We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never that impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cakelove

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cakelove
4150 Campbell Ave. Suite 105, Arlington, VA 22206
703.933.0099
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #538 of 709 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Never that impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've had cakes from here for several years at different occassions and I have never been that impressed. I think they are overrated and overpriced. Maybe it's just been bad luck.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cupcakes galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Large assortment of cupcakes. It was ok. Kind of pricey. I think I need to give it another try. But it was kind of cool.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Product, but Kinda Pricey.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

How often do you actually find buttercream frosting made with real butter? Well, you can taste the butter and feel it melt in your mouth. Yum! The lightness of the frosting is well balanced by a heavier cake. What a welcome change from the usual "me-too" so called artisan cupcake baker cashing in on a trend, where art-over-substance box-mix ho-hum is super-slathered in lard tasting stuff. The seasalt carmel cupcake is my fav, with the occasional little chunk of coarse salt in the carmel letting me know this cupcake features truth in advertising. The biggest problem I see for this baker with his great story is his turning off repeat visits with tooooo steep of a price. It's a great cupcake, but still just a cupcake. With a half dozen cupcakes costing the same as a short-rib dinner, I'll have to reconsider another stop at the bakery. The price hurts my rating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expensive, Very Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I want to like Cakelove, but it's hard to when it's so expensive! I know that cupcakeries and specialty cake shops are all expensive, but it kind of hurts to spend that much on a small cake.

I got a brown velvet cake and it was just okay. The cake was pretty dense, and the flavors of the cake and frosting didn't stand out as being amazing to me. I did like the unstructured look of it; it didn't look like it was trying to be perfect which I liked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Birthday Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place has the best cupcakes I've had in a long time with new and interesting flavors that I haven't had before. I had a chocolate cupcake with cheesecake filling frosting. It was amazing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cakelove also viewed

 

Been to Cakelove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cakelove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.