We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's To The Third

Ray's To The Third
1650 Wilson Blvd, On The Corner Of N. Quinn Street, Arlington, VA 22209
703-974-7171
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 653 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped at Ray's after visiting Arlington National Cemetery and the Pentagon. There was a short wait during the lunch rush and we were seated within 10 minutes. The burgers we ordered were outstanding, as were the fried chicken strips/breasts we ordered for our son. Everything was prepared very well and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    193
    144
    56
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Free fries-what else do you need to know?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went here with all the hype and was surprised that it was very very good. The pepper coated burger had a zing to it and the quality of the meat was top notch. the free fries is a nice gimmick but they are not as good as the burgers.

Also-trip advisor---change picture at top of review . the place moved across the street and is now Rays Hellburger #3

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even better than the old Hell Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Like many of the locals I was shocked when Ray's Hell Burger closed its doors. Not to worry, Ray's to the Third combines the best of Hell Burger and Steaks in one improved location. Still the best burgers I've ever had and now with unlimited fries and an expanded milkshake offering, in an improved environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“For burgers, this is the best place to go in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are millions (OK, well certainly hundreds) of burger joints in the DC area that range from fast food to high end, super-pricey. Rays has high end gourmet burgers at a reasonable price, but be prepared for lines out the door and, if you go during high dinner times it will be hard to find a place to sit down, so be prepared to get it "to go". Thank god, they now have "mini" burgers of the fully sized behemoths that they are known for. I just cannot eat a GIANT burger any more and the "mini" burgers are about the size of a normal hamburger (not a slider, but more like a Whopper or Big Mac size). The variety of sauces and condiments you can have on the burger is fantastic and they have a reasonably large number of "signature" burgers, like one with blue cheese and some kind of sauce, another that is hot, hot, hot with chilis and i don't know what else. The burger is ground there in the store and is very high quality meat. I always wonder if it might be from the rest of the cow that is not steak (seeing as Ray's has a steakhouse just a block away). I'm good with that. Good beef is good beef. They give a nod to some upscale sides, like fried sweet potatoes, but also have the standard fries which are good, but nothing you can't get anywhere else like Five Guys. The best burger experience in the DC area by far. Hey, this is where President Obama too Vladimir Putin for the "burger summit" a number of years ago. Barack knows his burger!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Juicy Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Some great burgers and side dishes. Love the better atmosphere from Ray' Hell Burger which is gross and greasy. This is a much better atmosphere to enjoy a really super hamburger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's To The Third also viewed

 

Been to Ray's To The Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's To The Third, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.