We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and better breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Virginia Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added AKA Virginia Square to your Saves list
AKA Virginia Square
3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great room and better breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for a month with 7 months old baby. It is very conveniently located, 3 min walk to metro and close to Clarendon. The suite was very spacious and there was a plenty of storage. The pastries for the breakfast were excellent!
The kitchen setup was great too but I think they can do better about the knife and the cutting board. Overall we had a great stay and would come back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
1
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed at AKA Virginia Square for over 30 days and the stay was flawless. AKA Virginia Square was recommended to me by two separate Department of State couples, who had stayed there (one for maternity leave and the other for training). Although I was a tad apprehensive with effectively signing a lease and committing myself to staying there for a relatively long period of time, I now have zero regrets. First and foremost, I found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Next, the rooms are stylish yet comfortable and the kitchens are stocked with just about anything you need. Third, the lounge/breakfast bar is very inviting with delicious pastries, yogurt, fruits, coffee, tea, newspapers, etc. every morning M-F. The underground parking is convenient and ample. Finally, the price was well within the USG's per diem rate, and thus AKA Virginia Square is quite affordable. This is my first review of anything on Trip Advisor solely because of how much AKA Virginia Square stood out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent experience at the AKA Virginia Square. The rooms are simply amazing and have all the necessities that made my stay a memorable one.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Just ask and they'll get out of their way to make it happen.

I recommend the AKA to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Atlantic USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We moved into AKA VA Square during a house renovation. What was planned to be 6 months turned out to be 8 months. We really enjoyed AKA, the apartments are very nicely done, the staff is very responsive and helpful, and the location is convenient.

There were weekly yoga classes offered during the summer on the rooftop deck, which is also a nice place to sit when the weather's nice.

We had a one bedroom+den that we used as a two bedroom apt. easily. Although the price is not inexpensive, compared to a long-term apartment rental (our other option) we had a nicer apartment, more flexibility, and excellent service from everyone at AKA, so it was worth it.

I'll highly recommend AKA VA Square to friends, family & colleagues looking for a convenient and user-friendly place.

Room Tip: There can be some traffic noise from Wilson Blvd., so rooms on the higher floors may be a little qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Location, unit, facilities and staff are simply second to none! My husband and I unexpectedly spent almost three months at the AKA Virginia Square and we loved every minute of it. Waking up to Edith's morning coffee at the Club Lounge during the week and being met by the variety of warm and smiling faces at every turn, really made us feel at home. The Unit at the end of the hall was two bedroom, two bath and provided the space needed; the fully equipped (and supplied) kitchen and full size washer/dryer in the unit made life very comfortable. The sleek design was so much more up-market than your local short/long term rental. Parking was a breeze and included in the cost and the proximity to grocercies stores and shopping malls left nothing for want. It seemed the fully-equipped gym was always at our beckon call for private workouts on exceptional equipment (except for the looping 1980's music - I can't complain). Close to Metro, FSI, 66 and Rt 50 - it made getting to/from work simply EASY. I definitely would look at AKA Viriginia Square as an alternative to other Oakwood-like accommodation in the Arlington area. My only compliant is there was construction going on across the street - while there was little noise that came through the beautiful glass windows and the engineering feat was interesting to watch - I'll be sorry if the afternoon sun is lost because of the building.

Room Tip: we were in 410 and at the end of the hall... while it was a bit of a walk to get there, we found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have been in the AKA four or five times this year 2013. Almost all of them for fifteen days. I wouldn t change my preference for AKA for any reason. It s simply my home in DC whenever I need to travel to DC, generally for business reasons. I use to have a one-bedroom suite. Floor to ceiling windows that let light come in generously. Modern furniture. Everything looks always brand new and this is something I appreciate most. Also, what is a must is the complimentary breakfast at floor 7 with astonishing views overlooking the forest of Virginia. I look forward to bring my family to DC and we will stay at AKA. No doubt. Congrats to the team! It s not only the premises but you looking after what the guest might need at any time. See you soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the AKA Virginia Square for about a week for work. The unit was magnificent. The staff was so helpful and thoughtful and I felt like I was at home. I woudl definitely recommend the AKA for anyone visiting the Arlington, VA area. Kudos to AKA Virginia Square!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Virginia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Virginia Square

Address: 3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.This modern, newly-built eight story midrise has expansive, open floor plans and floor to ceiling glass windows providing for beautiful streaming daylight. AKA Virginia Square features sophisticated, fully-furnished 1 and 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens- ideal for longer stays. On the edge of Virginia Square, Arlington’s educational and cultural center, AKA Virginia Square is situated between the vibrant Ballston and Clarendon neighborhoods and is conveniently located near the Orange line of the Washington Metro for unparalleled access to all points in the Washington, DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your AKA Virginia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Virginia Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.