We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Virginia Square

Save Saved
You added AKA Virginia Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AKA Virginia Square
3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Mountain View, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Some dissertation research necessitated that I be in Arlington for longer than 10 days, so I decided to book a 12-day stay at AKA Virginia Square based upon fellow TripAdvisor reviews of this property. AKA Virginia Square was perfect for what I needed to accomplish during the trip, as I basically needed to be anti-social and focus on research and writing.

Resources for which I was most appreciative: a professional and friendly staff (24/7; special shout outs to Sabina, Nafeesa, Sufian, and Latifa); free wi-fi; in-room kitchenette which allowed me to cook my own meals and accommodate my dietary restrictions (no gluten); in-room laundry facilities; walking distance to the Virginia Square Metro when I needed to get into DC (quick trip of 20 minutes); short walking distance to Clarendon Square (e.g., CVS Pharmacy; Trader Joe's) and to Northside Social Coffeehouse (great coffee and gluten-free baked goods along with areas to work downstairs and upstairs); meeting rooms at the top floor along with a business center for printing out any needed documents during your stay.

My only disappointment is that there is not an AKA in Boston (where I need to do the next part of my dissertation research)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaVASquare, General Manager at AKA Virginia Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review Mimi Y! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience at AKA Virginia Square. AKA has opened two new properties this year at Beverly Hills and London; therefore, Boston can be a possibility in the near future! Thank you again for your time and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
1
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the AKA Arlington for 3 weeks. This place is amazing, clean, close to DC and the staff was excellent. The accommodations were so great i had to have my wife and son come down to enjoy it with me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaVASquare, General Manager at AKA Virginia Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are appreciative of your review for AKA Virginia Square and pleased to hear your family was able to join you! Please consider us again if you return to the DC area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the AKA Virginia Square on our annual trip to DC in March. It was fabulous. The two bedroom suite was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. Sabina, in particular, was very friendly and made us feel very at home. The hotel was in a perfect location, within walking distance of our primary destination and even closer to the metro. We will definitely return next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the AKA Virginia square, it was clean and the staff were generally friendly, although there was a few instances when the front desk staff were a little snippy with friends that I had come visit (although they were never rude to me) I did have some complaints from a couple of my visitors. Other than that, the rooms are beautiful, clean and I enjoyed my stay. FYI there is also an AMAZING chicken place El Polo Rico just behind the apartment, which was great when I didnt feel like cooking.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms are the best especially rooms that have more windows for light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaVASquare, General Manager at AKA Virginia Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review LaniS! On behalf of AKA Virginia Square, we appreciate your encouraging words and acknowledgements. Also, our sincerest apologies about your visitors, this not consistant of our expectations. Your feedback is paramount and to strive for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was thoroughly impressed this hotel/apartment and the high level of service they provide. Nafeesa Saafir went above and beyond on a daily basis to make sure I felt welcome, as well as my guests. I felt like I was at home. Once I finally found a permanent place to live, I was sad to leave AKA. They had become my family. So glad there is a place in town I can refer all my friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been staying here for around 8 years now, it is still my perferred location when I come to Washington DC if they have rooms. It is not far from the metro station, the rooms are very nice it is the only place my better half will stay at, for her it is walking distance to the grocery stores, the cleaners, movie theaters, restaurants, and the metro. We never need a car when here since everything is within walking distance. The staff are amazing group of people who are always willing to help as is their Manager Daniel. We give them two thumbs up.

Room Tip: We prefer the back side of the hotel as it is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I have stayed at AKA multiple times anywhere from a short-time stay of a few days to a long-term stay of a few months. We loved it, the decor, the service and the location. The decor is incredibly modern but convenient. The apartment was very nice and had everything you could think of. The service was exceptional and I wanted to give a special shout-out to Nafessa Saafir who made our stay really enjoyable. Her and her colleagues' professionalism and warmth really made us feel at home. Also, the location was great, within walking distance to restaurants, grocery stories and metro which made it easy stay there without using a car. All in all, great experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Virginia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Virginia Square

Address: 3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty lodging in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.This modern, newly-built eight story midrise has expansive, open floor plans and floor to ceiling glass windows providing for beautiful streaming daylight. AKA Virginia Square features sophisticated, fully-furnished 1 and 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens- ideal for longer stays. On the edge of Virginia Square, Arlington’s educational and cultural center, AKA Virginia Square is situated between the vibrant Ballston and Clarendon neighborhoods and is conveniently located near the Orange line of the Washington Metro for unparalleled access to all points in the Washington, DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel and Expedia so you can book your AKA Virginia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Virginia Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.