We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to consume mega calories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's To The Third

Ray's To The Third
1650 Wilson Blvd, On The Corner Of N. Quinn Street, Arlington, VA 22209
703-974-7171
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 685 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great place to consume mega calories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Friends were in from out of town and we were ready for some indulgence. Boy did this place fit the bill. The decor and atmosphere were super casual. Service was courteous and swift, and no awkward glances from the server when we decided to split everything.

On our order: two big devil burgers (10 ounces vs the 1/3 lb little devils). A vanilla and a boozy banana foster's shake, onion fries, tater tots, and french fries. All three of the sides were individual orders and were plenty for our party of four.

The burgers were big, juicy, packed with beef flavor, and perfectly cooked to the desired temperature. The buns did not overwhelm the sandwich, but complemented the meat perfectly. The crispy, ale battered onion fries were the hit of the table. The tater tots were well received as well, but unfortunately the fries were forgettable. The shakes did not disappoint. Vanilla may be boring in some folks' eyes, but this was creamy, dreamy and full of vanilla essence - a good judge of quality when working with limited ingredients. The foster's shake was a wow on your taste buds blending all the of flavors reminiscent of the classic dessert.....banana, caramel, rum, brown sugar, cinnamon, etc.

All in all, we satisfied our cravings on all levels including sweet, salty, crunchy, juicy, and creamy. We left happy and satiated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    159
    62
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Best burgers ever. You don't need fries. Service was a little slow but it was worth it. Will certainly be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends and the kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Decided to go to Rays to the Third to try out the burgers since we were happy with the steaks at Ray's the Steak. Burgers were juicy with a variety of toppings. I had the Fat Joe which was delicious .The Milkshakes were thick you almost needed a spoon to enjoy it. The sirloin steak was just ok. my kids did not really like the mac and cheese but devoured the onion fries. They also had Bison burger that my husband had with the bone marrow.They also have a selection of beers and wine. We had our burger craving satisfied. Our server was great. Very attentive .He even told us that the tip was included in our bill since we were a big party, when we got the bill. Great service, good food. Will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Giant Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family was on a road trip visiting Washington, D.C. and were staying a few blocks away. Our hotel recommended Ray's and we were not disappointed! The burgers are HUGE and the sides are plentiful.

The only issue with Ray's is that the service is very slow. What should be a 1 hour dinner ended up being 2 hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've had many a burger in my life and this place takes the prize as the best. The New Jack Zing (blackened burger, pepper jack cheese, grilled onions, charred jalapeños and roasted garlic) is SENSATIONAL (and that's just ONE example)!!!!
Well worth the wait and I challenge you to find better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's To The Third also viewed

 

Been to Ray's To The Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's To The Third, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.