We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Ballston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Way better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I don't know where the negative reviews came from for this hotel. The room was extra large with 5 of us staying we still had lots of room. The breakfast was above average and the staff are exceptional. The free parking is a big bonus as some hotels in DC charge $40 per night. It is a very pleasant and safe neighbourhood. When taking the 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro, take different routes through the utterly charming residential neighbourhoods. We had an issue with the sink in the bathroom and a maintenance man was there in minutes to correct the problem. This hotel provided us with a very pleasant and economical week long stay in Washington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    43
    18
    13
See reviews for
78
27
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after dark and found the highway system a little confusing, but once we arrived we were very pleased. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean. There was a mouse trap behind the TV, but no evidence of vermin were seen.This hotel was constructed in a square with parking inside the open center of the square with parking underneath the building available as well. I felt my vehicle was safe in any parking area. The breakfast was well stocked with eggs, sausage and waffles as hot items. The eating area had a center long, high table with plenty of electrical outlets if you desired to use or charge an electronic device. There were other chair and table option to sit at. The location was outside of the hustle and bustle of DC, with the rail station being a mere four blocks away & the trip to the Smithsonian exit about 15-20 minutes. If you didn't want to walk to the rail the hotel provides transportation every hour on the hour via van. There were plenty of eating establishments surrounding the hotel. A lot of options for delivery of meals at a reasonable cost - we ordered Indian food delivered during one night of our stay. I would very much suggest this place for your next vacation to DC. The only reason I did not give the site an excellent review was due to the mouse traps. I appreciated that they were either to prevent or eradicate, but it was still a little creepy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We will stay here when we visit DC again. Free on-site parking. Free breakfast. 2miles from Metro, free shuttle service to/from metro. (DC just a few stops from this metro location) VERY clean room (they even washed blankets & spreads with every check out) , excellent accommodation for my family- myself, my 3 kids, and my parents. Req 2 rooms w/ 2beds in each room, they upgraded us to 2 rooms w/ adj sittiing area. Plenty of room for everyone. Felt safe. Front Desk told me they were going to renovate guest rooms in about 1 year. I thought the rooms were fine. No pool but that was fine- when we got back from long days of sightseeing there was no time to swim.. VERY helpful front desk. We walked from hotel to nearby restaurants for dinner, safe, clean location.
I will highly recommend this property to any of my family & friends that plan to go to DC.

Room Tip: 1/2 rooms face courtyard type of parking lot, probably very quiet. We faced road, more to "loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On a recent sight seeing trip to the Wash DC area, we stayed overnight at the Comfort Inn Ballston. The hotel is near the Ballston Metro station so all DC attractions are nearby via the Metro.

The staff was very courteous and attentive upon check in and check out. The room was large and fairly luxurious, nice comfortable beds with soft pillows, hi def widescreen TV, high speed internet, a small frig, microwave, and coffee maker. Very nice accommodations and, considering the cost of the room, an extremely good value.

The breakfast, which was included in the room price, had a large selection of cereals, bakery goods, fruits, yogurt, juices, hot cocoa, coffee, milk, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and pancakes. The variety would certainly meet most anyone's tastes. It was a self serve buffet, so it was quick also, leaving more sight seeing time.

We will stay here on our next DC trip, whenever that may be, and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the inside parking lot which was very quiet. I had seen from other reviews tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Train station is 3-4 blocks away, so this would be good cheap location to stay for tourists.. While the breakfast area is very modern, the new renovations are kind of a lipstick on a pig because the halls and rooms smell and the rooms are outdated. The breakfast is low budget, so if you're looking for something health, your options are limited. The front desk seemed very disorganized. Check-in was slow and our keys were not coded properly, so we were locked out of our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenManager0210, Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am sorry that your experience was not up to your expectation. We are planning to renovate our rooms in a very near future to enhance the looks and feels of the guest rooms. We will be looking at other issues pointed out so that we can enhance our guests' experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while exploring D.C. It is much cheaper than hotels directly in D.C., and is an easy subway ride to the places we wanted to go.

The hotel was clean, safe, and an newly updated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My GF and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Ballston on Friday, August 9. We were a little worried because it had some bad reviews due to the renovation work going on. When we got there, we were pleasantly surprised that they had just finished the renovations.

Start off with plentiful and FREE parking. The same can't be said for the Holiday Inn Ballston, which charges $14/Day.

The lobby was pristine and the check-in very simple. The clerk even upgraded our room at no charge, which was nice. We got a King room and it was HUGE. Large sitting area, bed area, and a smallish bathroom.

Breakfast in the morning was good. They had a ho breakfast with Eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, and pastries. It was pretty good quality for a hotel buffet breakfast.

Overall, it was definitely a good deal. It was the cheapest place in Ballston that night and I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Address: 1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.