We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Newly Renovated Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Ballston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ballston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Sterling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in Newly Renovated Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My GF and I stayed at the Comfort Inn Ballston on Friday, August 9. We were a little worried because it had some bad reviews due to the renovation work going on. When we got there, we were pleasantly surprised that they had just finished the renovations.

Start off with plentiful and FREE parking. The same can't be said for the Holiday Inn Ballston, which charges $14/Day.

The lobby was pristine and the check-in very simple. The clerk even upgraded our room at no charge, which was nice. We got a King room and it was HUGE. Large sitting area, bed area, and a smallish bathroom.

Breakfast in the morning was good. They had a ho breakfast with Eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, and pastries. It was pretty good quality for a hotel buffet breakfast.

Overall, it was definitely a good deal. It was the cheapest place in Ballston that night and I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    74
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
66
22
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chico,ca
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've stayed here multiple times to visit our son as few places in the area . Older property, recent renovation, a good location. Easy walk to the Ballston area bars, restaurants and shopping as well as metro. Best is free parking. Marriott has opened new hotel in the area that's better but parking is not free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great place to stay when visiting Washington DC. We moved from an expensive hotel in downtown DC and were so happy we did. The only reason I did not give this a five is because the Metro is a 10 minute walk BUT they have a shuttle every hour which is very dependable. We stayed 6 nights and it was great. The staff were very friendly and very helpful! Rooms were nicer than the expensive hotel in DC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was a very clean hotel and the staff was very friendly. It is an older hotel but they are in the process of trying to update it. They do offer a complimentary breakfast but there was not much of a selection. Dining area was small. They say it is a 10 minute walk from the metro but it is actually longer. However, they do offer a shuttle but leaves oly on the hour but not betweene the hours of 12-2. There are not many restaurants in the area so we mainly ate in Washington, D.C. itself. If I had to do it again I would find a hotel closer to the metro and one that actually had a restaurtant and a pool. They do offer a AAA discount.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff here are exceptional. They gave me toothpaste, a big need given airport security; nevertheless, one could argue that's standard these days. But this morning as I got ready to go to an important meeting, I lost the button to my pants. Quit laughing--I've only gained 10 pounds this year, and it was all muscle :-) They fixed me up with a little sewing kit after only a minute of searching (apparently it's not as frequently requested as toothpaste). In all, I've needed to go to the front desk 3 times in 24 hours--and no, I'm not normally so high maintenance--and the three different people at the desk have all been very friendly and upbeat.

One more note... I came here a few years ago, and the wireless internet was slow, so I decided not to return. I left arrangements this time for last-minute and so ended up back here by process of elimination, and the free wireless internet now is massively improved. I'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Room had all that was promised: 2 beds, TV, free Wi-Fi, fridge, microwave, safe (it was big enough to accommodate two 15 inch laptops). Our room was facing N Glebe road, but still was quiet enough to sleep.
Breakfast was hot eggs, sausages, cereal, milk, coffee, apples, banana, oranges, donuts, waffles.
Hotel had a gym downstairs in the basement. Nothing special: treadmill, elliptical, bicycle and weights machine.
There was 20 miles long jogging trail 5 min walk from the hotel, although there were also a lot of people jogging on the streets.
Most of people staying in the hotel were vacationers, although you do see some people staying here on business trip during the week days.
Parking space at the hotel was plentiful.
We liked the location - 10 min walk from metro station Balliston MU. This metro station is located on orange lane, that takes you right to downtown: White House, Smithsonian, Capitol etc.
The metro ride is about 15 min and costs $2 - $3 one way depending on time of the day and distance.
Overall the hotel is nothing special, but not expensive either.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are facing the court, but don't have as nice view as rooms on the outside side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinton falls, nj
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

you will not miss home ( if you live in a old house or an apartment ) you will feel right at home. things are a little old but everything works and you can get by.

silent and good ac, spacious rooms and good beds, and best of all - no smoking for the entire hotel. half the price of nearby hotels. free parking and a good breakfast. I am going back here.

old plumbing and a little mess due to ongoing renovation, but it really wont bother you. they should change the shower heads in the bathrooms, then i wouldnt have any complaints at all.

overall i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn
Address: 1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.