We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet

Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet
4401 Wilson Blvd, Ste 103, Arlington, VA 22203
(703) 243-7900
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 683 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Glebe
Transit: Ballston Metro Stop on the Orange Line. Exit and walk kitty corner through the courtyard with the Cosi and Potbelly Sandwich shops. Grand Cru is located in the next courtyard with the fountain.
Description: Grand Cru is a French American Bistro and Wine bar offering fine food in a cozy European style atmosphere. One of the key advantages of Grand Cru is our on site wine store with over 450 premium wines from around the world. Any of these retail priced wines can be enjoyed with your dinner with a modest on premise service fee. Grand Cru also features a selection of over 50 domestic and hard to get imported beers. The menu at Grand Cru consists of an impressive array of tapas items, world class entrees, fondue and hand crafted desserts. the idea is equisite food paired great wines at a price you can afford. But if you are in the mood to eat at home, stop by and pick up a bottle of wine to go.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at the Westin on Glebe, and this was just around the corner on the backside courtyard. Interesting setup wherein you can shop for a bottle of wine in the restaurant, pay retail for the wine, and have it served at dinner for a modest uncorking fee. Opted for the butternut squash soup as an appetizer. As good as it gets. For main course, had the wild mushroom orzo that was excellent and shared a mac and cheese that was made with gruyere cheese and applewood smoked bacon bits over rigatoni. Excellent as well. Service was polite, friendly and attentive. Excellent setting, food, service and value. Will repeat if we come back to Arlington in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank 49skeeter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious food at reasonable prices. A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

At a recent conference, our group went to Grand Cru. I was expecting a decent meal at the usual inflated DC prices, but I was surprised. Grand Cru had well prepared, creative food offerings at reasonable prices with friendly attentive service with none of pretentiousness often found in good DC restaurants. They offer tapas along with entrees and a unique service where you can select one of their well priced bottles of wine from their store and have it served at the table for a small corkage fee. I began with julienne duck bruschetta with roasted peppers, sweet onions, goat cheese and a cider-mustard reduction, real knockout of rich flavors. I followed this with Wild Mushroom Orzo with wild mushrooms, melted gruyere cheese, finished with a white truffle drizzle. Best I have had this side of Italy. I ended with excellent creme brule with three different flavors- vanilla bean, deep chocolate and pistachio. Notable about the service was the wait staff's willingness to provide separate checks, even splitting shared items on the bill. All for very reasonable prices.

Visited March 2014
Thank Barton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Try the executive lunch! Great prices for great food". Service is excellent friendly and understands the time crunch at lunch!

Visited December 2013
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here- each of us had some thing different, starting with mussels, cheese and meat trays and beet salad-all very good. Our entrees were salmon, butterfish and shrimp, and lamb shank. Good house wine are affordable price and plenty of food! We'd eat here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank dngma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent wine selection, great food, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've eaten here on several occasions throughout the year. Each visit was superb. Weather permitting you should sit outside to enjoy the city sounds, people watching, and the nearby fountain. The service has always been excellent; friendly and quick staff.

Chances are, if you're coming here it's for the wine. That being said, don't overlook the food menu! Surprisingly this little place cooks up some great dishes. Their soups are always delicious and I've had the potato gnocchi (red onions could have been cooked perhaps a bit longer), crab cakes, the warm brie & honey, and the roasted chicken breast. All of them were very good.

Now, the most important part - the wine. Normally you'd expect a markup at a restaurant, but I'm fairly certain these bottles are marked up only a dollar or two, if anything at all. Earlier this week I had a bottle of 2010 Duckhorn Merlot and the cost was the same as any wine store. The selection isn't gargantuan but it certainly has variety -- some local VA wines as well as the Napa Valley staples, plus others from around the country/world.

I wouldn't call Grand Cru cheap, but it certainly is a bargain for what I feel you get. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank volyblmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet also viewed

Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA

Been to Grand Cru Wine and Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing