We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, easy access to Metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Save Saved
You added Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Arlington
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, easy access to Metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Clean rooms, an attendant on duty at the pool, friendly staff, a nice experience. Stayed 2 nights, in town for the Cherry Blossom festival. Chose the hotel based on reviews, price, and easy access to the Metro. Staff did a great job cleaning the room. Windows have a little ledge so you can sit, not much of a view in the area, but nice to sit and soak up the morning sun.
If I had to find something to pick on, it would be the towels. The pool had nice, soft, fluffy towels, the room had thin, coarse towels.

Room Tip: The corner rooms ending in 34 and 36 can see the river and part of DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    185
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
117
64
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The rooms are nice. They gave me both an early check in and a late check out which made the stay much easier. The rooms have refrigerators but no safe which is a bit odd. The gym is fine but small for the size of the hotel. I was up really early and did not have to wait for a treadmill but I bet it can get really busy at times. The location of the hotel did not really matter to me since I was there for a meeting at the hotel. I found a trail along the Potomac really close to the hotel which made for a fun bike ride using one of the Capital Bikeshare bikes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here while visiting D.C. and we were not unhappy with our choice. This property has access via the elevator to the Crystal City Shops which provides access to a lot of eateries but most importantly it is a stop for the Metro rail system that can take you almost anywhere in the D.C. area. Our room was very nice with incredibly comfortable beds. We had requested an early check in because we arrived at Reagan National airport at 9:00am. We were very happy to find our room ready when we arrived at 10:00am. The lobby area had a small bar and restaurant. Although we did not use either of them, there were a lot of people that did and they seemed to be enjoying themselves there. They also offered free Wi-Fi in those areas. Our stay here could have been great except for one thing. They somehow didn't make up our room not just once but twice in the 4 days we were there. I never had housekeeping forget to make up a room in any hotel I've ever stayed at and I wasn't upset the first time it happened. But when it happened again I as stunned. After the second time I reported it and verified that it wasn't the hotel policy to provide every other day maid service. Actually, I really wasn't upset about it, just really surprised. Regardless, we did enjoy our stay here and I would still recommend this property. Also, Marriott has another property in the immediate area, the Crystal Gateway Marriott, which also has access to the Crystal City Shops and the Metro via an underground tunnel too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Your comments, though mixed with positive and a negative, were very good for us to hear; thank you for taking the time to share them.

As you can tell from most of your stay, many of us work very hard to provide a wonderful experience for our guests and I am so disappointed with the housekeeping issue you encountered. That said, I am very thankful that you reported it so it could be addressed with those invovled. Certainly no cleaning a room is unacceptable and not how we operate and I am very sorry that happened to you.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and again, thank you for taking the time to report your problem so we can find out what happened and fix it from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recent business trip to DC. I decided to stay here, based on the good reviews and access to National airport.

Many have already commented on the location. The hotel is set above a complex of underground stores and restaurants, and the the Crystal City Metro station which makes it very easy to access wshington via the blue line. Most of the restaurants underground are fast food but a few minutes from the hotel there is plenty of choice in a whole row of restaurants around 23rd Street/Eades.

Again like others I was a little disappointed with my room. I had just stayed in 2 other Marriotts over the preceding few days and the room I got was very dated and tired compared with either of the other Hotels and also felt small. Not impressed since the Crytal City Marriott cost more than either of the other two Marriotts ! On the plus side the usual Marriott bed was as comfortable as ever and the the room was clean and the AC worked (but was noisy).

Overall the location was great but the Marriott itself was only OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here on business. I usually stay at the Crystal Gateway Marriott but based on great reviews I decided to give this location a try.

To begin, the location is great. As others have mentioned, the hotel is in the middle of the Crystal City complex and is easily accessible to stores, restaurants, and the Metro underground.

Check-in was fine. The desk staff immediately acknowledged my Platinum status. I was a bit underwhelmed with the room. The carpet and furnishings seem a bit dated. Nevertheless, the room was very clean.

I had breakfast one morning in the lobby restaurant. A big pet peeve of mine is for restaurants not to be ready for customers at the posted opening time. That was the case here. Indeed, the buffet was not even close to being ready. Along those same lines, the buffet offerings were pretty small for a full-sized Marriott (the buffet at the Crystal Gateway Marriott seems at least twice as big to me) although the cost was pricey. The staff was fairly courteous.

Overall the stay was pretty good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at CCM for a business event. The rooms are a decent size. We asked to be in a quiet area and were -- off the main street. We had an adjoining room but really heard no noise at all. The restaurant was pricey for breakfast. The bar staff very engaged in providing good customer service. Quite a bit more in the area for food, etc than I realized. Quick metro ride into DC. Overall, I was much more impressed than I thought I would be. I would go back. Would have appreciated it if they gave us concierge club access .... the property I have stayed at prior years just about always did.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (only 11 so none are too high), quiet side, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JT M, Manager at Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. I am so happy to hear you liked our location (yes there are a lot of great dining options around us as well) and you found our bar staff engaged and service focused.

And yes, I wish we could give everyone access to our Concierge Lounge but between the high number of Marriott Elite Reward members and those paying concierge rates, it can get quite crowded. So in order to make sure we are providing the service to those guests we unfortunately can not extend it to everyone.

Thank you again for your comments and thank you for having chosen to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Maybe a perfect location. A short shuttle ride from DCA or one stop on Metro or a short walk take your pick. This hotel is also provides underground access to shopping, the Metro, theatre and restaurants. The Mount Vernon trail system is just a block from the hotel and provides miles of trails to run or bike. Bike-share is available at the hotel nice to ride to DC sites. Just minutes from DC sites via Yellow Metro line...

Room Tip: There was no noise from the airport, frankly any room is great as there is nothing really to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport

Also Known As:
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel
Crystal City Marriott At Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Crystal City Marriott
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott
Address: 1999 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Arlington
#17 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the Reagan National Airport, this hotel offers hotel suites and rooms for business and leisure travelers. Nearby Crystal City offers many shops, restaurants and DC attractions for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.