We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you photos show as your lobby !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Ballston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Ballston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
fort wayne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not what you photos show as your lobby !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You need to remove the lobby photo on your web site false advertising, two years come on!
This Hotel Ballston urgently needs a visit by your EXECUTIVE UNDER COVER BOSS
Seeing for your self is better than describing to a comment pigeon hole in an endless feed back box. Your greeted by a barron and I do mean Barron Lobby. When speaking to the manager and asking how long it's been like this he replied TWO YEARS. Yes 2 years!
The lobby is stripped to the bare steel studs and concrete, the only color is a through coating
of dry wall dust over the entire entry that follows you through the elevator and down the carpeted hall of each floor to your room. The room was a bit small but fine. I did request
the sink stopper to be replaced and yes it promptly was by the next day. I realize this is near Washington DC and they do thing very slowly in Washington. But this is not our TAX dollars
it's our vacation fund, and it doesn't seem just to charge the full amount you do for three nights in a partially complete motel. The make do breakfast was like some dive in Mexico. We always choose Comfort suites for the attractiveness and clenliness of their surroundings not so in this facility. We were embarrased to have our family meet us here

Room Tip: Watch out for the lobby ! Be early for breakfast if you want some three days going? Several of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
85
27
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night while in town on business. The lobby had been moved due to renovations which is fine as long as you don't have too many people checking in at once. The rooms are a good size and the bed was comfortable. The entire facility is in need of renovation but it was fairly clean in spite of the work that is going on. The breakfast left something to be desired with cold eggs. Overall it is a good value considering the location and the room rates compared to other local hotels

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked online as we were looking for a location not far from the Smithsonian. The hotel offered us a shuttle to the subway which was great. Our king size room on the third floor was spacious with all the amenities. The lobby is under construction but the served a nice jot breakfast and staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited in the motel early in February 2013 and thought we had found the best place to stay when visting family that had recently moved to the area. While there were a couple issues in February they were promptly resolved by the front desk clerk. However after our second visit this month I am not so sure about it being the best choice. The first disappoint was the fact that the nightly rates had doubled. After some research it appears that the current rates are in effect for nine months of the year and they have a lower rate for the 3 coldest months of the year. They have some rooms with fridges and microwaves and some without. I requested to have those items in our room. I was given a room that was supposed to have such but when we got to the room there was only a microwave sitting on the floor. The desk clerk did come upstairs to give us another room. However we lost valuable time as we were supposed to be meeting family at a designated time. The room space is good although there is an area next to the door that is totally wasted as nothing can be placed there. The bathroom is a good space but the water pressure was awful. It seems that changes from room to room also. Breakfast is average with the same choices every morning. I did notice that the waffle batter was much thinner than on our earlier visit. They generally have a good selection of fruit and yogurt. Before I visit ended they began a renovation on the lobby area. This did cause some issues with the computer they offer for guests as it was moved a couple times and was not working part of the time. In their favor they do have free breakfast and free parking, something you can't find too often in this area. One other issue on this visit was the wake up callls. The time change occurred during this stay and it never surprises me when a motel doesn't catch that on the first day. However they missed it on the second day also at which time I informed them that they were an hour late in waking their guests and had apparently not updated their system to the time change. The next morning it was correct. However I unfortunately heard quite the argument the night before amongst 2/3 employees concerning a guest who had complained about his wakeup call. They argued loudly and profanely at the desk about whose fault it might have been. One of these same employees also argued right before that for at least 20 minutes on the phone with a friend. His language was neither professional nor proper considering anyone in the lobbly could hear him. While this location is convenient to family I will have to do some research to see if I can find somewhere with better rates for what they offer for future visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Supply, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Daughter and I recently visited Washington, DC for four days during her spring break from college. The Ballston Comfort Inn proved to be a great choice. It is conveniently located near the metro and a handful of excellent, moderately priced restaurants. The area feels very safe for walking day or night. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the morning free breakfast was just right. With 24 hour free coffee and a moderate price, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Need a hotel near the Ballston metro and within walking distance of Fairfax ave and many eateries and goodies?? Need it fast? Reasonably low rates without sacrificing cleanliness and *free* breakfast? Need free room internet and maybe a printer? The Comfort Inn has it all. We stay there when we go to Arlington (mostly for business). The rooms have a refrigerator too. The proximity to the Ballston metro (within 4-6 blocks) makes it easy to access DC facilities and attractions. We love to visit old Alexandria as well as the museums and eateries near the white house. Check out old ebbits grill for 1800s decor (with gas lamps). The Comfort-Inn staff and especially the manager are very helpful and curteous. For the many years we have stayed there, we have not had any problems what-so-ever. Need additional time for checkout (within reason), just ask. Need to park for early check-in, just ask. Need to leave the car for the business meeting, just ask. It's not fancy but it is rock solid at a reasonable price in a great location with great amenities. Check it out!
The confort inn has very good accomodations and very nice (free!) breakfast.

Room Tip: Well, any are good for sleeping as we are gone most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Ballston area is a great place to stay when in the DC area on business, but most of the local hotels are vastly overpriced. The Comfort Inn Ballston is an excellent value, particularly in that context. It is an easy walk to the Ballston Metro stop, and local busses stop right outside. The rooms are clean and quiet, and come with a refrigerator and microwave along with the usual amenities. Complementary breakfast (some hot items, lots of healthy options) and in-room internet (wifi or wired) make the entire experience very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Address: 1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.