appreciate everyone bearing with us through the dust. Perhaps you'll be able to come back and see some of our improvements!

Warmest Regards,
Your Friends at Americana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Overall this isn't a bad hotel at all, sure it may not look that great from the outside, the rooms are surprisingly comfortable and clean. It's close to the Metro station (it's about a 5- 10min walk), free wifi, free parking, free local shuttle and offered a free breakfast, although it is quite a basic breakfast, so may not suit everyone. We were also offered a free DC tour with a local tour company from the hotel, so that was quite a nice touch! Basically if you're coming to DC for some sightseeing and don't plan on spending all day at the hotel, I would definitely recommend this hotel, great rates, decent rooms.

My only gripe with my stay was the unpleasantness of one particular staff member (not sure who unfortunately), who upon checking in, seemed quite annoyed at the fact we had interrupted her book, even the cleaner seemed fairly pushy when she came to the room to clean just as we were preparing to head out, we told her we leaving in 5min, if she could come back then, to which she replied "I clean now?". Not major issues, but it doesn't cost the business a cent to have check in staff who smile and are friendly for the few minutes it takes to check in. However it should be stated these were the only 2 instances of unfriendly staff we had, all the others were awesome & helpful, one even gave us a free pass for a half day tour of DC, saving us approx $40 each!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a leisure trip to DC. The price is unbeatable, the rooms are very clean, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a great stay at the Americana!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 1400 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americana Hotel is ideally situated in a neighborhood in Arlington, Virginia called Crystal City across the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. Since 1963, our family-owned-and-operated hotel near Washington D.C. has never wavered from its commitment to complete guest satisfaction with every stay. Business and leisure travelers alike are sure to appreciate our comfortable Arlington hotel accommodations and well-appointed Crystal City hotel amenities that include free shuttle service and a complimentary continental breakfast. We are only 1 mile from the Nation’s capital and within walking distance of two Metro stops. Please call us today and let us help you plan your next trip to Washington, DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Arlington
Americana Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.