We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up for the Crystal City Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up for the Crystal City Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed here three separate weeks for business and have no complaints whatsoever. Very nice Marriott with large, clean rooms. All of the staff I encountered was very friendly, and helpful. The location is what makes this place great - it is attached to the underground walkway which allows you to go from one end of Crystal City to the other. You can go to many restaurants without having to go outside if it's raining. The Conceirge Lounge had decent options for breakfast, including fresh fruit, and light appetizer and salad for dinner. If I had any one opportunity for improvement it would be that they added wi-fi service to the rooms - which only had a wired internet connection (at $12.95 a day no less). All in all, a nice place to stay that I would not hesitate to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    271
    97
    28
    13
See reviews for
176
100
62
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My family of four stayed in a double room this past weekend and overall we enjoyed ourselves and the hotel. The location was the best part. Access to the metro and shops/restaurants via an underground tunnel. (Although the shops/restaurants were not open very late). The hotel was clean and beds quite comfy. Huge flat screen TV. The pool area was nice and the kids enjoyed it. One thing, the first night when we went down the life guard told us they were at capacity and we couldn't come in. Actually, we were not dressed to swim, we just wanted to see it. Capacity was 30 and for the size of the pool that seemed low. Still I appreciate that they made an effort to keep it from being super crowded. I think they put a 1/2 hr. time limit on use when at capacity so to be fair to others. Not sure how that works as the night we swam wasn't too crowded so they weren't enforcing.
Our room was on the highway side, but I didn't really notice traffic sounds. We were two doors down from the ice machine and I did hear some of that.
Front desk staff was very attentive and helpful upon check in. Room service was quick, but the pizza was gross. The housemade chips were great.
Overall, a good value for the price I paid ($109 AAA).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We are "locals" and decided to get away for a quick R&R week-end at a hotel w/pool, work-out and steam room facilities. And the CCM (Crystal City Marriott) fit the requirements.

We were situated on the 5th floor facing west..It was relatively quiet for the week-end. The queen bed w/down cover was one of the most comfortable we've slept on. Room was clean and included coffee service, cable, internet hook-up and wireless. Lots of large towels and nice bathroom. Also included mounted lighted "make-up" mirror. Good in-room temperature control AND room was dark at night. I always bring eyeshades just in case.

The work-out facilities were great. Newer treadmills, cable machines, stretching area, and a spacious "hot rock" dry sauna...Plus, large indoor pool w/ separate hot tub. It was the week-end so more kids than usual but o.k. Location is great: Crystal City Underground Mall, access to Metro(to D.C./airport) and Virginia Rail Express. The front desk area is simple --nothin' fancy, but business efficient. We enjoyed our get-away...and would book again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This hotel is average. Clean room, reasonable rates, convenient to freeway and airport. The negatives were no continental breakfast and super-slow internet access. If you're looking for a clean place to just sleep and then go, it fits the bill.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Just returned from a stay at this older Marriott property located in the Crystal City complex adjacent to Reagan National Airport. One of the nicer things about the hotel is that it connects via underground tunnel system to the Crystal City metro station. The mall itself is just a few shops - mainly just Sbarro, an ice cream/cookie store, various shops and a nice drug store for food and drinks to take back to the room.

ROOM
The room was fairly recently renovated and quiet large for DC hotel standards. There is a 42 inch LCD tv and a separate chair for lounging. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens and several pillows. My room was on the DCA side of the building and I could hear truck noise from Jefferson Davis Hwy which was on the other side of the office buildings across the street from the hotel. It wasn't that bad, but was noticeable when the tv was off.
The bathroom was very small with a tub/shower combo. Not much to add here other than it would be nice if 35 years ago when they built the hotel, if they had taken a little square footage from the room and given it to the bathroom.
As for the room itself, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

SERVICE/RESTAURANT
Here is where this hotel drops in the rating for me. The front desk service was rather slow - when I got in late one night and bought some items from the gift/pantry shop - it took 3 people several minutes to handle the line of 4 guests. They seemed not to care if you weren't checking in and let us wait until someone in the back could come out to assist with the snack purchases.
The restaurant - CC's Bistro - was ok for dinner one night. Though the staff, again, wasn't on the ball. They filled the wine glass so full that it overflowed onto the tablecloth. The next morning, I tried the restaurant again for breakfast, ordering the "oatmeal with blueberries" and got the oatmeal but no blueberries. When I asked, they brought out a banana and said they didn't have any blueberries. So, I was left to cut that myself. The service was pretty bad.

If you are wanting a decent room, in a location that allowed for good access to the District and to the airport, this hotel fills the bill. If you are expecting service - even just Marriott level service - you may be disappointed with this property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

I dont know how this property got good reviews. Its not WDC class. Its run like a middle eastern non american establishment. The managment is hostile and disrespectable to women traveling alone. There is extensive construction out one side of the builidng and it looks like ground zero. I asked for a quiet room and got a view of the contruction. When I complained I was asked not to and was treated like we dont really care what you think.
Across the street is the Hyatt. A much better place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

First I should say that I believe service workers in the DC are among the worst in the country. This was reinforced when the courtesy van arrived at the hotel with a car full of passengers and the bellman took off behind closed doors. He did not reappear until after we all had unloaded our own luggage and dragged our bags to the check-in counter. Ignoring us meant he didn't receive any tips from any of us that night. He should keep that in mind. After that initial incident, there was only one other person at the hotel who did not go out or her way to make us feel welcome. The lady who runs the concierge lounge in the evening will not give you the time of day or lift a finger to help you in any way. She is terribly, terribly rude and a very poor representative of the hotel.
That said, I enjoyed my stay at the newly redecorated Crystal City Marriott. The room is very tastefully decorated, and the beds are so comfortable that I absolutely did not want to get out of bed in the morning. The room is large, which is hard to find in DC. The bathroom is small, but there is adequate counter space. I hate having to pay for Internet, and I don't understand why I have to pay $12.95 a day at a Marriott when the Days Inn charges nothing! The location is great for traveling around the area, and there is easy access to Metro without having to go outside. There are two washers and one dryer at the hotel, which I took advantage of since I had been traveling for over a week. They are free! Bonus! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Crystal Gateway Marriott
#14 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.1 mi away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#9 of 48 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Crystal City at Washington Reagan National Airport
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Arlington Capital View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Address: 1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Arlington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy style and substance at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located in Arlington, VA - near the attractions of downtown Washington, as well as shopping at Pentagon City. We're also a short walk from the Crystal City Metro station. Our well-appointed rooms and suites are ready to meet the needs of today's travelers, with wired and wireless Internet, Marriott's Plug-In technology panels, and evening turndown service. Soundproof windows and deluxe bedding in every hotel room ensure a peaceful night's sleep here in Arlington. Hosting an event in Northern Virginia? Our hotel features almost 10,000 square feet of meeting space, including the delightful Potomac Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 400 guests. Last but not least, our knowledgeable and intuitive staff is on hand to assist you with anything you might need during your Arlington, VA visit. Book your stay at the Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, and enjoy an innovative blend of work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.