We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Ballston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Ballston to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Ballston
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a great stay here during our visit to the DC area. This hotel is less than 10min walk from Ballston Metro station. They also offer a free shuttle at certain times of the day. At night you’ll have to walk back from the station to the hotel, but the area is very safe. Would be nice if the hotel offered a later shuttle but what they offer now is excellent.

The rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. Parking is free..we didn't drive at all during our stay, instead opted to use the Metro to get around everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    98
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
90
30
14
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Exceeded expectations. Close to subway, free parking, internet with all the amenities. Staff was excellent and supported extra requests. Will chose first on next trip as best value for the area.

Room Tip: North rooms are close to elevator; whereas the other rooms are far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. One of our goals is to be the best value in the DC area, and it looks like we have successed. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here as a family of 4 for four nights to visit Washington DC. We wanted a hotel that was walking distance to a metro, in a safe neighborhood, at an affordable price. This was the best hotel I found. The neighborhood is safe with fun restaurants nearby. The rooms were large, but the carpet was old (I felt like I shouldn't take my shoes off). The bathroom was small. The walk to the metro was only 6 blocks (nothing compared to the walking around DC). I wished the shuttle went more often (only on top of the hour). We never ended up using the shuttle. The breafast was the same every morning. The hotel feels a little older for the price, but I guess they need to compete with other hotels. We forgot our toothbrush charger in the room, and they were able to find it and ship it back to us (my expense, but cheaper than buying a new one).

Room Tip: Chose the third floor room, if you don't want to hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I came here on business driving a school group that was touring Washington DC. The Metro stop is only a few blocks from the hotel which is very nice.
Group Travel Planners, beware this hotel has a parking lot inside of a courtyard setting and you have to go underneath a 9 ft 6 in clearance. Therefore it is not a bus friendly property for mini buses and motor coaches. Largest van you can bring in is a 15 passenger van or a high top Sprinter van at best. The management was nice enough to let me park at another sister property of theirs that had room for my bus. Their shuttle drivers were nice enough to ferry me back and forth to and from my bus.
A few things I was disapointed about this property was that the TV had no HBO and Weather Channel on the channel line up, bummer. Chair in room lacked an ottoman and microwave and fridge did not have an adequate power supply. I would have to unplug fridge to microwave a tv dinner.
Plus side of the room was that there was a heat lamp in the bathroom and the A/ C unit was nice and quiet.
Comp breakfast was the same sausage and eggs daily. How about some variety? The milk is in small school milk containers, YAY! They also have a waffle iron and standard fare buffet such as cerials and rolls and apples and bananas.
Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, get a room facing the courtyard parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel has friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a refrigerator and micro-wave. The breakfast is excellent and very filling! It is within walking distance of the metro and is literally a few yards away from the highway! It also has a food court/shopping area within walking distance. I have stayed here a few times on a DC field trip with my students and will continue going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you want good value for your money, stay here. The Comfort Inn Ballston is clean, nicely decorated, conveniently located--close to D.C.. Definitely stay here if you come to D.C. with a car and want the flexibility of car and public transportation.

We found the rooms up-to-date, nicely decorated, and roomy. We chose rooms facing the courtyard, which means a quieter room. There's plenty of free parking. Loading and unloading the car is easy as parking is near the elevator. Access to I66 is immediate. On the weekend, D.C. is a 15 minute drive, which means downtown is nearby. Remember: D.C. is a big city with traffic jams; your driving time may be different.

We did not use the Metro, but the nearest stop is a 10-minute walk. The staff was most willing to drive us to the Metro if we wanted.

There are nearby restaurants, such as the Melting Pot, which means guests can find dinner: the hotel offers no lunch or dinner. The hotel does offer a hot breakfast, which is the standard Choice chain breakfast. It's good.

The weekend prices are great. The hotel scales prices so peak business rates, Mon to Thu, are 20-40% higher. We're retirees so we moved to a lower priced Choice Inn: Culpepper, VA

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Have stayed at Comfort In Ballston a few times this spring. Clean rooms, convenient location and great staff. Edwin was terrific in assisting us-we were in town due to a relative's illness and he was very accomodating with any requests we had/directions,etc. The breakfast is also nice with both hot and cold selections. I recommend the Comfort Inn Ballston to anyone staying in the Arlington area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Ballston, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. Our goal is to provide the best value in the DC area and the best service, and it looks like for your stay we met that goal. We appreciate your business and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ballston

Address: 1211 N. Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#29 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Ballston 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballston Hotel Arlington
Comfort Inn Arlington
Arlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.