We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Virginia Square

Save Saved
You added AKA Virginia Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AKA Virginia Square
3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, great location, enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the AKA Virginia square, it was clean and the staff were generally friendly, although there was a few instances when the front desk staff were a little snippy with friends that I had come visit (although they were never rude to me) I did have some complaints from a couple of my visitors. Other than that, the rooms are beautiful, clean and I enjoyed my stay. FYI there is also an AMAZING chicken place El Polo Rico just behind the apartment, which was great when I didnt feel like cooking.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms are the best especially rooms that have more windows for light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akaVASquare, General Manager at AKA Virginia Square, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review LaniS! On behalf of AKA Virginia Square, we appreciate your encouraging words and acknowledgements. Also, our sincerest apologies about your visitors, this not consistant of our expectations. Your feedback is paramount and to strive for excellence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
1
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was thoroughly impressed this hotel/apartment and the high level of service they provide. Nafeesa Saafir went above and beyond on a daily basis to make sure I felt welcome, as well as my guests. I felt like I was at home. Once I finally found a permanent place to live, I was sad to leave AKA. They had become my family. So glad there is a place in town I can refer all my friends!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been staying here for around 8 years now, it is still my perferred location when I come to Washington DC if they have rooms. It is not far from the metro station, the rooms are very nice it is the only place my better half will stay at, for her it is walking distance to the grocery stores, the cleaners, movie theaters, restaurants, and the metro. We never need a car when here since everything is within walking distance. The staff are amazing group of people who are always willing to help as is their Manager Daniel. We give them two thumbs up.

Room Tip: We prefer the back side of the hotel as it is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I have stayed at AKA multiple times anywhere from a short-time stay of a few days to a long-term stay of a few months. We loved it, the decor, the service and the location. The decor is incredibly modern but convenient. The apartment was very nice and had everything you could think of. The service was exceptional and I wanted to give a special shout-out to Nafessa Saafir who made our stay really enjoyable. Her and her colleagues' professionalism and warmth really made us feel at home. Also, the location was great, within walking distance to restaurants, grocery stories and metro which made it easy stay there without using a car. All in all, great experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

AKA at Virginia Square represents the highest degree of professionalism in the hotel industry. Beginning with booking, all the way through reception, stay, and departure the AKA staff showed the highest level of personal respect and professional service I have witnessed in 20-years of international travel. The staff (especially Nafeesa) exceeds not only the professional attitude but also the warmth of 5-Star hotels and exclusive resorts throughout Asia. This is now the ONLY place I will stay in the Metro area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Virginia Square location twice and give it a BIG THUMBS UP! Nafeesa Saafir was exceptionally helpful in making the reservations, and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We were always greeted with a smile, asked if everything was to our liking, and even given printed menus of restaurants we expressed interest in. AKA added a special touch by hosting a Valentine's Day social for all their guests. The apartments are very nicely appointed; with modern interiors and clean, well-kept living areas. I recommend AKA Virginia Square highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at the AKA Virginia Square for 2 months. The units have all you would need for a long term stay--- fully equipped kitchens, dining room table/chairs, living room areas with TV, in unit clothes washer/dryer, underground parking etc. The staff is incredibly attentive to all of your needs. Sufian Unseri was particularly attentive to ours needs!

Room Tip: Rooms on street side can be a bit noisy, but you get a balcony. Corner units are nice and bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AKA Virginia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Virginia Square

Address: 3409 Wilson Boulevard, Virginia Square, Arlington, VA 22201 (Formerly Hotel AKA)
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty lodging in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. The perfect place for the long stay, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.This modern, newly-built eight story midrise has expansive, open floor plans and floor to ceiling glass windows providing for beautiful streaming daylight. AKA Virginia Square features sophisticated, fully-furnished 1 and 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens- ideal for longer stays. On the edge of Virginia Square, Arlington’s educational and cultural center, AKA Virginia Square is situated between the vibrant Ballston and Clarendon neighborhoods and is conveniently located near the Orange line of the Washington Metro for unparalleled access to all points in the Washington, DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your AKA Virginia Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Virginia Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.