We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast is Included!
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good experience overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The location is great for travelers using public transportation into D.C. The metro train station was easily accessible via the ground level of the hotel. The room was clean, staff was wonderful. The restaurant food was mediocre, but was fine enough if we needed a late night snack. The pool was never crowded and the life guard was friendly. The hotel atmosphere was never noisy. Overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor. Nice and quiet. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Good morning Kalihah,

Thank you very much for being with us and also for letting us know about your experience. We agree that our location is ideal for exploring D.C. via the METRO and I am glad you were able to enjoy that aspect.

I was sorry however to read that you found our food only to be mediocre as we certainly want to be better than that. In fact, I will make sure our Culinary and Restaurant teams both hear this so they can step up their games.

Thank you again and I hope you will choose our hotel the next time you are back in the D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    247
    84
    25
    13
See reviews for
162
83
59
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I booked this through Priceline and I was pleasantly surprised! The bed was awesome! And the convenience was great! All you have to do is go downstairs to shop, eat, or catch the metro. I used to live in DC so this was great for me. Parking was expensive as it is in most places in the DMV area. But I loved the convenience of the metro being under the hotel. Saved tons of time and hassle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good afternoon huzuri,

Thank you very much for booking our hotel and sharing the wonderful comments about your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our location and convenience to so many things including the METRO and the shops and restaurants of Crystal City.

Please return to stay with us again the next time you are up in the D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel and it's very friendly staff surpassed my expectations. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, red carpet treatment by all of the staff throughout our stay. I did not know the area, the staff was extremely helpful in showing us how to use the metro into DC. The metro is easily accessible via a tunnel under the hotel, very convenient.
Our room was excellent, very comfortable and clean.
The hotel has an airport shuttle that takes you straight to the airport in no more than 10 minutes.
Note: The recent review 'Prison Courtyard' must be about a different property (possibly the Courtyard Marriott?), our experience was exactly the opposite. The Crystal City Marriott deserves a five star rating, from our end of July 2014 experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Good morning Sagebonaire,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review of your time at our hotel. We work very hard to provide a brilliant experience for our guests and I am so glad you enjoyed just that. From the service, to our location, to our rooms, it sounds like you had a great time and I hope this means you and your family will return to stay with us in the future.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good points: Small fitness room but with good, new, equipment. Staff friendly. Room service fast and food good. Large rooms (mine at least - King bed, sofa).
Not so good points: Furnishings are a little dates. A little bit of walk (20 minutes) away from most restaurants (I'm thinking of the newish area where Taiphoon is and other stuff).

Room Tip: Not sure if it was just my room but the free wi-fi was terrible - had to go with the optional paid i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello FBernal99,

Thank you very much for being a guest in our hotel and for taking the time to let us know about your experience. In fact, I was glad to read that you enjoyed our fitness room and found our staff to be friendly and I am sorry that the age of the furnishings detracted from your experience.

In addition, I know exactly the area you are speaking of with that restaurant and there is another area much closer. If one just walks down 20th street to Crystal Drive, there is another large selection of restaurants that are much closer.

Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We got an unbelievable group rate, so I couldn't complain if our stay were only half as nice as it was. I tried Marriott's new mobile check-in, which had a few kinks to work out, but the lovely Deborah checked us in and was fabulous! She gave us a ton of tips, showed us maps and explained the area, even gave us an additional perk that I was not expecting. She went out of her way to provide exceptional service. At the end of our trip we were back at the desk asking a question, and she greeted us like an old friend. I hope this hotel knows what a gem they have in her.

The location is terrific! It's right by the airport, and it's a pretty easy trip down Route 1 to the beltway, even in rush hour. The pedestrian tunnels under the hotel connect all the shops & restaurants of Crystal City. We didn't even visit the yellow half, but stayed in the orange section. Once we followed Deborah's advice and explored that route, it was a breeze getting anywhere we wanted.

Everything about the hotel is very clean, down to the tunnels below it & even the garage.

We had hoped to visit the pool & gym but never had time, so I can't even comment on them.

Rooms: We got a King room on the 6th floor. It was very spacious and comfortable. Of course the Marriott beds are still more comfortable than my bed at home and they always give plenty of pillows - big reasons I'm pretty loyal to the brand. Both rooms we saw were connecting rooms, so I should've requested that, as my mom was traveling with us & ended up on the 3rd floor. Mom had a room with 2 doubles and was just as comfortable, although of course there wasn't quite as much open space.

