We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but AC very loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice but AC very loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pros:
- good location (close to National Airport and 2 min walk form metro station)
- Comfortable room, clean
- Fridge
- Complimentary shuttle to the airport (5-7 min)

Cons:
- Air conditioning very loud
- Small bathroom that smelled smoke
- Priority member lane at check-inn not respected
- 12$ per day for wifi (free if Elite status)

Note : make sure to go to the right Marriott because there is another one next to the same metro station

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello Oudhay,

Thank you for being with us and I am sorry that everything was not as great as we work towards. In fact, your comments about the smoke smell in the bathroom and the Marriott Elite lane were very concerning to me. Those comments will be fully shared among all of the hotel's leadership so that we can focus our efforts to improve our service.

I was also very thankful to read that you enjoyed our location, found the room to be comfortable and clean, liked having a refrigerator in the room and utilized the complimentary shuttle to the airport.

Thank you again and I hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    234
    78
    25
    13
See reviews for
159
78
57
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Long story short ... NOT worth the money!! Fridge was missing. The replacement was half the size & wasn't put in the cabinet where it belonged. It was left on the floor by the desk. Furniture was badly dated and worn. It hadn't been dusted in a while. Double bed mattresses are very thin & caved in the middle. I got a MUCH better deal at the Crystal City Gateway Marriott and I know the rooms are better because I've stayed there before. I originally was going to stay for 5 nights but am cutting it short to 1 night. There are only 2 good things about this place. 1) staff is wonderful. 2) walking distance from subway.

Room Tip: Stay at the Crystal City Gateway instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Good morning Kristi M,

I am so sorry to learn that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. I am very concerned about what you wrote and will be following up with the appropriate leaders to make sure they are aware and addressing the issues with their teams.

Again, I am very sorry that you were so dissatisfied but pleased that you did find our staff to be wonderful and enjoyed our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this Marriott this past weekend. Decent hotel, everything seemed in good condition. Metro station and a lot of shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Receptionists were outstanding and parking lot attendant was very nice. Now here are the 3 major gripes I have about this property. The air conditioning unit is VERY loud, takes some getting used to at night while trying to sleep. Also, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. By the way, the bathroom is extremely small. Lastly, DO NOT use the ice vending machine on the 8th floor. Suspicious black particles in the ice. Disgusting!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good morning Naisun M,

On behalf of all of the senior leadership here at our hotel, we have read your comments and are very sorry that everything was not better for your stay. In fact, I will be meeting personally with our Engineering team to make sure that your AC and ice machine comments are addressed as both of those are on regular cleanings, maintenance and inspection programs.

In addition, I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our location and especially the service you experienced from our desk and parking attendants. I can tell you that everyone here works very hard to provide a top level of service and I am pleased you experienced that.

Thank you again and please know we will address the problems you identified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is a good, clean, reasonably-priced choice if you don't want to stay in downtown DC. It looks as if it was recently redecorated and possibly renovated. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was quite compact, but OK otherwise - everything worked and we never ran out of hot water. Hotel personnel at the Front Desk and in the restaurant were exceptionally nice.

Parking (about $25/day) is available under the hotel; you enter and exit via an easy to find opening at street level. It is on the "Ground" floor. Go to the "Lobby" floor to check in, dine, etc. You may pay for your parking here or at the garage exit.

This hotel is technically over the Crystal City Metro Station (blue & yellow lines), but in reality, you will have about a two block walk through an underground "mall" to get to the actual station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good evening Karin M,

Thank you very much for being with us and for sharing your great review. It was nice to read that you found our hotel to be nice, reasonably priced and comfortable; not to mention that you never ran out of hot water. In addition, your comment about the Front Desk and Restaurant hosts being exceptionally nice was wonderful to read. And I am glad you were able to capitalize on our great location, our connection to the METRO, our proximity to downtown and even the underground shops.

Thank you again and I hope we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us the next time you find yourself in the D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Good location for DC business. Easy access to Metro and major roadways into Capital area. Staff attentive, rooms nicely decorated and clean. Reasonably quiet. I definitely will stay there again.

Having had some bad experiences recently with hotel check in staff I really appreciated how welcoming, polite and friendly the staff at registration is at this Marriott!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good afternoon KL,

From reading your review, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay which I am very happy about. From our location, to our staff, to our rooms and certainly to our polite and friendly front desk staff, it sounds like we achieved what we strive for.

I am happy that you will return and I hope the next time you are here you enjoy your stay even more as we are always working to improve our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We got to the hotel at noon and our room was ready. I had checked in the night before using the Marriott app. This hotel is lucky to have an employee like Felicia at the front desk. She was extremely nice and welcoming. She explained the details of the hotel and instructed us where to park. Our room was very nice. Beds were comfortable. The Metro was under the hotel as well as several shops, Dunkin Donuts, Au Bon Pain, Subway. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good afternoon tnpharmer,

Wow, what a wonderful review you have written about your time at our hotel. Thank you so much for not only choosing to stay with us, but also for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments about the room, the location and certainly about Felisha were wonderful to read and I truly appreciate it.

Please know not only will your comments be heard by our entire hotel but Felisha will be recognized for how she impacted your stay.

Thank you again and I hope we will see you with us the next time you are in the D.C. area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife & I spent 2 nights at this Marriott last week. The hotel is old but Marriott has done a nice job in keeping it updated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was an average size although the bathroom was kind of small. The concierge lounge was comfortable and nicely run. The evening deserts were a fresh treat. For some reason, the pool was closed until 5 PM. This was annoying in that my wife wanted to use it in the morning to work out. The hotel management should get this fixed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good afternoon StanS40,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us recently and also for sharing your feedback about your time in our hotel. We certainly work hard to provide as wonderful an experience for our guests as we can and I am glad you enjoyed yourself. In fact, your comments about our staff, the room and the Concierge Lounge were great to read and we will certainly share them with our entire team.

As far as our pool, our County requires us to have a certified lifeguard on duty any time the pool is open. Currently we operate on hours that meet that need and provide service to accommodate most of our guests. At this time, on average our pool is open from 6am to 9am and 5pm to 11pm on Monday through Friday, while on weekends we open it all day from 8am until 11pm.

Thank you again and the next time you are here, if you find you need access to a pool when we are closed, we will be more thea happy to identify alternatives that may be available for the times you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Address: 1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
#15 Family Hotel in Arlington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Arlington and the surrounding area while enjoying the comforts of the Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport. Conveniently situated just a mile from the airport, our Arlington, VA hotel is just steps away from popular restaurants, iconic theaters and Pentagon City shopping. Also located within walking distance of the Crystal City Metro Station, guests of our premier hotel in Arlington, VA can easily access Washington, D.C. Sights and destinations while enjoying luxurious guest rooms, gracious on-site services and high-tech business amenities. Featuring a wide range of vacation packages, our hotel's location in Arlington, Virginia makes it an ideal choice for family vacations, romantic escapes or successful business adventures. Additionally, our hotel's elegant ballrooms and meeting spaces, professional event managers and on-site catering allow business and social planners to create and host inspirational business conferences, impressive corporate meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.