Bathrooms: Not nearly as nice as the rest of the room/hotel. They are very tiny, with the sink inside (instead of the more modern separate dressing area). We didn't both fit in the bathroom at one time. There are no fans/ventilation in the bathrooms. While there was a very nice rainfall shower-head, the tub quickly filled because it didn't drain well. The toilet also didn't flush well. (It always had to be flushed more than once, often several times before it was clean.) The water pressure was good and hot water was always available. The toiletries were also nice, even the hand soap they provide.

Weird experience: When mom got her bill on check-out day, she was charged for internet for all 4 nights. It didn't show up on the bill on my Marriott app, so we went to the desk. Now mom does have a new tablet, but she knows when she's going online & she never did. If it were my room, I'd have thought perhaps I accidentally did something to incur the charge, but mom would never chance it. The lady at the desk said you need to explicitly accept the charge every single day & it had to be from inside the room. She acted like she doubted our story that it happened 4 days in a row, but she did reverse the charges. I hate to think this of Marriott, but I have been hearing more stories of hotels adding random charges to your bill hoping you don't notice... and we probably wouldn't have, except there was no reason her room would've cost more than ours. I hope no one at Marriott thinks we were trying to rip them off, but part of me wonders if they were trying to do the same. Or is their wireless not exact in locating connection points? I can guarantee she never would've known what the Ethernet wire was in her room, and she had nothing to connect that to, if that was the only way to access the internet.

Green Features: They ask you to hang towels you will reuse & they will replace any others. This was the perfect balance of environmentally-friendly and comfort.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello KerrBerr,

Thank you so much for your feedback to your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and that Deborah was able to assist you while you were here. I can tell you that she is truly a joy to work with and I will make sure she is recognized for how she impacted your stay.

As for the internet in the guest room, the Front Desk was right in that when signing on through wired or wireless in the room, the guest is prompted to accept the charges. I will certainly have our IT person double check the system processes to see if there is an issue, but I am glad they were able to adjust off the charges for your mother.

Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott for four nights while attending the convention of Jehovah's Witnesses in FedEx Field Landover. We arrived at the Marriott around 5 PM and check in was very easy and the front desk was very helpful. We had a room on the seventh floor and even though the hotel was very crowded we seem to never have to wait for one of the three elevators. We ordered breakfast in our room two mornings in a row and the food was excellent they have a guarantee that if the food is not delivered on time it was free so one of our breakfast's was free no questions asked the room service man just took it off the bill. On our last night we had dinner at the restaurant and also the service and food was excellent. Monday morning the shuttle to the airport was on time with no problems I can highly recommend staying at this hotel in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good afternoon GeraldHirsh,

Thank you so much for selecting to stay with us for such a great event. I truly appreciate that you were here and I am so happy to hear how wonderful your stay was. Your comments about our hotel, check in, the room, breakfast and even the shuttle were great to read and I am glad you took the time to share your feedback.

Thank you again and I hope you will stay with us the next time you find yourself back in the D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great location within minutes to DC for the festival. We had a good time! The rooms were clean the indoor pool was great with kids, they loved it. We initially took a train down but it's so much more faster and easier to just drive down and find parking.

AT first the local cab drivers scared us and even said they wouldn't advise to drive or even himself drive us in to the DC area for the festival. Because we are New Yorkers, we thought how bad could it be? Sure enough it was a breeze! the traffic was normal and expected, nothing crazy.

Room Tip: very high up. if you don't like heights ask for lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good morning BenAylin,

I am so happy you were able to enjoy the fantastic Cherry Blossom Festival in D.C. and that you chose to stay with us as you did. It is really a great time of year here and I am pleased you were able to be a part of it.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for this visit and I am so glad that your kids were able to enjoy our indoor pool while they were here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Address: 1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#14 Business Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy style and substance at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport. Our hotel is conveniently located in Arlington, VA - near the attractions of downtown Washington, as well as shopping at Pentagon City. We're also a short walk from the Crystal City Metro station. Our well-appointed rooms and suites are ready to meet the needs of today's travelers, with wired and wireless Internet, Marriott's Plug-In technology panels, and evening turndown service. Soundproof windows and deluxe bedding in every hotel room ensure a peaceful night's sleep here in Arlington. Hosting an event in Northern Virginia? Our hotel features almost 10,000 square feet of meeting space, including the delightful Potomac Ballroom, which can accommodate up to 400 guests. Last but not least, our knowledgeable and intuitive staff is on hand to assist you with anything you might need during your Arlington, VA visit. Book your stay at the Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, and enjoy an innovative blend of work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.